Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
GFW 2022© Design: Karim Farah

22 – 29 Sep, 2022
8th German Film Week

The Goethe-Institut Libanon, in partnership with Metropolis Art Cinema, is thrilled to invite you to the 8th edition of the German Film Week.

This year’s edition delivers a great lineup of eight recent and internationally acclaimed German films - from thrillers, to science-fiction and documentaries to comedies and a family film for our younger audience. A one week celebration of film, featuring the best of Germany’s cinematic talent. The films are to be screened in different venues in order to appeal to a wider audience.

The German Film Week kicks off with one of Germany’s most beloved actors Daniel Brühl, best known for his roles in Good Bye Lenin! and Inglourious Basterds, with his directorial debut, NEXT DOOR. On the program as well, the multiple awards-winning science-fiction I’M YOUR MAN by Maria Schrader, a near-future romance that is playful, profound and unusual in its expression of human–android relationships, interrogating the complexities of companionship and human interactions.

Other highlights include THE LAST EXECUTION by Franziska Stünkel, the true story of an East German spy who discovers that getting out of the dark world of espionage is a lot harder than he thought and COPILOT by Anne Zohra Berrached with the participation of Lebanese actors and the Lebanese-German cinematographer Christopher Aoun, a feature inspired by the true story of 9/11 terrorist Ziad Jarrah and his girlfriend Aysel Şengün. It is a love story, but it is also an exploration of cultural differences, truth and faith, trust and delusion. Furthermore the German Film Week presents the Middle Eastern premiere of the Lebanese/German coproduction KASH KASH. Lea Najjar’s impressionistic documentary, is a vivid portrait of Lebanon and its chaotic state, where rooftops high above city streets become a hopeful refuge.

We are very excited to welcome this year three guests: film editor Denys Darahan, international awarded film scoring composer Karim Sebastian Elias, and filmmaker Lea Najjar who will accompany the screenings of their films COPILOT, THE LAST EXECUTION and KASH KASH respectively.
Furthermore, experts Denys Darahan and Karim Sebastian Elias will conduct case studies with the participants of Talents Beirut 2022*, held in parallel to German Film Week.

We hope you enjoy our film selection!

*Talents Beirut, a project organized by the Metropolis Association and Goethe-Institut Libanon, will be holding its 8th edition from 22 to 26 September 2022 under the theme of Cinema of the Future. The project aims to support film talents from the Arab world, allowing them to reflect on their own works by connecting with other emerging and confirmed talents, and by discovering new ways to approach the art of filmmaking, whether from technical or theoretical point of views. 21 Arab film editors, cinematographers and sound designers from Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria and Tunisia have been chosen to take part in this year’s edition.


Film Screenings

Tickets

Reservations are mandatory and should be made online via: MetropolisCinema.net starting 12 September.
Seating is limited and reservation will be considered on a first-come, first-served basis.
* Admission is free of charge.


Partners


Venues



Celebrating Werner Herzog!

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
DFW 2022© Design: Karim Farah

22. – 29. Sep. 2022
8. Deutsche Filmwoche

Das Goethe-Institut Libanon in Partnerschaft mit Metropolis Art Cinema freut sich, Sie zur 8. Ausgabe der Deutschen Filmwoche einzuladen.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe bietet eine großartige Auswahl von acht aktuellen und international gefeierten deutschen Filmen - von Thrillern über Science-Fiction und Dokumentarfilm bis hin zu Komödien und einem Familienfilm für unser jüngeres Publikum. Ein einwöchiges Filmfest mit den besten deutschen Filmtalenten. Die Filme sollen an verschiedenen Orten gezeigt werden, um ein breiteres Publikum anzusprechen.

Die Deutsche Filmwoche startet mit einem der beliebtesten Schauspieler Deutschlands, Daniel Brühl, bekannt durch seine Rollen in Good Bye Lenin! und Inglourious Basterds mit seinem Regiedebüt NEBENAN. Ebenfalls auf dem Programm, der mehrfach preisgekrönte Science-Fiction-Roman ICH BIN DEIN MAN von Maria Schrader, eine Romanze über die nahe Zukunft, die spielerisch, tiefgründig und ungewöhnlich in ihrem Ausdruck von Mensch-Android-Beziehungen ist und die Komplexität der Partnerschaft und menschliche Interaktionen hinterfragt.

Weitere Highlights sind unter anderem NAHSCHUSS von Franziska Stünkel, die wahre Geschichte eines ostdeutschen Spions, der herausfindet, dass es viel schwieriger ist aus der dunklen Welt der Spionage herauszukommen als er dachte, und Die Welt wird eine andere sein von Anne Zohra Berrached unter Beteiligung libanesischer Schauspieler und der des libanesisch-deutschen Kameramanns Christopher Aoun. Ein Spielfilm, der von der wahren Geschichte des 9/11-Terroristen Ziad Jarrah und seiner Freundin Aysel Şengün inspiriert ist. Es ist eine Liebesgeschichte, aber auch eine Auseinandersetzung mit kulturellen Unterschieden, Wahrheit und Glaube, Vertrauen und Wahn. Außerdem präsentiert die Deutsche Filmwoche die Nahost-Premiere der libanesisch-deutschen Koproduktion KASH KASH. Lea Najjars impressionistischer Dokumentarfilm ist ein lebendiges Porträt des Libanon und seines chaotischen Zustands, in dem Dächer hoch über den Straßen der Stadt zu einem hoffnungsvollen Zufluchtsort werden.

Wir freuen uns sehr, dieses Jahr drei Gäste begrüßen zu dürfen: Filmeditor Denys Darahan, international ausgezeichneter Filmkomponist Karim Sebastian Elias und Filmemacherin Lea Najjar, die die Vorführungen ihrer Filme DIE WELT WIRD EINE ANDERE SEIN, NAHSCHUSS und KASH KASH begleiten werden.
Darüber hinaus werden die Experten Denys Darahan und Karim Sebastian Elias Fallstudien mit den Teilnehmern von Talents Beirut 2022* durchführen, die parallel zur Deutschen Filmwoche stattfinden.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß mit unserer Filmauswahl!

*Talents Beirut, ein von der Metropolis Association und dem Goethe-Institut Libanon organisiertes Projekt, veranstaltet vom 22. bis 26. September 2022 seine 8. Ausgabe unter dem Thema Kino der Zukunft. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Filmtalente aus der arabischen Welt zu unterstützen und ihnen zu ermöglichen, ihre eigenen Arbeiten zu reflektieren, indem sie sich mit anderen aufstrebenden und bestätigten Talenten vernetzen und neue Wege entdecken, sich der Kunst des Filmemachens zu nähern, sei es aus technischer oder theoretischer Sicht. 21 arabische Filmeditoren*innen, Kameraleute und Sounddesigner*innen aus Algerien, Ägypten, Irak, Jordanien, Libanon, Saudi-Arabien, Sudan, Syrien und Tunesien wurden ausgewählt, um an der diesjährigen Ausgabe teilzunehmen.


Filmvorstellungen

Tickets

Reservierungen sind obligatorisch und sollten online über den folgenden Link: MetropolisCinema.net vorgenommen werden.
Die Anzahl der Sitzplätze ist begrenzt und Reservierungen werden nach Reihenfolge des Eingangs berücksichtigt.
* Der Eintritt für alle Veranstaltungen der 8. deutschen Filmwoche ist kostenlos.


Partner


Veranstaltungsorte



Wir feiern Werner Herzog!

Top