Frankfurt-Beirut: A Sub-Chapter of This is Not Lebanon Hussein Nassereddine

Frankfurt-Beirut: A Sub-Chapter of This is Not Lebanon

The where were you, what did you see or hear, and who did you lose of August 4, 2020  remain a blur for most of those who had witnessed the unfolding of that annihilative event, despite testimonies having since multiplied. Certainly, to recount the aftermath of one of the most powerful non-nuclear explosions ever recorded presumes a responsibility towards its countless victims; a task made all the more punishing by our inability to grasp the suffering it left in its wake, or even to craft a collective narrative of mourning in the absence of legal accountability.

If navigating our dire conjuncture has yielded one lucid observation, it’s that, in the aftermath of an event wherein the tangibility of death was so intimately felt, structures of meaning also appear to disintegrate. These are, after all, symptoms one could associate with a crisis of representation. How then, do we begin to reconcile with art practice, at a time when Lebanon’s populations are experiencing crushing loss and a ‘third mass exodus’ as a result of the country’s ongoing financial and economic cataclysms? Can aesthetic and performative interventions allow us to riposte against our histories of violence, and aid us in accessing a collective consciousness? And what of cultural practitioners, institutions, and critics, and their role in carving urgent spaces of exchange and contestation in crisis-ridden contexts?

Frankfurt-Beirut, organized by Goethe-Institut Libanon and Ashkal Alwan and unfolding across different venues in Beirut from October to December 2021, is a subchapter of This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks, which was held this past summer in Frankfurt am Main. The latter is a cooperation project of the Frankfurt LAB with Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and Ensemble Modern, in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Lebanon.

Curated by Matthias Lilienthal, Rabih Mroué, and Anna Wagner, with curatorial advisorship from Christine Tohme, This Is Not Lebanon aimed to hold space for artists, journalists, musicians, scholars, and writers from Lebanon, its diaspora, and the broader Arabic-speaking region to think with and push against our unbearable material conditions. While some reflected on the 2019 October uprisings and its worldmaking possibilities, during which we attempted to delink our fate from the sectarian-clientelist regime permeating our lives, others spoke of deferral, vulnerability, and quiet resistance vis-a-vis generational memory and distant pasts. The festival also had in view to create room for artists and cultural workers resisting increased isolation in Lebanon to partake in generative forms of dialogue with different geographies, and to plant the seeds of, and a blueprint for, transnational solidarity.

Frankfurt-Beirut, in turn, will focus on four newly-commissioned performances that premiered as part of This Is Not Lebanon. The impetus behind hosting the festival in Frankfurt is to stage an encounter between artists and cultural workers from Lebanon and the wider region with the general public in Germany, as well as provide material and curatorial support for new productions. The driving force informing the decision to organize a sub-chapter in Beirut, then, is to allow participating artists to restage their performances in the very context their source material was informed by and stemmed from, as well as to invite our public to sit with, engage, or perhaps even challenge these works. The impasses weighing down on our present moment, and the foreclosing of emancipatory horizons they project, should in no way prevent us from involving ourselves in cultural production, especially as the sector faces severe precarity and the continued displacement of its communities.

Featured works by Ali Eyal, Ghida Hachicho, Sanja Grozdanić and Bassem Saad, and Noor Abed and Mark Lotfy, although distinct in form and intent, share the same ambition: to examine acts of bearing witness to unresolved injustices, and to pose urgent questions around the violence that punctures our everyday. Furthermore, their interventions are all, in more ways than one, testaments to the ways in which art practice can be mobilized to make legible history’s otherwise hidden stratas, and to question existing structures that generate despair and dispossession. We may never be able to ‘represent’ nor reenact the horrors looming over our heads and stripping us of political agency, it is imperative for us to  rehearse, imagine, and gesture towards alternative futures. This balancing act between recognizing the impossibility of addressing a given reality and wanting to intervene in, if not occupy, its cracks and fissures may prove insurmountable, but it is one Eyal, Hachicho, Grozdanić and Saad, Abed and Lotfy, as well as the organizers of Frankfurt-Beirut, have all chosen to partake in.

Frankfurt-Beirut is a sub-chapter of This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks, held between August and September 2021 in Frankfurt am Main, organized in cooperation with Ashkal Alwan, The Lebanese Association for Plastic Arts.

This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks is a cooperation project of the Frankfurt LAB with Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and Ensemble Modern, in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Lebanon, supported by the German Federal Cultural Foundation and Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e.V. The discourse programme is supported by the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). The residencies organized within the framework of the project are part of Frankfurt Moves!, a cooperation of the KfW Stiftung and the Frankfurt LAB to promote international emerging artists in the fields of dance and performing arts.

Frankfurt-Beirut: A Sub-Chapter of This is Not Lebanon Hussein Nassereddine

Frankfurt-Beirut: Ein Unterkapitel von „This is not Lebanon“

Wo waren Sie, was haben Sie gesehen oder gehört und haben Sie jemanden verloren am 4. August 2020? Für die meisten derjenigen, die dieses vernichtende Ereignis miterlebt haben, bleibt die Erinnerung daran verschwommen, auch wenn es inzwischen eine Vielzahl von Zeugenberichten gibt. Die Nachwirkung einer der gewaltigsten nichtnuklearen Explosionen zu erfassen, die jemals aufgezeichnet wurde, setzt eine Verantwortung gegenüber den zahllosen Opfern voraus. Eine Aufgabe, die umso schwerer fällt, als wir nicht in der Lage sind, das Leid im Gefolge der Explosion zu begreifen oder gar – angesichts des Fehlens einer rechtlichen Aufarbeitung – eine kollektive Trauererzählung zu entwickeln .

Wenn die Orientierung in dieser schrecklichen Situation zu einer aufschlussreichen Beobachtung geführt hat, dann ist es die, dass nach einem Ereignis, bei dem der Tod so hautnah zu spüren war, sich auch Sinnstrukturen aufzulösen scheinen. Diese Symptome könnte man auch als Teil einer Krise der Repräsentation begreifen. Wie können wir uns also wieder auf die Ausübung der Künste besinnen, in einer Zeit, in der die Bevölkerung des Libanon einen erdrückenden Verlust und einen „dritten Massenexodus“ als Folge der anhaltenden finanziellen und wirtschaftlichen Katastrophen des Landes erlebt? Können ästhetische und performative Interventionen einen Gegenpol zu unseren Erfahrungen von Gewalt bilden und uns dabei helfen, Zugang zu einem kollektiven Bewusstsein zu finden? Und was ist mit Kulturschaffenden, Institutionen und Kritiker*innen und ihrer Rolle bei der Schaffung notwendiger Räume des Austauschs und der Auseinandersetzung im Kontext der Krise?

„Frankfurt-Beirut“, das vom Goethe-Institut Libanon und Ashkal Alwan organisiert wird und von Oktober bis Dezember 2021 an verschiedenen Orten in Beirut gezeigt wird, ist ein Unterkapitel von „This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks“, das im vergangenen Sommer in Frankfurt am Main stattfand. Letzteres ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Frankfurt LAB mit dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und dem Ensemble Modern, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon.

Die von Matthias Lilienthal, Rabih Mroué und Anna Wagner kuratierte Veranstaltung „This Is Not Lebanon“, die von Christine Tohme kuratorisch unterstützt wurde, bot Künstler*innen, Journalist*innen, Musiker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Schriftsteller*innen aus dem Libanon, der Diaspora und dem arabischsprachigen Raum Gelegenheit, sich mit unseren unerträglichen materiellen Bedingungen auseinanderzusetzen und dagegen anzukämpfen. Während einige über die Oktoberaufstände 2019 mit ihren Möglichkeiten zur Gestaltung der Welt nachdachten, bei denen wir versuchten, unser Schicksal von dem sektiererisch-klientelistischen Regime, das unser Leben durchdringt, abzukoppeln, sprachen andere über Aufschub, Verwundbarkeit und stummen Widerstand gegenüber der generationenübergreifenden Erinnerung und weiter zurückliegenden Vergangenheiten. Das Festival hatte auch zum Ziel, Raum für Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende zu schaffen, die sich der zunehmenden Isolation im Libanon widersetzen, um an generativen Formen des Dialogs mit anderen geografischen Räumen teilzunehmen und den Samen für eine transnationale Solidarität zu legen und ein Konzept dafür zu entwerfen.

„Frankfurt-Beirut“ wiederum wird sich auf vier neu in Auftrag gegebene Performances konzentrieren, die im Rahmen von „This Is Not Lebanon“ uraufgeführt wurden. Der Beweggrund, das Festival in Frankfurt zu veranstalten, bestand darin, eine Begegnung zwischen Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden aus dem Libanon und seiner Region mit der Öffentlichkeit in Deutschland zu ermöglichen und neue Produktionen materiell und kuratorisch zu unterstützen. Die treibende Kraft hinter der Entscheidung, ein Unterkapitel in Beirut zu veranstalten, besteht dementsprechend darin, den teilnehmenden Künstler*innen die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre Performances in dem Kontext neu zu inszenieren, aus dem ihr Ausgangsmaterial stammt, und unser Publikum einzuladen, sich mit diesen Werken auseinanderzusetzen, sich mit ihnen zu beschäftigen oder sie gegebenenfalls auch in Frage zu stellen. Die Ausweglosigkeit, die auf unserer Gegenwart lastet, und der Wegfall der emanzipatorischen Horizonte, die sie projiziert, sollten uns keineswegs davon abhalten, uns an der kulturellen Produktion zu beteiligen, zumal der Sektor mit großer Unsicherheit und der fortgesetzten Vertreibung seiner Communitys konfrontiert ist.

Die gezeigten Arbeiten von Ali Eyal, Ghida Hachicho, Sanja Grozdanić und Bassem Saad sowie Noor Abed und Mark Lotfy unterscheiden sich zwar in Form und Intention, haben aber denselben Anspruch: Sie untersuchen die Akte des Zeugnisablegens über nicht aufgeklärtes Unrecht und stellen drängende Fragen über die Gewalt, die unseren Alltag durchdringt. Darüber hinaus sind ihre Interventionen in mehr als einer Hinsicht Zeugnisse dafür, wie die Kunstpraxis eingesetzt werden kann, um versteckte Schichten der Geschichte lesbar zu machen und gegenwärtige Strukturen zu hinterfragen, die Verzweiflung und Entrechtung erzeugen. Wir werden vielleicht nie in der Lage sein, die Schrecken, die über uns hereinbrechen und uns unserer politischen Handlungsfähigkeit berauben, zu „repräsentieren“ oder nachzuvollziehen, aber es ist für uns von größter Wichtigkeit, eine alternative Zukunft durchzuspielen, sie zu imaginieren und auf sie hinzuweisen. Diese Gratwanderung zwischen der Erkenntnis, dass es unmöglich ist, sich mit einer gegebenen Realität auseinanderzusetzen, und dem Wunsch, in ihre Risse und Spalten einzugreifen, wenn nicht gar sie zu besetzen, mag sich als nicht zu bewältigen erweisen, aber es ist eine, für die sich Eyal, Hachicho, Grozdanić und Saad, Abed und Lotfy sowie die Organisatoren von „Frankfurt-Beirut“ entschieden haben.

„Frankfurt-Beirut“ ist ein Unterkapitel von „This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks“ das von August bis September 2021 in Frankfurt am Main stattfand und in Zusammenarbeit mit Ashkal Alwan, The Lebanese Association for Plastic Arts, organisiert wurde.

„This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Frankfurt LAB mit Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Ensemble Modern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, das Goethe-Institut und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Die Residenzen im Rahmen von „This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” sind Teil von „Frankfurt Moves!", einer Kooperation der KfW Stiftung mit dem Frankfurt Lab zur Förderung internationaler aufstrebender Künstler*innen im Bereich Tanz und Darstellende Künste.