Ideas Box

IDEAS BOX © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Public Works

Goethe-Institut Libanon introduced an IDEAS BOX in 2017 to support displaced and marginalised children and young people who have limited or no access to libraries or other sources of informal education.
 
What is the IDEAS BOX?

When shut, the IDEAS BOX is nothing more than a large box that can be transported on two pallets. When opened and set up, however, it provides much more for children and young people: the box contains 250 books, board games, laptops, tablets, cameras, films and video games, plus the widest range of materials for organising recreational and artistic activities. Once it has been installed in a room, a space for learning and meeting is created. This can be used for workshops and courses, interaction and discussion. The contents of the IDEAS BOX can be used in numerous ways – as a library, a learning and reading platform, a workshop, a cinema or a stage. It provides the infrastructure for educational programmes tailored to specific target groups.

Where is the IDEAS BOX?

The IDEAS BOX is run by the Goethe-Institut Libanon in partnership with the NGO Intersos. The box is currently located south of Beirut in a community centre in Mreije, where it is used by children and young people between ages 7 and 18. Here it is used for cultural educational activities, particularly in the context of psychosocial support programmes for children and young people.
 

  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Mwafak Maklad
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Alia Haju
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Stine Marie Jacobsen
  •  © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Stine Marie Jacobsen
What happens at the IDEAS BOX?

While the IDEAS BOX is open daily to the public and its equipment is freely available for visitors to use, the Goethe-Institut and Intersos also offer specific sessions and workshops – help with homework and learning English, psychosocial support or film evenings. The programme is continuously updated and is tailored to participants’ requirements.
 

More about the activities at the IDEAS BOX

A Video About the IDEAS BOX

IDEAS BOX Film


Partner

Ideas Box

IDEAS BOX © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Public Works

Für geflüchtete und marginalisierte Kinder und Jugendliche im Libanon, die keinen oder nur erschwert Zugang zu Bibliotheken oder anderen Quellen informeller Bildung haben, stellt das Goethe-Institut Libanon seit 2017 eine IDEAS BOX bereit.

Was ist die IDEAS BOX?

Zugeklappt ist die IDEAS BOX nicht mehr als ein großer, auf zwei Paletten transportierbarer Kasten. Aufgeklappt und aufgebaut jedoch hält sie für Kinder und Jugendliche so einiges bereit: in der Box befinden sich 250 Bücher, Brettspiele, Laptops, Tablets, Kameras, Filme, Videospiele sowie verschiedenste Materialien zur Gestaltung von Freizeitangeboten und künstlerischen Aktivitäten. In einem Raum installiert entsteht so ein Ort zum Lernen und zum Treffen, der für Workshops und Kurse, Austausch und Beratung genutzt werden kann. Die Inhalte der IDEAS BOX können vielseitig eingesetzt werden: als Bibliothek, Lern- und Leseplattform, Werkstatt, Kino oder Bühne. Sie stellen die Infrastruktur für zielgruppenspezifische Bildungsangebote zur Verfügung.

Wo ist die IDEAS BOX?

Das Goethe-Institut Libanon betreibt die IDEAS BOX in Zusammenarbeit mit der NGO Intersos. Aktuell befindet sich die Box südlich von Beirut in einem Community Center in Mreije, wo sie von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Alter zwischen 7 und 18 Jahren genutzt wird. Hier wird sie für kulturelle Bildungsaktivitäten eingesetzt, vor allem im Kontext von psychosozialen Unterstützungsprogrammen für Kinder und Jugendliche.

  • Ideas Box Libanon 5 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  • Ideas Box Libanon 1 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Mwafak Maklad
  • Ideas Box Libanon 2 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  • Ideas Box Libanon 3 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Alia Haju
  • Ideas Box Libanon 7 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Patrick Mitri
  • Ideas Box Libanon 8 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Stine Marie Jacobsen
  • Ideas Box Libanon 9 © Goethe-Institut Libanon/Stine Marie Jacobsen

Was macht die IDEAS BOX?

Neben täglichem offenem Betrieb, innerhalb dessen das Equipment der IDEAS BOX für Besucher/-innen frei verfügbar ist, bieten das Goethe-Institut und Intersos spezifische Sessions und Workshops an: Hausaufgabenhilfe und Englischlernen, psychosozialen Support oder Filmabende. Das Programm wird fortlaufend aktualisiert und auf die Wünsche der Teilnehmer/-innen abgestimmt.

Mehr zu den Aktivitäten der IDEAS BOX

Video zur IDEAS BOX

IDEAS BOX Film


Partner