Art and Literary Production as Feminist Practice

Tashweesh Nancy Naser Al Deen

Fri, 16.11.2018

Goethe-Institut Libanon | Media Lounge

FISHBOWL DISCUSSION

ART AND LITERARY PRODUCTION AS FEMINIST PRACTICE | hosted by Roula Seghaier (Novelist/Writer, LEB)
Participants: Nidal Ayoub (Performer & Member of Clown Me In, LEB), Deema Kaedbay (Knowledge Workshop, LEB), Sinine Nakhle (Illustrator, LEB) and Islam Khatib (Cartoonist, PAL/LEB)

With the ongoing institutional branding effort at coopting feminist language and practice, are there any forms of artistic expressions which sustain systems of injustice? Are there some forms of art excluded from conversations of resistance? In format of the fishbowl we invite the audience to participate in the discussion.

In Arabic & English (simultaneous translation)

 
Roula Seghaier is a feminist novelist and writer. Her educational background is in Political Science, Transitional Justice, Human Rights, and SRHR. She currently manages an academic regional journal on body and gender research.

Deema Kaedbey is the co-founder of the feminist organization in Beirut, the Knowledge Workshop, where she manages its oral history project, the Storytellers Project. She is also co-editor of the feminist webspace, Sawt al Niswa. With a PhD in Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies, her own work explores queer feminist frameworks that construct alternative histories of feminism in Lebanon.

Islam Khatib
Palestinian, 22, trying to create funny and feminist comics, memes expert.
 

Back

Kunst- und Literaturproduktion als feministische Praxis

Tashweesh Tashweesh

Fr, 16.11.2018

Goethe-Institut Libanon Medienlounge

FISHBOWL DISCUSSION

KUNST- UND LITERATURPRODUKTION ALS FEMINISTISCHE PRAXIS
Gastgeberin: Roula Seghaier (Schriftstellerin, Publizistin, LEB)

Teilnehmerinnen: Nidal Ayoub (Performerin & Mitglied von Clown Me In, LEB), Deema Kaedbay (Knowledge Workshop, LEB), Sinine Nakhle (Illustratorin, LEB) und Islam Khatib (Cartoonistin, PAL/LEB)

Vor dem Hintergrund institutioneller „Branding“-Bemühungen, feministische Sprache und Praktik zu vereinnahmen, stellt das Panel die Frage: gibt es Formen künstlerischen Ausdrucks, die Systeme von Ungerechtigkeit aufrechterhalten? Gibt es Kunstformen, die von widerständischen Diskursen ausgeschlossen bleiben? Im Format des Fishbowl laden wir das Publikum zur Diskussion ein.

Auf Arabisch und Englisch (mit Simultanübersetzung)


Roula Seghaier ist feministische Autorin und Publizistin. Ihr Hintergrund liegt in den Bereichen Politikwissenschaft, Transitional Justice, Menschenrechte und SRHR (Sexuelle und reproduktive Gesundheit und Rechte). Derzeit leitet sie eine regionale wissenschaftliche Zeitschrift zu Körper- und Genderforschung.

Deema Kaedbey ist Mitbegründerin des Knowledge Workshop, einer feministischen Organisation in Beirut. Dort leitet sie das Oral-History-Projekt "The Storytellers Project". Sie ist außerdem Mitherausgeberin der feministischen Website Sawt al Niswa. Als promovierte Wissenschaftlerin in Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies untersucht sie in ihrer Arbeit queerfeministische Konzepte, die alternative Geschichten des Feminismus im Libanon konstruieren.

Zurück