Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Fantasmeem main teaserdesign by Karim Farah

FANTASMEEM

FANTASMEEEM is a program initiated by the Goethe-Institut Libanon adopting a holistic approach towards fostering creative entrepreneurship as well as encouraging collaborations and knowledge sharing in the design industry in Lebanon.


FANTASMEEM | News

  • Card 1 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 2 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 3 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 4 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 5 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 6 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 7 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 8 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 9 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor

“Design and Sustainability in Lebanon” is a series of infographics initiated by FANTASMEEM as a tool for opening a discussion about the role of designers in addressing the environmental disasters the world is facing. The infographics are highlighting the importance of adopting methods that are environmentally friendly while showing how designers can come up with innovative ideas that can lead a way for a better treatment of the resources we have. The series also features examples from inspiring projects with a focus on ecologic sustainability from Lebanese designers.
The infographics are done by Salam Shokor who is a graphic designer, product maker and scribbler. They are produced by Audio-Visual arts producer and designer Ali AbuAwad and based on a text written by Maya Wakim who is the community developer for Lebanon at MakeSense.


Videos

Since the launch of FANTASMEEM, a special focus has been given to producing research pieces through the project component that we call FANTASMEEM Findings. Until now two in-depth research papers have been produced focusing on design economics, as well as the legal frameworks relevant to design enterprises. Both papers where produced by Adham Selim and Dima Hamadeh. A shorter paper was produced by Ghassan Salameh giving a general view on the design sector in Lebanon. Additionally, the researcher Nicole Hamouche produced a mapping of platforms supporting designers as well as a mapping of investors supporting design initiatives.
 
You can read the abstracts of the papers below, by passing on their cover image. If you are interested in reading the full research papers you may contact us at: fantasmeem-beirut@goethe.de.

The research paper on "Design Economy in Lebanon" (2019) by Dima Hamadeh & Adham Selim is the first piece of research conducted in the frame of FANTASMEEM Findings to consider the opportunities and challenges facing design, as a distinct industry, across the whole of Lebanon's economy. It draws on an in-depth analysis of data gathered from government-affiliated, institutional and individual, local and international sources. It addresses the essential characteristics of the design economy in Lebanon, including the regulatory framework, funding models, supply-chains and market conditions. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

This paper looks at design in Lebanon as an income-generating, job-creating, and taxable activity. In attempt to draw a comprehensive picture of the Lebanese legal framework both enabling and obstructing the growth of the design industry in Lebanon, this paper sheds light on the essential laws and legal practices governing the establishment, finance, taxation, conflict resolution and labour conditions governing design-related businesses in the Lebanese market. It comes as a part of a systematic effort to scan and analyse the design ecosystem in Lebanon. It is thus intended as an exploratory analysis that can guide further action for developing the industry. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

When talking about the design sector in Lebanon, it is important to focus on the roles of different stakeholders. This text offers insights on the relation between businesses and startups in the fields of product, furniture and lighting design, and the manufacturing and real estate sectors.  It discusses opportunities and includes recommendations for designers willing to start their business in Lebanon beyond disciplinary constraints. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

The paper "Voices of Investors" (2019) by Nicole Hamouche sheds light on the design industry from the perspective of investors. At the crossroads of art and entrepreneurship, design attracts an eclectic crowd of investors and supporters. There is no structured and clear ecosystem in Lebanon that supports it as for the tech scene. By the term investors the author addresses diverse sources of financing: the financiers, venture capitalists and structured angel investors; the patrons, philanthropists and foundations, the more alternative possibilities such as crowdfunding in its diverse forms; and finally the borrowing and granting facilities available. Goethe-Institut Libanon

The paper "Platforms Supporting Designers" (2019) by Nicole Hamouche investigates the main support initiatives for Lebanese designers, their contributions to the industry, their challenges and shortfalls. Based on the assumption that support platforms can play a pivotal role in growing not only the market but the variety and creativity behind it as well as its social impact, the author articulates recommendations for future actions. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Vier Panelisten

Design in Times of Crisis

“Design is the meeting point between creativity and technology. Who better than designers can transform crises?” asked Gilbert Doumit at the first session of FANTASMEEM Focus on February 5, 2019 where four panelists discussed “Design in Times of Crisis” at Antwork. Read full article.

Laure-Maïssa Fargelat

Laure-Maïssa Fargelat © Laure-Maïssa Fargelat Projektkoordinatorin
lauremaissa.fargelat@goethe.de
Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft / FANTASMEEM

Imke Grimmer


Imke Grimmer © Imke Grimmer Projektleitung

imke.grimmer@goethe.de
Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft / FANTASMEEM

Hala Barakat

Hala Barakat © Hala Barakat Projektassistentin
hala.barakat@goethe.de
Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft / FANTASMEEM


Cooperation

On behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) and the Goethe-Institut promote the emerging market of cultural and creative industries in Africa and in the Middle East.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Fantasmeem Main Visual

FANTASMEEM

FANTASMEEM ist ein vom Goethe-Institut initiiertes Programm, dass zur Förderung von Creative Entrepreneurship, Netzwerkbildung und (Weiter-)qualifizerung von libanesischen Designer*innen einen hollistischen Ansatz verfolgt und aus komplementär zueinander konzipierten Modulen sowie Aktivitäten besteht. Das Programm ist auf aufstrebende Designer*innen (Fashiondesign, Produktdesign, Grafikdesign, Illustration etc.) zugeschnitten, die ein Produkt oder eine innovative Geschäftsidee (weiter-)entwickeln möchten und als Creative Entrepreneurs innerhalb ihrer Szene eine Multiplikator*innenrolle einnehmen.


FANTASMEEM | Aktuelles

  • Card 1 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 2 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 3 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 4 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 5 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 6 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 7 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 8 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor
  • Card 9 © Ali Abu Awad / Salam Shokor

"Design und Nachhaltigkeit im Libanon" ist eine Reihe von Infografiken, um eine Diskussion darüber anzuregen, was Designer*innen zur Unterstützung der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit tun können. Die Infografiken heben die Bedeutung umweltfreundlicher Methoden hervor und zeigen, wie Designer*innen mit innovativen Ideen für einen besseren Umgang mit den uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen eine wegweisende Rolle spielen können. Darüber hinaus stellt die Reihe Beispiele aus interessanten Projekten libanesischer Designer*innen mit Schwerpunkt auf ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit vor.
Die Infografiken stammen von Salam Shokor, einem Grafikdesigner, Produktentwickler und Maler. Produziert wurden sie vom Designer und Produzenten für audiovisuelle Kunst, Ali AbuAwad, auf der Grundlage eines Textes von Maya Wakim, einer Community Expertin bei MakeSense.


Videos

Seit Beginn von FANTASMEEM wurden über die Komponente FANTASMEEM Findings zwei Forschungspapiere von Adham Selim und Dima Hamadeh erstellt, eines zur Designökonomie, ein zweites zum rechtlichen Rahmen für Kreativunternehmen im Libanon. Ghassan Salameh erstellte einen generellen Überblick über den Designsektor im Libanon. Die Autorin Nicole Hamouche verfasste ein Mapping zu Unterstützungsplattformen für Designer*innen sowie zu Investoren, die Designinitiativen unterstützen.
 
Beim Scrollen über das Cover zu jedem Dokument können Sie eine kurze Zusammenfassung der Forschungspapiere lesen. Wenn Sie Interesse haben, die Forschungspapiere vollständig zu lesen, können Sie uns gerne per email kontaktieren: fantasmeem-beirut@goethe.de.

Bei der Publikation "Design Economy in Lebanon: Challenges and Opportunities" (2019) von Dima Hamadeh & Adham Selim handelt es sich um das erste im Rahmen von FANTASMEEM Findings beauftragte Forschungsprojekt. Die Publikation adressiert die Chancen und Herausforderungen des Designsektors als eigenständige Wirtschaftsbranche im Libanon und stützt sich auf eine eingehende Analyse von Daten aus staatlichen, institutionellen und individuellen, lokalen und internationalen Quellen. Es befasst sich mit den wesentlichen Merkmalen der Designökonomie im Libanon, einschließlich des rechtlichen Rahmens, der Finanzierungsmodelle, der Lieferketten und der Marktbedingungen. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Diese Studie befasst sich mit Design im Libanon als Aktivität zum Einkommenserwerb,. Im Versuch, ein umfassendes Bild des libanesischen Rechtsrahmens zu zeichnen, welcher der Designbranche im Libanon Wachstumsmöglichkeiten eröffnet, wie er ihr Grenzen setzt, beleuchtet die Studie die wesentlichen Gesetze und Rechtspraktiken, die für Gründung, Finanzierung und Besteuerung sowie für Konfliktlösungsverfahren und Arbeitsbedingungen designorientierter Unternehmen auf dem libanesischen Markt gelten. Die Studie  ist Teil eines größeren Vorhabens zur genaueren Betrachtung und Analayse der Designbranche im Libanon. Daher ist sie  als explorative Analyse angelegt, die Maßnahmen zur weiteren Entwicklung der Branche aufzeigenen möchte. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Betrachtet man den Design-Sektor im Libanon, ist es wichtig, die Rollen verschiedener Akteure im Blick zu haben. Der folgende Text liefert Einblicke in das Verhältnis zwischen einerseits Unternehmen und Start Ups in den Bereichen Produkt-, Möbel- und Lichtdesign sowie andererseits der verarbeitenden Industrie und dem Immobiliensektor. Der Beitrag diskutiert Möglichkeiten und enthält Empfehlungen für Designer, die ihr eigenes Unternehmen im Libanon jenseits von disziplinären Einschränkungen gründen möchten. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Der Artikel "Voices of Investors" (2019) von Nicole Hamouche beleuchtet die libanesische Designbranche aus Perspektive von Investor*innen. An der Schnittstelle von Kultur, Kreativität und Unternehmertum zieht Design eine eklektische Masse von Investor*innen und Unterstützer*innen an. Unter derTerminologie "Investor*innen" fasst die Autorin verschiedene Finanzierungsquellen zusammen: Finanziers, Risikokapitalgeber*innen, sogenannte "Angel-Investor*innen", Philanthrop*innen und Stiftungen sowie unkonventionelle Investitionsfomate wie bspw. Crowdfunding in seinen vielfältigen Formen. Goethe-Institut Libanon

Der Artikel "Platforms Supporting Designers" (2019) von Nicole Hamouche untersucht die wichtigsten Initativen und Förderformate, deren Erfolge und Defizite, in der libanesischen Designbranche. Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass entsprechende Förderungsformate nicht nur einen Beitrag zum Wachstum innerhalb dieses Wirtschaftsektors leistet, sondern häufig auch einen sozialen "Impact" haben, formuliert die Autorin Empfehlungen für künftige Maßnahmen. © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Vier Panelisten

Design in Krisenzeiten

"Design ist der Berührungspunkt von Kreativität und Technologie. Wer, wenn nicht ein Designer, kann Krisen transformieren?", fragte Gilbert Doumit auf der ersten Sitzung von FANTASMEEM Focus am 5. Februar 2019, wo vier Podiumsdiskutanten im Antwork über "Design in Krisenzeiten" sprachen. Hier geht es zum Artikel


Kooperation

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) fördern die Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH und das Goethe-Institut den Zukunftsmarkt Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Afrika und im Nahen Osten.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) fördern die Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH und das Goethe-Institut den Zukunftsmarkt Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Afrika und im Nahen Osten.

Top