Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Freedom of expression

Agenda 14 is committed to promoting freedom of expression and human rights through training and assisting young filmmakers with a focus on female participation in digital storytelling, short film production and screenings.

Professional Training

In Sri Lanka, where opportunities for potential filmmakers are limited, Agenda 14 conducts professional training in script writing, cinematography, editing and other artistic and technical skills with
a special focus on women and youth.

Film Production

Agenda 14 further focuses on conceptualizing, producing and disseminating audio-visual expressions of the Sri Lankan youth for nearly a decade with some of these works having received local and international recognition.


International Relief Fund

Agenda 14 was selected as one out of 141 projects from more than 440 applications that got funding from the International Relief Fund 2020. The Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut initiated the International Relief Fund for Organisations in Culture and Education in response to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on cultural organisations abroad. With the support of other intermediary organisations, the relief fund was able to contribute to maintaining cultural partner’s structures abroad and at the same time to strengthen social diversity and local cultural life.

The structural support provided, allowed Agenda 14 to stay operational while the Covid-19 crisis and severe lockdown measures impacted the Sri Lankan economy. The grant was utilized, among other things, for the implementation of the third Colombo International Women's Film Festival in an online format and the development of a new website that enables the so far 65 short films produced and subtitled by Agenda 14 to be permanently viewable worldwide. Further Agenda 14 provided eleven young, aspring film makers with production grants what led to the production of the Anthology Film 'Goodnight Colombo'. 

Agenda 14 - Watch Short Films - Teaser © Agenda 14

Watch Agenda 14 Short Films

Agenda 14 started producing films in 2014. The first film production ‘Missing’ was developed as a group exercise at a Masterclass. Since 2015, Agenda 14 has produced over 75 short films in post-war Sri Lanka, with a special focus on peace, reconciliation, justice, development and gender based violence.

'Goodnight COLOMBO!' Official Trailer © Agenda 14

Goodnight Colombo - Trailer

This is an Agenda 14 anthology film created by 11 young directors, based on experiences of the Coronavirus pandemic, shot with a minimalist approach to cast and crew and produced within the restrictions that prevail within the ‘new normal’. This film has been shot entirely on a smartphone.
 

International Relief Fund 2021

The consortium partners of the International Relief Fund have agreed to continue the funding in 2021. Agenda 14 has successfully applied to this grant opportunity a second time. This year thematic focus will be on women and Covid-19, on building capacities of female storytellers, technicans and filmmakers. Therefore, Agenda 14 will invite female storytellers across the country to submit their stories, of which seven stories will be selected and and converted into short films. Although there are women who are keen to involve themselves in technical aspects of film making, there is a lack of opportunity for female technicans within the local film industry. For the production of the selected short films as individual films or an overall feature film, Agenda 14 aspires to engage women as part of the technical crew at the production stage. To make this a reality Agenda 14 plans to organise specific training and masterclasses on the technical aspects of film making for a selected group of women. 

International Relief Fund Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: © Katja Römer

OVER 200 ORGANISATIONS FUNDED IN 2021

From more than 500 applications, 216 organisations were chosen for funding in an elaborate jury process. In 59 countries, spread across the African continent, the Near and Middle East, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, Central and South-Eastern Asia as well as Central and South America, the International Relief Fund 2021 supports organisations in culture and education to remain effective, despite restrictions.


Film Forum

Agenda 14 Founder Anomaa Rajakaruna has curated the Film Forum at Goethe-Institut, Sri Lanka for nearly 10 years. In the beginning, the Film Forum was presented occasionally to introduce a new filmmaker or an unreleased film. During the last 7-8 years it has become a permanent activity in the Colombo Cultural Calendar, where on the first Wednesday of every month, a new Sri Lankan film is presented. These screenings then followed by a moderated discussion.


Cinema on Tour

Cinema on Tour is an initiative with Goethe-Institut, Sri Lanka to take films to all corners of the island. Subsequently, Cultural Institutes and Diplomatic Missions of France, Australia, Switzerland and India joined the tour to present films. As of now, Cinema on Tour has travelled to Vavuniya, Killinochchi, Mullaitivu, Kalpitiya, Mannar, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Ampara, Tissamaharama, Monaragala, Hambantota, Matara, Bibile, Kandy, Thalawakelle, Hatton, Nuwaraeliya and Peradeniya.


Film Festivals

Agenda 14 Short Film Festival

Agenda 14 Short Film Festival was launched in 2011 to promote the work of young filmmakers in Sri Lanka. Every year Agenda 14 acknowledges the work of talented young men and women under several categories. During the last decade this festival has grown into a fully fledged film festival awarding Best Short Film, Jury Prize, Most Gender Sensitive Film, the Sunila Abeysekera Memorial Human Rights Prize, Best Animated Short Film, Green Award for films on environmental themes and acknowledging outstanding performances, screenplays, editing and cinematography. The festival recognizes the next generation of filmmakers by presenting the Award for the Most Promising Filmmaker to a contestant under 24 years of age.


Jaffna International Film Festival

The Jaffna International Cinema Festival is a non-partisan platform to that was created to explore contemporary forms of creative expression in cinema. The festival was launched in 2015 with the aim of celebrating independent cinema in the Jaffna peninsula which is currently recovering from a three decade long armed conflict and civil war. This initiative attempts to use art to reach people from a variety of different backrounds and create a space for communities to interact with each other through cinema as well as engage in critical discussion. JaffnaICF has become an important event in the South Asian cultural calendar and it has reached a landmark stage as the only international film festival in Sri Lanka to have held consecutive five editions.

Colombo International Women's Film Festival

Over the past few decades, the underrepresentation of female directors in competitions at many major festivals, and the lack of gender equality in terms of access to training, funding for film production, working conditions and attitudes towards women in the film industry have been debated at many forums internationally. Recognizing the gap in the Sri Lankan industry, Agenda 14, with a group of prominent female producers, actors and other industry professionals launched a women’s international film festival in March 2019. At the launch of the festival, prominent women from the film fraternity and the partners took a pledge to help women break barriers to enter the male dominated film industry.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Meinungsfreiheit

Agenda 14 setzt sich für die Förderung der Meinungsfreiheit und der Menschenrechte ein, indem sie junge Filmemacher*innen ausbildet und unterstützt. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Beteiligung von Frauen, der Produktion von Kurzfilmen sowie der Filmvorführung.

Trainings

In Sri Lanka, wo die Möglichkeiten für aufstrebende Filmemacher*innen begrenzt sind, bietet Agenda 14 professionelle Schulungen in den Bereichen Drehbuchschreiben, Kameraführung, Schnitt und anderen künstlerischen und technischen Fertigkeiten an.

Filmproduktion

Agenda 14 konzentriert sich darüber hinaus seit fast einem Jahrzehnt auf die Konzeption, Produktion und Verbreitung audiovisueller Ausdrucksformen junger Sri Lankaner*innen, wobei einige dieser Arbeiten lokale und internationale Anerkennung gefunden haben.


Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2020

Agenda 14 wurde aus mehr als 440 Bewerbungen aus 75 Ländern in einem aufwendigen Juryverfahren zur Förderung ausgewählt. Der Internationale Hilfsfonds 2020 wurde im Sommer 2020 auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und des Auswärtigen Amts eingerichtet, um Organisationen aus Kultur und Bildung im Ausland im Umgang mit den Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie zu unterstützen. Der Internationale Hilfsfonds 2020 konnte einen Beitrag zum Erhalt kultureller Partnerstrukturen im Ausland leisten und damit zugleich gesellschaftliche Vielfalt und kulturelles Leben vor Ort stärken.

Der bereitgestellte strukturelle Support, ermöglichte es Agenda 14 der Covid-19-Krise und den strengen Lockdown-Maßnahmen sowie deren Beeinträchtgungen auf die Wirtschaft Sri Lankas stand zu halten. Die Förderung wurde unter anderem für die Durchführung des dritten Colombo International Women's Film Festival in einem Online-Format und die Entwicklung einer neuen Website verwendet. Die Website ermöglicht, die bisher 65 von Agenda 14 produzierten und untertitelten Kurzfilme dauerhaft einem weltweitem Publikum zur Verfügung zu stellen. Darüber hinaus hat Agenda 14 elf jungen, aufstrebenden Filmemacher*innen Produktionsstipendien zur Verfügung gestellt, welche zur Produktion des Anthologie-Films 'Goodnight Colombo' führten.

Agenda 14 - Watch Short Films - Teaser © Agenda 14

Agenda 14 Kurzfilme Online anschauen

Agenda 14 produziert seit 2014 Filme. Die erste Produktion "Missing" wurde als Gruppenübung im Rahmen einer Masterclass entwickelt. Seit 2015 hat Agenda 14 über 75 Kurzfilme produziert, alle mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Frieden, Versöhnung, Gerechtigkeit, Entwicklung und geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt. Unter den von Agenda 14 geförderten Filmemacher*innen sind gleichermaßen Männer wie Frauen sowie Jugendliche aus ethnischen Minderheiten des Landes vertreten. 
 

Goodnight Colombo - Offizieller Trailer © Agenda 14

Goodnight Colombo - Offizieller Trailer

Dieser Agenda 14-Anthologie-Film wurde von insgesamt 11 jungen Regisseur*innen gemacht und basiert auf den unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen, die Menschen in Sri Lanka mit der Coronavirus-Pandemie erlebt haben. Er wurde mit einem minimalistischen Ansatz in Bezug auf die Besetzung und die Crew gedreht und innerhalb der Beschränkungen produziert, die in der "neuen Normalität" der Pandemie herrschen. Der Film wurde ausschließlich mit dem Smartphone gedreht.

Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2021

Aufgrund der anhaltenden Dringlichkeit beschlossen die Partner, den Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2021 erneut aufzulegen und die Fördersumme sowie den Förderzeitraum auszubauen. Agenda 14 konnte sich ein zweites Mal erfolgreich bewerben. In diesem Jahr liegt der thematische Schwerpunkt auf der Kapazitätenentwicklung von weiblichen Geschichtenerzählerinnen, Technikerinnen und Filmemacherinnen im Kontext von Covid-19. Agenda 14 läd Frauen aus dem ganzen Land ein, ihre Geschichten einzureichen, von denen im nächsten Schritt sieben ausgewählt und in Kurzfilme umgesetzt werden sollen.

Obwohl es Frauen gibt, die sich gerne mit den technischen Aspekten des Filmemachens befassen möchten, gibt es hierfür in der lokalen Filmindustrie nicht genügend Ausbildungs- und Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten für Frauen. Für die Produktion der ausgewählten Kurzfilme als Einzelfilme oder eines Gesamtspielfilms strebt Agenda 14 an, Frauen als Teil der technischen Crew in der Produktionsphase zu engagieren. Um dies zu verwirklichen, wird Agenda 14, für eine ausgewählte Gruppe von Frauen spezielle Schulungen und Intensivkurse zu den technischen Aspekten der Filmproduktion organisieren. 

International Relief Fund Internationaler Hilfsfonds, Grafik: © Katja Römer

ÜBER 200 GEFÖRDERTE ORGANISATIONEN 2021

Aus mehr als 500 Bewerbungen wurden in einem aufwändigen Juryverfahren 216 Organisationen zur Förderung ausgewählt. In 59 Ländern, verteilt auf den afrikanischen Kontinent, Nahen und Mittleren Osten, Ost- und Südosteuropa, Zentral- und Südostasien sowie Mittel- und Südamerika, unterstützt der Internationale Hilfsfonds 2021 Organisationen aus Kultur und Bildung, wirksam zu bleiben, trotz Einschränkungen.


Film Forum

Die Gründerin von Agenda 14, Anomaa Rajakaruna, kuratiert seit fast 10 Jahren das Filmforum am Goethe-Institut in Sri Lanka. Anfangs wurde das Filmforum gelegentlich veranstaltet, um einen unveröffentlichten Film vorzustellen. In den letzten 7-8 Jahren ist die Veranstaltung zu einem festen Bestandteil des Kulturkalenders in Colombo geworden. An jedem ersten Mittwoch im Monat wird ein neuer Film aus Sri Lanka gezeigt und anschließend zur moderierten Diskussion mit Anomaa Rajakaruna eingeladen.

 


Cinema on Tour

Cinema on Tour ist eine Initiative des Goethe-Instituts Sri Lanka, um Filme Menschen näher zu bringen, die in den unterschieldichsten Gegenden der Insel wohnen. Mittlerweile haben sich Kulturinstitute und diplomatische Vertretungen Frankreichs, Australiens, der Schweiz und Indiens Cinema on Tour angeschlossen. Bislang war Cinema on Tour in Vavuniya, Killinochchi, Mullaitivu, Kalpitiya, Mannar, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Ampara, Tissamaharama, Monaragala, Hambantota, Matara, Bibile, Kandy, Thalawakelle, Hatton, Nuwaraeliya und Peradeniya zu Gast.


Film Festivals

Agenda 14 Kurzfilm Festival

Das Agenda 14 Kurzfilm Festival wurde 2011 ins Leben gerufen, um die Arbeit junger talentierter Filmemacher*innen in Sri Lanka zu fördern und zu würdigen. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sich das Festival zu einem vollwertigen Filmfestival entwickelt, das Preise in den Kategorien "Best Short Film", "Jury Prize", "Most Gender Sensitive Film", the "Sunila Abeysekera Memorial Human Rights Prize", "Best Animated Short Film", "Green Award for films on environmental themes and acknowledging outstanding performances, screenplays, editing and cinematography" vergibt. Außerdem gibt es den Newcomer/Award "Most Promising Filmmaker", der an eine*n Teilnehmer*in unter 24 Jahren vergeben wird. 


Internationales Jaffna Film Festival

Das Jaffna International Cinema Festival ist eine unabhängige Plattform zur Erforschung zeitgenössischer kreativer Ausdrucksformen im Kino. Das Festival wurde 2015 mit dem Ziel ins Leben gerufen, unabhäniges und alternatives Kino auf der Halbinsel Jaffna zu feiern, die sich derzeit von einem drei Jahrzehnte dauernden bewaffneten Konflikt und Bürgerkrieg erholt. Das Jaffna Cinema Festival versucht mit Hilfe der Kunst Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund zu erreichen und einen Raum zu schaffen, in dem Gemeinschaften durch das Kino miteinander in Kontakt treten und kritisch diskutieren können. Das JaffnaI Cinema Festival ist zu einem wichtigen Ereignis im südasiatischen Kulturkalender geworden und hat als einziges internationales Filmfestival in Sri Lanka, das fünfmal in Folge stattgefunden hat, einen Meilenstein erreicht.

Internationales Frauen Film Festival Colombo 

In den letzten Jahrzehnten wurde international viel über die Unterrepräsentation von Regisseurinnen in den Wettbewerben vieler großer Festivals und die fehlende Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in Bezug auf den Zugang zu Ausbildung, Finanzierung von Filmproduktion, Arbeitsbedingungen und die generelle Einstellung gegenüber Frauen in der Filmindustrie diskutiert. Angesichts dieser Lücke in der srilankischen Filmindustrie hat Agenda 14 zusammen mit einer Gruppe prominenter Produzentinnen, Schauspielerinnen und anderer Branchenexpertinnen im März 2019 ein internationales Filmfestival für Frauen ins Leben gerufen. Bei der Eröffnung des Festivals haben sich die Frauen gegenseitig versprochen dabei zu helfen, die Barrieren in der von Männern dominierten Filmindustrie zu überwinden.

Top