Artists in conversation © Colomboscope

Rural Tandem Residencies

This recently launched initiative focuses on artistic research, site-responsive production and durational approaches within contemporary cultural practice through month-long residencies for international and local artists to work together in communities all across the island. 

Invited artists will work closely with community mediators and local practitioners exploring aspects of social memory, oral histories, diasporic narratives, informal pedagogy, sonic archives and traditional arts. Each residency will include an ‘Open Studio’ with accompanying elements such as workshops, live acts, networking dialogues and screenings as part of contextualizing cultural processes for local audience groups and extending the impact generated by Colomboscope Festival. 

The tandem residencies for international and local artists* are financed by the "European Houses of Culture" grant from EUNIC Global as well as regional funds from the Goethe-Institut. Due to the ongoing travel restrictions, Colomboscope has to delay these plans but hopes to still be able to partially manifest them before the festival.

Artists in conversation © Colomboscope

Residenzen für Künstler*innen in ländlichen Regionen Sri Lankas

Diese erst vor Kurzem ins Leben gerufene Initiative konzentriert sich auf künstlerische Forschung, ortsbezogenes Schaffen und langlebige gemeinschaftliche Ansätze innerhalb der zeitgenössischen kulturellen Praxis. 

Internationale und lokale Künstler*innen werden zu einmonatigen Residenzen in verschiedenen Regionen Sri Lankas eingeladen, um zusammen mit lokalen Vermittlern*innen und Praktikern*innen zu von ihnen definierten Forschungsschwerpunkten Aspekte des sozialen Gedächtnisses, der mündlichen Geschichte oder der Diaspora-Erzählungen zu erarbeiten. Jede Residenz wird von einem "Offenem Studio" mit Workshops, Live-Acts, Netzwerk-Dialogen und Filmvorführungen begleitet, um kulturelle Prozesse für lokale Publikumsgruppen zu kontextualisieren und die Wirkung von Colomboscope über die Stadtgrenzen Colombos hinaus zu tragen. 

Die Tandem Residenzen für internationale und lokale Künstler*innen werden durch den EUNIC Fördergrant “European Houses of Culture” sowie über regionale Mittel des Goethe-Instituts finanziert. Aufgrund der anhaltenden Reisebeschränkungen muss Colomboscope diese Pläne etwas nach hinten verschieben. Das Festival hofft aber, dass die Residenzen und Open Studios teilweise noch wie geplant vor dem Festival stattfinden können.