BibBus
Mobile Library

BibBus ©Goethe-Institut Libanon/Ghiath al Haddad

BibBus – The Goethe-Institut Libanon’s mobile library

Project Coordinator and Author: Rabih Maalouf

The BibBus project follows and implements in an exemplary way the core educational idea of the Goethe-Institut Libanon, which is to develop the individual ability to make use of one’s own mind by giving them access to education and knowledge.

The BibBus connects children and young adults in economically and socially disadvantaged regions in Lebanon to sources of information and interactive knowledge such as a wide range of books, activity games, awareness workshops and many more.

Education and Knowledge transfer programs in general are much welcomed in Lebanon; moreover, they are sustainable instruments for a peaceful and thriving cultures. Especially the history of the Arabic world is full of glorious examples of knowledge nurtured cultural periods. In fact science is called in Arabic knowledge ﺍﻠﻌﻠﻡ, even the word teacher AlMuaallem derives from the word knowledge, meaning the person who transfers knowledge!
Our first experiences with the BibBus confirm the importance of reaching out with books and educational skills to children and young adults.
The following are some of the key strategic instruments the project can impact:

  • Social and cultural inclusion
  • access to books, literature
  • enhance reading competency
  • enhance language skills
  • rhetorical presentation
  • digital skills (digital literacy!)
  • creative skills…
Set up in early 2017, the BibBus is visiting economically disadvantaged Lebanese regions to give children and youth the opportunity to choose from more than 2,500 books and games, which include the newest publications, storybooks, and comics. Apart from book lending, the BibBus also offers activities that promote reading and creative self-articulation. During regular storytelling workshops, children learn about interactive listening and are encouraged to tell their own stories. Additionally, the BibBus hosts special activities and workshops that foster self-expression through various art-therapeutic approaches, such as filmmaking, drawing, and graffiti.

Moreover, for the year 2019 and in the course of developing our program, the BibBus team decided to offer structured programs focused on enhancing the performance of under-privileged youth such as, Educational programs, Hygiene awareness workshops, puppet shows.

Furthermore, and to allow the kids to correlate and improve their ability to conduct proper conversations. Certain topics were delivered in a fun and interactive manner under the umbrella of ‘Morning Talks’. Where kids had the opportunity to pleasantly discuss the calendar, weather, feelings and recalling previous knowledge about letters and numbers.

For this Year, the BibBus main mid-Summer event was held on the 17th of July 2019 in collaboration with Maarouf Saad Foundation at Mada Center in Sidon.
Communication comes in different forms, and the most globalized form is Arts”.

Event objectives:
  • ​Art as a form of communication
  • Teamwork and collaboration.
  • Anti-Bullying and awareness on how to stand up for your right - Always in an ethical and righteous manner
This Event is divided into 4 categories and will be performed by students age-range from 7 to 15 years old.
It’s a fun and educational event were laughter meets productivity and performance.

A day in the BibBus

Stations

BibBus Route © Goethe-Institut Libanon

The BibBus visits stations all over Lebanon, particularly in impoverished and disadvantaged regions, such as the North and the Beqaa Valley. Collaborating with local NGOs that run informal educational centres in local communities and refugee camps, we offer bi-weekly activities for the children and youth there.

The bus currently stops in Barelias, Majdal Anjar, Saida and Tripoli.

Photo gallery

  • BibBus Friends © Jad Shokor
    BibBus Friends
  • Children discover the BibBus © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Children discover the BibBus
  • BibBus Activities © Jad Shokor
    BibBus Activities
  • BibBus Activities © Jad Shokor
    BibBus Activities
  • BibBus Activities © Jad Shokor
    BibBus Activities
  • Children browse the BibBus © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Children browse the BibBus
  • BibBus activities © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    BibBus activities
  • Welcoming the BibBus in Barelias © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Welcoming the BibBus in Barelias

Activities

 © Jad Shokor

BibBus in action

Part of the regular BibBus program are the storytelling-workshops that take place at our partner stations every two weeks. During these workshops, the children get the chance to present the books they have read to their classmates, and get to know new tales, that our experienced storytellers prepare for them. Following the stories, the children can engage in arts & crafts, as well as games, which address the stories and current topics.
 

 © Jad Shokor

Mid Summer Event Day

“Communication comes in different forms, and the most globalized form is Arts”

Contact

Project management:
Alexander Kruckenfellner Alexander Kruckenfellner
Head of German Language Dpt. and Educational Services
Deputy Director
alexander.kruckenfellner@goethe.de

If you are interested in collaborating with the BibBus or have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact us at bibbus-beirut@goethe.de

BibBus
Mobile Bibliothek

BibBus ©Goethe-Institut Libanon/Ghiath al Haddad

BibBus – Die mobile Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Libanon

Projektkoordinator und Autor: Rabih Maalouf

Das Projekt BibBus setzt das Bildungsmodell des Goethe-Instituts Libanon um, durch Vermittlung von Wissen und Information, die Fähigkeit und den Willen des Individuums zu steigern, “sich seines eigenen Verstandes zu bedienen”.

Das Projekt BibBus unterstützt Kinder und Jugendliche in ökonomisch schwach entwickelten Regionen des Libanon durch Bücher, interaktive Medien, Aufklärungsunterricht wie Workshops zum Hygienebewusstsein, Puppentheater und weitere pädagogisch geeignete Lerninstrumente, um Zugang zu Bildung und Wissen zu ermöglichen.

Bildungs- und Wissensvermittlung wird im Libanon mit großer Dankbarkeit begegnet. Denn sie sind nachhaltige Instrumente für friedliche und prosperierende Gesellschaften, die der Libanon und die gesamte Region des Nahen Ostens dringend braucht. Die Geschichte der arabischen Kultur dokumentiert die positive Wirkung der Wissenschaft und Bildung auf die kulturelle und sozioökonomische Entwicklung der Region. Sogar die Etymologie des Wortes Wissenschaft und Wissen – auf Arabisch in einem Wort ﺍﻠﻌﻠﻡ   verbunden – zeigt, dass das Wissen unmittelbar mit Bildung und dem Vermittler des Wissens, dem Lehrer Almuaallem, eng verflochten ist.

Das BibBus-Projekt verkörpert und transportiert viele dieser Gedanken und trifft auf positive Resonanz und hoch motivierte TeilnehmerInnen.
Die ersten Erfahrungen bestätigen die Erwartungen und die Wirksamkeit von Bildungsprogrammen als strategisches Instrument für eine nachhaltige Verbesserung in den folgenden Bereichen:

  • soziale und kulturelle Inklusion
  • Zugang zu Büchern und Literatur
  • Steigerung der Lesekompetenz
  • Steigerung der Sprachkompetenzen
  • Erlernen von rhetorischen Darstellungsformen
  • digitale Kompetenzen (digital literacy!)
  • Förderung der Kreativität…
Seit dem Frühjahr 2017 fährt der BibBus strukturschwache Regionen im ganzen Libanon an und hat mehr als 2.500 Medien mit an Bord, darunter neueste Kinder- und Jugendliteratur, Bilderbücher und Comics, die sich die Kinder und Jugendlichen ausleihen können. Neben der Buchausleihe, bietet der BibBus auch Aktivitäten an, die den Kindern Freude am Lesen vermitteln und zur kreativen Selbstentfaltung animieren. Es werden regelmäßig Storytelling-Workshops angeboten, die interaktives Zuhören lehren und die Kinder ermutigen, ihre eigenen Geschichten zu erzählen.

Darüber hinaus bietet der BibBus spezielle Aktivitäten und Workshops an, die den Selbstausdruck durch verschiedene kunsttherapeutische Ansätze wie Filmemachen, Zeichnen und Graffiti fördern.

Das BibBus-Team hat für das Jahr 2019 sein Programm weiter entwickelt und neue Schwerpunkte ausgearbeitet, um den Kindern eine Plattform zu bieten ihre Fähigkeiten in Bezug auf Konversation und Dialog spielerisch zu trainieren.

Spezielle Themen wurden auf unterhaltsame und interaktive Weise unter dem Dach von „Morning Talks“ präsentiert. Wo Kinder die Gelegenheit hatten, sich über Themen wie Kalender, Wetter, Gefühle und Vorkenntnisse über Buchstaben und Zahlen auszutauschen.

Für dieses Jahr fand am 17. Juli 2019 die Hauptveranstaltung von BibBus in Zusammenarbeit mit der Maarouf Saad Foundation im Mada Center in Sidon unter dem Titel  „Kommunikation gibt es in verschiedenen Formen, und die am stärksten globalisierte Form ist die Kunst“ statt.

Die Theateraufführung wurde von Kindern im Alter von 7-15 Jahren unter Anleitung von Frau Nathalie Sabbagh vorbereitet und präsentiert, um den Kindern die Möglichkeit zu geben, sich auf künstlerische Weise auszudrücken. Die Performance wurde öffentlich vor Eltern und Gästen unter dem Motto „Anti-Mobbing Bewusstsein“ vorgeführt.
 
Veranstaltungsziele:
  • Kunst als Kommunikationsform
  • Teamwork und Zusammenarbeit.
  • Anti-Mobbing Bewusstsein, wie man sich für sein Recht einsetzt - immer auf sittliche und aufrichtige Weise
Die Vorführung war eine unterhaltsame und lehrreiche Veranstaltung, bei der Lachen auf Produktivität und Leistung traf.

Ein Tag im BibBus

Stationen

BibBus Route © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Der BibBus besucht Stationen im ganzen Libanon, insbesondere in wirtschaftlich benachteiligten Regionen, wie dem Norden und der Bekaa-Ebene. In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen NGOs, die informelle Bildungszentren in den dortigen Gemeinden und Flüchtlingscamps erschaffen haben, werden weitere Aktivitäten für Kinder und Jugendliche im zweiwöchentlichen Rhythmus angeboten.
Zurzeit macht der Bus in Barelias, Majdal Anjar, Saida und Tripoli Halt.



 

Fotogalerie

  • BibBus © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Der BibBus unterwegs
  • Aktivitäten in Chtoura © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Aktivitäten in Chtoura
  • Kinder erkunden den BibBus © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Kinder erkunden den BibBus
  • Storytelling in Barelias © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Storytelling in Barelias
  • Kinder durchstöbern den BibBus © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Kinder durchstöbern den BibBus
  • Der BibBus unterwegs © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Der BibBus unterwegs
  • BibBus Aktivitäten © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    BibBus Aktivitäten
  • Der BibBus wird in Barelias empfangen © Goethe-Institut/Katja Volkenant
    Der BibBus wird in Barelias empfangen

Aktivitäten

 © Jad Shokor

BibBus in Aktion

Zum regulären BibBus-Programm gehören die Storytelling-Workshops, die alle zwei Wochen an den Partnerstationen stattfinden. Im Rahmen dieser Workshops haben die Kinder die Chance, die Bücher, die sie selbst gelesen haben, vor ihren Mitschülern vorzutragen, und lernen außerdem neue Geschichten kennen, die ihnen unsere erfahrenen Storyteller mitbringen. Im Anschluss an die Geschichten, nehmen die Kinder an Bastelaktivitäten und Spielen teil, in denen sie sich mit Geschichten und aktuellen Themen beschäftigen.

 © Jad Shokor

Veranstalltungstag... kommt bald

Kommunikation gibt es in verschiedenen Formen, und die am stärksten globalisierte Form ist die Kunst

Kontakt

Projektleitung:
Alexander Kruckenfellner Alexander Kruckenfellner
Leiter der Sprach- und Bildungsabteilung
Stellvertretender Institutsleiter
alexander.kruckenfellner@goethe.de

Bei Interesse und Nachfragen melden Sie sich bitte bei bibbus-beirut@goethe.de