Dance © Ruvin de Silva

Choreography Camp Kalpitiya 2018

The Choreography Camp took place in Kalpitiya from November 25 to December 1, 2018.
Mentored by Sara Mikolai (Germany), Deepak Shivaswamy (India), Venuri Perera (Sri Lanka), Sudesh Mantillake (Sri Lanka), the Choreography Lab has given 16 young dance artists from all over Sri Lanka the opportunity to participate in a 7 -day intensive workshop.

In the daily morning and afternoon workshops of this residency in Kalpitiya, the participants had time to work on themselves and exchange ideas with each other. The focus was on concept development, composition, research, improvisation and contemporary dance. The workshops were composed of practical units as well as reflection and discussion sessions. The main topics of this year's camp were the use of and the relationship to space as well as the conscious perception of sound. Many sessions took place without any music as such, so the participants used the sounds of the surroundings and the sounds they created by their movements as the only background sound.

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva In addition, the participants were supervised in the development process of their respective new work. Throughout the workshops, they had the opportunity to apply what they have learned to their current piece and try different things to further develop their work. In addition, mentoring sessions took place, which further contributed to the individual development processes.

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva Since around half of the group already participated in the choreography camp last year, the question was not so much how to break with traditional dance movements and to find an first access to contemporary approaches and free movement patterns, but rather how to development an own style in the field of contemporary dance and to further develop the field of contemporary dance. So the 2018 Camp can be seen as a continuation of the Choreography Camp 2017.
The communication between the Sinhala- and Tamil-speaking participants worked flawlessly thanks to the simultaneous translation of Nicholas Kirutharshan, Venuri Perera and Sudesh Mantillake.

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva
Participants: M.D.B.L Virajini, S.M. Hapuarachchi, P.K. Kanchana Malshani, Daham Anuradha Disanayaka, W.S.C. Srimali, K.W. Gimantha Charith, S.C.K.B.L.P.P.S. Dharmarathna, H.M.I.L. Herath, J.A.U.L.R. Jayasinghe, H.P.K.U. Kaldera, I.D. Randunu Prabhashwara Jayalal, Mathisaliny Thurairasa, Sellathurai Srikannan, Selvarasa Ragaventhan, A.M. Dilini Madhushika, Hasanthi Niriella

Tanz © Ruvin de Silva

Choreographie Camp Kalpitiya 2018

Das Choreographiecamp fand vom 25. November bis zum 3. Dezember 2018 in Kalpitiya statt.
Betreut von Sara Mikolai (Deutschland), Deepak Shivaswamy (Indien), Venuri Perera (Sri Lanka), Sudesh Mantillake (Sri Lanka) sowie Isuru Kumarasinghe, hat das Choreografie-Lab 16 jungen Tanzschaffenden aus ganz Sri Lanka die Möglichkeit gegeben, an einem 7-tägigen intensiven Workshop teilzunehmen.

In dieser Residenz in Kalpitiya hatten die Teilnehmer*innen in den täglich morgens und nachmittags stattfindenden Workshops Zeit, an sich selbst zu arbeiten und sich miteinander auszutauschen. Sie erlernten Wissen zum Thema Konzeptentwicklung, Komposition, Research, Improvisation und zeitgenössischem Tanz. Die Workshops setzen sich aus praktischen Einheiten sowie inhaltlichen Reflektions- und Diskussionsrunden zusammen. Zu den inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten des diesjährigen Camps zählten der Umgang und die Beziehung zum Raum sowie die bewusste Wahrnehmung von Geräuschen. Viele Einheiten fanden ohne Musik statt, sodass die Teilnehmer*innen die Geräusche der Umgebung und die Geräusche, die sie selbst durch ihre Bewegungen erzeugten, als einzige klangliche Untermalung nutzten. 

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva Außerdem wurden die Teilnehmer*innen in dem Entstehungsprozess ihrer jeweiligen neuen Arbeit betreut. Während der Workshops hatten sie immer wieder die Gelegenheit, das Gelernte auf ihr aktuelles Stück anzuwenden und verschiedene Dinge auszuprobieren, um so ihre aktuelle Arbeit weiter zu entwickeln. Darüber hinaus fanden Mentoring-Einheiten statt, welche weiter zu den individuellen Entwicklungsprozessen beitrugen. 

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva Da rund die Hälfte der Gruppe schon im letzten Jahr am Choreographie Camp teilgenommen hatte,  ging es - anders als im letzten Jahr - weniger darum, nur aus traditionellen Tanzbewegungen zu brechen und zeitgenössische Herangehensweisen und freie Bewegungsmuster zu erlernen, sondern vielmehr um die Entwicklung eines eigenen Stils im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und darum, den Bereich des Contemporary Dances weiter zu erschließen. So kann man das Camp 2018 in gewisser Weise als eine Fortsetzung des Choreographie Camps 2017 betrachten.
Die Kommunikation zwischen den singhalesisch- und tamilsprachigen Teilnehmenden funktionierte dank der simultanen Übersetzung der Dolmetschenden Nicholas Kirutharshan, Venuri Perera sowie Sudesh Mantillake einwandtfrei.

Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 Dance Camp Kalpitiya 2018 | © Ruvin de Silva
Teilnehmer*innen: M.D.B.L Virajini, S.M. Hapuarachchi, P.K. Kanchana Malshani, Daham Anuradha Disanayaka, W.S.C. Srimali, K.W. Gimantha Charith, S.C.K.B.L.P.P.S. Dharmarathna, H.M.I.L. Herath, J.A.U.L.R. Jayasinghe, H.P.K.U. Kaldera, I.D. Randunu Prabhashwara Jayalal, Mathisaliny Thurairasa, Sellathurai Srikannan, Selvarasa Ragaventhan, A.M. Dilini Madhushika, Hasanthi Niriella