Concerts and workshops TIZIANA BERTONCINI / THOMAS LEHN

Concerts TIZIANA BERTONCINI / THOMAS LEHN - In the framework of Irtijal © Franz Reitner

Fri, 07.04.2017

20:30

Yukunkun

Concerts and workshops in the framework of Irtijal 2017

Friday, April 7th, at 8:30 pm
concert Bertoncini/Lehn, at Yukunkun

Tiziana Bertoncini (IT) • violin
Thomas Lehn (DE) • analogue synthesizer

A cooperation between the Goethe-Institut Libanon and Irtijal

The duo Tiziana Bertoncini and Thomas Lehn have been collaborating since 2002.Their shared interest in broader understanding of the New Music that involves equally improvisation, composition, interpretation and performance in the artistic activities, provides a common ground for their collaboration.

The special feature of the duo is the alchemy created by the meeting of the classical and the electronic instrument. The different nature of sound, the characteristics and histories of violin and analogue synthesizer could recall a friction. Actually, what happens is a sort of mirror game, in which the roles of the instruments are continuously exchanged. Bertoncini and Lehn move in an abstract territory, their approach to sound is contemporary. Nevertheless their consideration to music is quite classical insofar as based principally on tension/release, rupture, intensity and expressivity in all its facets.

Their first CD Horsky Park, was released in spring 2011 on British label Another Timbre.

They have been performing together in Austria, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain and Switzerland.

Beside their duo work, they play in larger or extended constellations, like the ensemble]h[iatus, an international ensemble which moves in the territories of improvisation and interpretation of contemporary pieces. With this ensemble they premiered new compositions by both young and established composers like Vinko Globokar, Peter Jakober, Anthony Pateras and Jennifer Walshe. The ensemble has been playing at numerous festival of contemporary music. It has been in residence at Akademie Schloß Solitude/DE, Ferme de Villefavard/FR and Césaré Reims/FR. Césaré released the first CD of ensemble]h[iatus in January 2017 with works of Peter Jakober and improvisations.

Bertoncini and Lehn have been part of multimedia projects, in which they were involved as musicians and performers. In 2014 they realized Gradients, which is an interpretation of the coloured graphical score K-2591 Coloured Melody Line Composition (ca. 1925) by Miroslav Ponc, which has been published on the CD Pounding Ponc released in 2015 by the Moravská Galerie in Brno/CZ.

In collaboration with ZAM Zentrum für aktuelle Musik they curated comprovise, a festival for contemporary composed and improvised music, which took place in June 2009 in Cologne supported by the german Netzwerk Neue Musik. The second edition, comprovise #2, took place in Vienna in November 2016 during Wien Modern in collaboration with the IGNM Austria.

Back

Konzerte und Workshops TIZIANA BERTONCINI / THOMAS LEHN

Konzerte TIZIANA BERTONCINI / THOMAS LEHN - Im Rahmen von Irtijal © Franz Reitner

Fr, 07.04.2017

Yukunkun

Konzerte und Workshops im Rahmen von Irtijal 2017

Freitag, 7. April, um 20:30 Uhr
Konzert Bertoncini/Lehn, im Yukunkun

Tiziana Bertoncini (IT) • Violine
Thomas Lehn (DE) • Analogsynthesizer

Eine Kooperation zwischen dem Goethe-Institut Libanon und Irtijal

Das Duo von Tiziana Bertoncini und Thomas Lehn reicht zurück bis in das Jahr 2002 und führte sie bislang auf Konzertreisen in Deutschland, England, Italien, Frankreich, Österreich, Schweiz und die Slowakische Republik.

Ihr geteiltes Interesse an einen erweiterten Begriff der neuen Musik, welcher Improvisation, Komposition, Interpretation und Performance gleichermaßen in das künstlerische Wirken einbindet, bildet die gemeinsame Basis ihrer Zusammenarbeit.
Eine hervorstechende Besonderheit ihrer Musik ist die klangliche Alchemie, die durch das Aufeinandertreffen des klassisch-akustischen und des elektronischen Instruments hervorgerufen wird: Die wesensverschiedenen Eigenschaften von Violine und Synthesizer suggerieren auf den ersten Blick ein reibungsvolles Aufeinandertreffen zweier grundverschiedener Klangwelten. Was jedoch tatsächlich erlebbar wird ist eine Art klangliches Spiegelkabinett, in welchem sich die Rollen der Instrumente fortlaufend austauschen. Bertoncini und Lehn bewegen sich in abstrakten, zeitgenössischen Territorien. Nichtsdestoweniger ist ihre Musik gerade auch klassisch insofern, als sie mit den Mitteln von Spannung-Entspannung, mit Brüchen, Intensität und Ausdruckskraft und all deren Facetten geformt und getragen wird. 

Bertoncini und Lehn veröffentlichten im Frühjahr 2011 auf dem britischen Label Another Timbre ihre erste Duo-CD Horsky Park.

Sie sind Gründungsmitglieder des international besetzten ensemble]h[iatus, das sich gleichgewichtig der komponierten und improvisierten Neuen Musik widmet und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten (wie z.B. Peter Jakober, Steffen Krebber, Vinko Globokar, Jennifer Walshe, Anthony Pateras etc) Uraufführungen realisiert sowie eine Vielzahl von Repertoirewerken Neuer Musik alternierend mit Improvisationen in durchgängigen Konzertprogrammen präsentiert. Zahlreiche Festivalauftritte sowie Gastresidenzen in der Akademie Schloß Solitude/DE, dem Ferme de Villefavard/FR und Césaré Reims/FR. Eine erste CD Veröffentlichung des Ensembles mit Werken von Peter Jakober und Improvisationen wurde auf Césaré im Januar 2017 vorgelegt. 

Ferner waren Tiziana Bertoncini und Thomas Lehn gemeinsam als Musiker und Performer bei zahlreichen audio-visuellen Projekten beteiligt. In 2014 realisierten sie Gradients, eine Interpretation der grafischen Komposition K-2591 Coloured Melody Line Composition (ca. 1925) von Miroslav Ponc, welche in 2015 auf der CD Pounding Ponc von der Moravská Galerie in Brno/CZ veröffentlicht wurde.

In Zusammenarbeit mit ZAM Zentrum für aktuelle Musik initiierten und kuratierten sie comprovise, ein Festival für zeitgenössische improvisierte und komponierte Musik, das im Juni 2009 mit Unterstützung u.a. durch das Netzwerk Neue Musik der Bundeskulturstiftung in Köln stattgefunden hatte. Im November 2016 realisierten sie in Zusammenarbeit mit der IGNM Österreich die zweite Ausgabe des Festivals, comprovise #2, das im Rahmen von Wien Modern stattfand.

Zurück