Berlin-Beirut: Live Discussions on Theatre and Performing Arts

Berlin Beirut © Goethe-Institut Libanon

A Three-Day Digital Workshop

December 7 to December 9, 2020
Technical support was provided by Amon Ritz

On the initiative of Nidal Al Achkar, the Al Madina Theatre Beirut, in cooperation with Rabih Mroué, Matthias Lilienthal and the Goethe-Institut Lebanon, initiated a mini-festival for interested theatre students and theatre makers in Beirut. During the three-day program, German theatre-makers reported on their work and presented new approaches in lecture formats, discussions and workshops; in selecting the theatre-makers, care was taken to cover the widest possible range of theatre languages. 
Each day a workshop leader presented a work, which was then followed by a lecture on the work and discussions with the participants. The number of active participants in the sessions was limited to 20, however a link for a YouTube live was published on the social media platforms of the Goethe-Institut and the Al Madina Theatre.  

Helgard Haug (Rimini Protokoll)
Helgard Haug gave an insight into the collective documentary work of Rimini Protokoll and the play „Chinchilla Arsehole, eyey“, which asks some essential questions: to what degree can theatre tolerate an absence of intent? How much protection can theatre offer? And after the applause is over, it may become clear that this piece isn’t really about Tourette. It is actually about the audience, about theatre and about the fear of losing control.

About Rimini Protokoll
About Chinchilla Arsehole, eyey in the press  

Susanne Kennedy  
Susanne Kennedy gave an insight into her work by the example of her plays “Drei Schwestern” (Three Sisters) and “Ultraworld”.

Trailer Drei Schwestern
Trailer Ultraworld
About Susanne Kennedy and her work  

Thomas Ostermeier
Thomas Ostermeier gave an insight into his work as a director by the example of the production „An Enemy of the People “. In his play “An Enemy of the People” Henrik Ibsen walks a fine line between honesty and fanaticism. The play poses the question: what is the potential for truth and transparency in a commercialized society?
In Ostermeier’s adaptation the crucial scene of Ibsen’s play, showing the public debate about the future of the spa and Stockmann’s accusations, leads to an open discussion inviting the audience to participate. A film team accompanied “An Enemy of the People” during some of its tours, documenting the different reactions in different parts of the world. In his workshop Thomas Ostermeier showed some extracts of this documentary and commented on them, and talked about his notions of a socially relevant theatre, triggering a reconsideration of positions and certainties.

Trailer An Enemy of the People

 
Top

Berlin-Beirut: Live-Diskussionen über Theater und Darstellende Kunst

Berlin Beirut © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Ein dreitägiger Digital Workshop

7. Dezember bis 9. Dezember 2020
Technischer Support durch Amon Ritz


Auf Anregung von Nidal Al Achkar initiierte Al Madina Theater Beirut in Zusammenarbeit mit Rabih Mroué, Matthias Lilienthal und dem Goethe-Institut Libanon ein Kurzfestival für interessierte Theaterstudenten und Theatermacher/innen in Beirut. Während des dreitägigen Programms berichteten deutsche Theaterschaffende über ihre Arbeit und stellten in Vorträgen, Diskussionen und Workshops neue Ansätze vor. Bei der Auswahl der Theatermacher/innen wurde darauf geachtet, ein möglichst breites Spektrum an unterschiedlichen Theatersprachen abzudecken. 
Jeden Tag stellte ein/e Workshop Leiter/in ein Werk vor, anschließend folgten ein Vortrag über das Werk und Diskussionen mit den Teilnehmer/innen. Die Zahl der aktiven Teilnehmer/innen an den Sitzungen war auf 20 begrenzt, jedoch wurde auf den Sozial-Media-Plattformen des Goethe-Instituts und des Madina-Theaters einen Link für eine Live-Übertragung auf YouTube veröffentlicht. 

Helgard Haug (Rimini Protokoll)
Helgard Haug gab einen Einblick in die kollektive dokumentarische Arbeit von Rimini Protokoll und in das Stück „Chinchilla Arsehole, eyey“, das einige wesentliche Fragen stellt: Inwieweit kann das Theater die Abwesenheit von Intention tolerieren? Wie viel Schutz kann Theater bieten? Und nachdem der Applaus vorbei ist, wird vielleicht klar, dass es in diesem Stück nicht wirklich um Tourette geht. Im Grunde geht es um das Publikum, um Theater und um die Angst vor Kontrollverlust.

Über Rimini Protokoll
Über Chinchilla Arsehole, eyey in der Presse 
 
Susanne Kennedy 
Susanne Kennedy gab einen Einblick in ihr Werk am Beispiel ihrer Stücke „Drei Schwestern“ und „Ultraworld“.

Trailer Drei Schwestern
Trailer Ultraworld
Über Susanne Kennedy und ihr Werk 
 

Thomas Ostermeier
Thomas Ostermeier gab am Beispiel der Produktion „Ein Volksfeind“ einen Einblick in seine Arbeit als Regisseur. Henrik Ibsen bewegt sich in seinem Stück „Ein Volksfeind“ auf einem schmalen Grat zwischen Aufrichtigkeit und Fanatismus. Das Stück wirft die Frage auf: Welches Potenzial für Wahrheit und Transparenz gibt es in einer kommerzialisierten Gesellschaft?
In Ostermeiers Adaption führt die entscheidende Szene von Ibsens Stück, die die öffentliche Debatte über die Zukunft des Kurortes und die Vorwürfe Stockmanns darstellt, zu einer offenen Diskussion, die das Publikum zur Teilnahme anregt. Ein Filmteam begleitete „Ein Volksfeind“ auf einigen seiner Gastspiele und dokumentierte die unterschiedlichen Reaktionen in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt. In seinem Workshop hat Thomas Ostermeier einige Ausschnitte dieses Dokumentarfilms gezeigt und kommentiert und über seine Vorstellungen von einem gesellschaftlich relevanten Theater gesprochen, um ein Überdenken von Positionen und Gewissheiten anzustoßen.

Trailer Ein Volksfeind
 
 
 
Top