Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Art Evolution

ArtEvolution is designed to provide a young generation of artists and cultural practitioners in and around the field of performing arts with an adequate pedagogical and critical infrastructure to pursue their artistic practices. 

Back to Dialogue & Transition
 Nancy Naser Al Deen © Goethe-Institut

At a critical juncture for Lebanon and its cultural scene, ArtEvolution, a project of the Goethe-Institut Libanon supported by the German Federal Foreign Office, aims to provide a space for the development of an activist, socially committed and at the same time reflective artistic production. It also seeks to support collaborative structures within the cultural scene, in which knowledge can be shared, experiences exchanged and impulses passed on. ArtEvolution will run from spring 2021 to fall 2021: a short-term residency, a five months reflection time, a series of round-tables, a performance festival excursion to Germany as well as the final presentation of the artist’s works. As of March 2021, emerging artists and practitioners working in or with practices revolving around the performing arts, will be invited to submit applications with a project in development, whether at an initial or advanced stage. Eight participants – be they individuals or collectives – will be selected to take part in the programme, during which they will be accompanied through the project development process by established cultural practitioners in the corresponding fields while putting their projects into practice and with the support of a project grant. The programme is structured as follows: 
 
ArtEvolution Workshop, scheduled at Hammana Artist House at the beginning of the programme, aims to develop competencies for the successful conception and implementation of projects. This short-term residency will be underpinned by an intensive seminar programme focusing on collaborative and inclusive working methods, which will be led by external trainers. 
 
ArtEvolution Reflection, a five months period of contemplation in which participants receive funding in order to advance their projects. It thus supports the participants to focus on their artistic practices by providing necessary time and resources. 
 
ArtEvolution Impulse, a series of round tables to which project participants, the general public and established practitioners with their enriching experience will be invited. The conversations will provide an opportunity to discuss processes of social transformation on the one-hand and culture-specific (re)action possibilities on the other. To this end, impulses will be given on the topics of "culture and public welfare", "art activism" and "culture of feedback”.
 
ArtEvolution Platform, a public platform that will be set up for the participants to present their work in various formats (such as staged reading, lecture performances, work-in-progress performances, etc.). 
 
ArtEvolution Exchange, in addition to the support of a local cultural network, ArtEvolution strives to establish transnational cooperation between the Lebanese and German cultural actors and institutions in the field of performing arts by creating opportunities for mutual exchange. If possible - regarding pandemic related travel restrictions, the participants will be invited to attend a dance-theatre festival in Germany, where participation in events, network-meetings and discussions with experts in the field of performing arts are to be scheduled.   
 
 
 
 
 
A project of the Goethe-Institut and supported by the German Federal Foreign Office.


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Art Evolution

ArtEvolution soll einer jungen Generation von Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden aus dem Bereich der Darstellenden Künste eine geeignete pädagogische und kritische Infrastruktur bieten, mit der sie ihre künstlerische Arbeit weiter vorantreiben können.

Zurück zu Dialog und Wandel
 Nancy Naser Al Deen © Goethe-Institut

An einem entscheidenden Wendepunkt für den Libanon und seine Kulturszene möchte ArtEvolution, ein vom Auswärtigen Amt gefördertes Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Libanon, Raum schaffen für die Entwicklung einer aktiven, gesellschaftlich engagierten und zugleich reflektierten Kunstproduktion. Darüber hinaus sollen innerhalb der Kulturszene Strukturen der Zusammenarbeit gefördert werden, in denen Erkenntnisse geteilt, Erfahrungen ausgetauscht und Impulse weitergegeben werden können. ArtEvolution wird von Frühjahr bis Herbst 2021 stattfinden und umfasst: eine Künstlerresidenz über einen kürzeren Zeitraum, eine fünfmonatige Zeit der Reflexion und Vorbereitung, eine Reihe von Gesprächsrunden, eine Performance-Festival-Exkursion nach Deutschland sowie die abschließende Präsentation der Arbeiten der Künstler*innen. Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende am Beginn ihrer Karriere, die im Bereich der Darstellenden Künste arbeiten, sind eingeladen, sich ab März 2021 mit einem aktuellen Projekt zu bewerben, unabhängig davon, ob es sich in der Anfangsphase oder bereits in einem fortgeschrittenen Stadium befindet. Acht Teilnehmer – sowohl Einzelpersonen als auch Kollektive – werden für das Programm ausgewählt, bei dem sie von renommierten Kulturschaffenden aus den entsprechenden Bereichen bei der Realisierung ihrer Projekte begleitet und mit einem Projektstipendium gefördert werden. Das Programm ist wie folgt aufgebaut:
 
ArtEvolution Workshop
, der zu Beginn des Programms im Hammana Artist House stattfindet, entwickelt Kompetenzen für die erfolgreiche Planung und Durchführung von Projekten. Diese Kurzresidenz wird durch ein intensives Seminarprogramm mit dem Schwerpunkt auf kollaborativen und integrativen Arbeitsmethoden ergänzt, welches von externen Referenten geleitet wird.
 
ArtEvolution Reflection, eine fünfmonatige Zeit der Reflexion, in der die Teilnehmer Fördermittel erhalten, um ihre Projekte voranzubringen. Die Teilnehmer erhalten die nötige Zeit und Ressourcen, um sich auf ihre künstlerische Arbeit konzentrieren zu können. 
 
ArtEvolution Impulse, eine Reihe von Gesprächsrunden, zu der sowohl Projektteilnehmer*innen, die Öffentlichkeit sowie anerkannte Kulturschaffende eingeladen werden um sich mit ihren Erfahrungen einbringen zu können. Die Gespräche werden Gelegenheit bieten, Prozesse der gesellschaftlichen Transformation einerseits und kulturspezifische (Re-)Aktionsmöglichkeiten andererseits zu beleuchten. Dabei sollen Impulse zu den Themen „Kultur und Gemeinwohl“, „Kunstaktivismus“ und „Feedbackkultur“ gesetzt werden.
 
ArtEvolution Platform, soll die Möglichkeit für die Teilnehmer*innen während einer öffentlichen „Plattform“ bieten, in verschiedenen Formaten ihre Werke präsentieren zu können (z. B. Lesungen, Performances, Work-in-Progress-Performances usw.).
 
ArtEvolution Exchange verfolgt neben der Unterstützung eines lokalen kulturellen Netzwerks das Ziel, eine transnationale Zusammenarbeit zwischen den libanesischen und deutschen Kulturakteuren und -institutionen im Bereich der Darstellenden Künste zu etablieren und Möglichkeiten zum gegenseitigen Austausch zu schaffen. Falls angesichts eventueller pandemiebedingter Reisebeschränkungen möglich, werden die Teilnehmer zu einem Tanz/Theater-Festival nach Deutschland eingeladen, bei dem auch die Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen, Netzwerk-Meetings und Expertendiskussionen im Bereich der Darstellenden Künste geplant ist. 
 
 
Ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.
 

Top