Gender Policies in Contemporary Artscapes

Tashweesh Nancy Naser Al Deen

Fri, 16.11.2018

Goethe-Institut Libanon | Media Lounge

PANEL DISCUSSION

Gender Policies in Contemporary Artscapes | Hosted by Dima Hamadeh (Writer/Researcher, LEB)
Participants: Myra Al Mir (Artist, LEB), Lina Ramadan (Curator/Writer, PAL, LEB, QTR), Luz (DJ/Cofounder of Room 4 Resistance, GER)

This panel looks at how gender mainstreaming, a notion publicized in the 1990s, has resulted in a growing commitment to diversity and inclusivity in the contemporary art world. While this attentiveness to gender and race, has unleashed an unprecedented support and created a wider framework of visibility for women artists of color and gender non-conforming artists in the Arab region and elsewhere, the question is how to develop and mobilize this framework beyond politics of representation in order to build meaningful relationships and conversations based on solidarity and collectivity.

In what ways is the growing focus on gender diversity and inclusivity in contemporary artscapes effective in redressing the hegemony of western male-centric narratives in art and in social practice? And what strategies can we devise, both artistically and politically, to build networks of visibility, collectivity and solidarity that go beyond current identity politics?

In Arabic & English (simultaneous translation)

 
Dima Hamadeh (LEB) is a writer and researcher based in Beirut. Her work is focused on areas related to contemporary art practices within the Arab context, in terms of their epistemological frameworks and thematics, modes and conditions of production, institutions and labour. Previously, Hamadeh was the Assistant Director of Beirut Art Center.

Luz Diaz (GER) is a DJ and the founder of Room 4 Resistance, a Berlin-based queer femme forward collective focused on community-building and creating safer space & visibility for underrepresented artists in dance music.

Myra Al Mir (LEB) is a researcher and visual artist. She studied Fine Arts in the Lebanese University and ESAL, France and is currently working on her PhD in Gender studies in Paris 8. She co-founded Space27, a feminist art space/work studio in Tayyouneh.

Lina Ramadan (PAL/Qatar) is a researcher and curator based in Doha. Her work investigates topics on Arab Nationalism and Feminism in the post-colonial period, looking at artistic and literary productions within institutional models. Since 2016, she is assistant curator at Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha.
 

Back

Genderpolitiken in zeitgenössischen Artscapes

Tashweesh Tashweesh

Fr, 16.11.2018

Goethe-Institut Libanon Medienlounge

PANEL DISCUSSION

Genderpolitiken in zeitgenössischen Artscapes
Gastgeberin: Dima Hamadeh (Autorin, Wissenschaftlerin, LEB)

Teilnehmerinnen: Myra Al Mir (Künstlerin, LEB), Lina Ramadan (Kuratorin/Publizistin, PAL, LEB, QTR), Luz (DJ/Mitbegründerin von Room 4 Resistance, GER)

Das Panel beschäftigt sich damit, wie das Konzept des Gender Mainstreaming, das in den 1990er Jahren an Verbreitung gewann, zu einem wachsenden Bekenntnis zu Diversität und Inklusivität in der zeitgenössischen Kunstwelt führte. Während sich dieses neue Interesse für Gender und Rasse in bisher ungekannter Unterstützung äußert und größere Sichtbarkeit für Künstlerinnen of color sowie Künstlerinnen, die nicht den gängigen Gendernormen entsprechen, ermöglicht, ist die Frage: wie kann man dieses framework über die Politiken der Repräsentation hinaus entwickeln und mobilisieren, um bedeutungsvolle Beziehungen und Konversationen, basierend auf Solidarität und Kollektivität, aufzubauen?

Inwiefern ist der wachsende Fokus auf Gender Diversität und Inklusivität in zeitgenössischen Artscapes effektiv dabei, die Hegemonie westlicher, männlich-zentrierter Narrative in der Kunst und der sozialen Praxis zu beseitigen? Und welche künstlerischen und politischen Strategien können wir entwickeln, um Netzwerke der Sichtbarkeit, Kollektivität und Solidarität zu kreieren, die über aktuelle Identitätspolitiken hinausgehen?

Auf Arabisch und Englisch (mit Simultanübersetzung)


Dima Hamadeh (LBN) ist Autorin und Wissenschaftlerin aus Beirut. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf zeitgenössische Kunstpraxis im arabischen Kontext, in Bezug auf ihre epistemologischen Rahmen und Thematiken, Produktionsweisen und -bedingungen, Institutionen und Arbeitsabläufe. Zuvor war Hamadeh stellvertretende Leiterin des Beirut Art Centers.

Luz Diaz ist DJ und Gründerin von Room 4 Resistance, eines queeren femme forward-Kollektivs mit Sitz in Berlin, das sich auf community-building konzentriert und daran arbeitet, safer spaces und mehr Sichtbarkeit für unterrepräsentierte artists in der Dance Music Szene zu entwickeln. 

Myra Al Mir (LBN) ist Forscherin und bildende Künstlerin. Sie hat an der Libanesischen Universität im Libanon und an der ESAL in Frankreich bildende Kunst studiert und arbeitet gegenwärtig an der Universität Paris VIII an ihrer Promotion im Bereich Genderforschung. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von Space27, einem feministischen Kunstraum und Atelier in Tayyouneh.

Lina Ramadan (PSE/Katar) ist Forscherin und Kuratorin mit Sitz in Doha. Ihre Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit Themen des arabischen Nationalismus und Feminismus in der Postkolonialzeit und betrachtet künstlerische und literarische Produktion innerhalb institutioneller Modelle. Seit 2016 ist sie stellvertretende Kuratorin im Mathaf: Arabisches Museum für Moderne Kunst, Doha.

Zurück