30 September till 3 October
TALENTS BEIRUT FORUM 2021 / 7th Edition

TALENTS BEIRUT FORUM 2021
© metropoliscinema.net

The 7th edition of Talents Beirut, an initiative of the Metropolis Association in partnership with the Goethe-Institut Libanon in collaboration with Berlinale Talents, is distinct from the previous ones: how could we keep the same formula in a world we saw changing so drastically?

If Talents Beirut will continue to engage with young film professionals from the four corners of the Arab World to fortify their artistry and their technical skills, building a community of passionate and talented artists and technicians, this year's edition felt like an opportunity to slow down and reflect. The 7th edition of Talents Beirut is dedicated to the alumni of its 6 previous editions, creating a time to learn, share and dream together.
 
It is with this in mind that Talents Beirut is launching the Talents Beirut Forum, inviting 16 alumni to discuss making films in this ambivalent world.
This 4-day forum aims to create a space where we can get closer together and listen to the professional and personal world we now have to live in. Editing, cinematography and sound design sessions will continue to produce new learning experiences, while time will be given to group discussions, master-classes and a very special Think Tank focused on sound and the impact of the feedback effect.
 
13 online closed sessions dedicated to the alumni, will be given by the following expert and speakers in Arabic:
Wissam Tanios (Filmmaker), Kamal El Mallakh (Editor), Sara Kaddouri (Sound Designer), Bassem Fayad (Cinematographer), Eliza Levy (Filmmaker), Rania Stephan (Filmmaker), Rana Eid (Sound Designer), Larry Sider (Sound Designer), Oualid Mouannes (Filmmaker), Natalie Johns (Filmmaker), Amjad Abou Alala (Filmmaker), Karim Ghorayeb (Cinematographer) Heba Othman (Editro).
 
“Think Tank - Listen! Noise, spaces and the feedback effect A conversation between Larry Sider and Rana Eid”, an open online session will take place on October 2nd from 1:30 pm till 4:30 pm and held in English. This session can be follow on Talents Beirut Facebook event page.
 
We hope these rich sessions over 4 intensive days will stimulate our invited guests and push them to fulfil their vision of bold filmmaking!
 
Talents Beirut is an initiative organized by Metropolis Art Cinema and the Goethe-Institut Libanon, in collaboration with Berlinale Talents and in partnership with DB Studios.

30. September bis 3. Oktober
Talents Beirut Forum 2021 / 7. Ausgabe

TALENTS BEIRUT FORUM 2021
© metropoliscinema.net

Die 7. Ausgabe von Talents Beirut, einer Initiative der Metropolis Association in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon und in Zusammenarbeit mit Berlinale Talents, unterscheidet sich von den vorangegangenen Ausgaben: Wie könnten wir auch die gleiche Formel in einer Welt beibehalten, die sich so drastisch verändert?

Auch wenn Talents Beirut weiterhin mit jungen Filmschaffenden aus allen Teilen der arabischen Welt zusammenarbeiten wird, um ihre künstlerischen und technischen Kompetenzen zu stärken und eine Gemeinschaft von leidenschaftlichen und talentierten Künstlern und Technikern aufzubauen, war die diesjährige Ausgabe eher eine Gelegenheit, innezuhalten und nachzudenken Die 7. Ausgabe von Talents Beirut ist den Absolventen der 6 vorangegangenen Ausgaben gewidmet und eröffnet einen Raum zum gemeinsamen Lernen, zum Austausch und zum Träumen.
 
In diesem Sinne hat Talents Beirut das Talents Beirut Forum ins Leben gerufen, zu dem 16 ehemalige Teilnehmer eingeladen werden, um über das Filmemachen in dieser ambivalenten Welt zu diskutieren.
Dieses 4-tägige Forum soll einen Ort schaffen, an dem wir uns näherkommen und uns ein Bild von der beruflichen und persönlichen Welt machen können, in der wir heute leben müssen. Die Sitzungen in den Bereichen Schnitt, Kameraführung und Sounddesign werden weiterhin neue Lernerfahrungen bieten, aber es wird auch Zeit für Gruppendiskussionen, Meisterklassen und einen ganz besonderen Thinktank geben, der sich auf Sound und die Auswirkungen des Feedback-Effekts konzentriert.
 
13 geschlossene Online-Sitzungen, die den ehemaligen Teilnehmern gewidmet sind, werden von den folgenden Experten und Referenten auf Arabisch gehalten:
Wissam Tanios (Filmemacher), Kamal El Mallakh (Editor), Sara Kaddouri (Sounddesignerin), Bassem Fayad (Kameramann), Eliza Levy (Filmemacherin), Rania Stephan (Filmemacherin), Rana Eid (Sounddesignerin), Larry Sider (Sounddesigner), Oualid Mouannes (Filmemacher), Natalie Johns (Filmemacherin), Amjad Abou Alala (Filmemacher), Karim Ghorayeb (Kameramann) Heba Othman (Schnitt).
 
„Think Tank - Listen! Noise, spaces and the feedback effect Ein Gespräch zwischen Larry Sider und Rana Eid“, eine offene Online-Sitzung, findet am 2. Oktober von 13:30 bis 16:30 Uhr in englischer Sprache statt. Sie können diese Sitzung auf der Facebook-Veranstaltungsseite von Talents Beirut verfolgen.
 
Wir hoffen, dass diese 4-tägigen, ebenso intensiven wie informativen Sitzungen unseren eingeladenen Gäste zahlreiche Anregungen bieten und sie letztendlich dazu bringen werden, ihre Vision des ambitionierten Filmemachens zu verwirklichen!
 
Talents Beirut ist eine Initiative, die von Metropolis Art Cinema und dem Goethe-Institut Libanon in Zusammenarbeit mit Berlinale Talents und in Partnerschaft mit DB Studios organisiert wird.