Children`s Book Project © EL BOUM

DRIN - Visions for Children`s Books

Children’s books shape the world view we grow up with. It is important for children to be able to recognize themselves in stories, illustrations and narratives and, at the same time, to learn about the different realities of life around them. Does children’s literature in Germany, Finland and other countries today reflect the increasingly diverse societies in which we live, or does it make a growing proportion of its young population invisible?

ABOUT THE PROJECT

The focus of the project lies on representation regarding children of colour – always with an intersectional approach. With the term “intersectional” we mean the way in which different types of discrimination (i.e. unfair treatment because of racism, sexism, classism, ableism etc.) are linked to and affect each other. As the Black, lesbian poet and activist Audre Lorde put it: “There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-​issue lives.”

Since equal participation is a key question facing increasingly diverse societies, the DRIN project addresses the need to empower and enable everyone to participate in our societies. How can alternative, under-represented narratives, voices and images be introduced? What good examples can we share? And what can the various players in this field – authors, illustrators, publishers, libraries, and readers – learn from each other?

Promoting knowledge exchange, empowerment, networking, capacity building, awareness raising and securing outcomes in a global context are the main objectives of the project. To secure the intended outcomes, based on the project experiences and events, a guide will be developed which will identify needs, list criteria and frame visions for a more plural children’s literature. The guide will keep knowledge transfer going, even after the end of the project. Another goal of the project is book production. Examples of best practice from around the world will also be brought together to create an archive that will provide inspiration for translations and to create more books that reflect the diversity of our societies.

Articles

Events

The “DRIN” project © EL BOUM

Webinar 05. May 2021
DRIN - Visions for Children`s Books

How can alternative, underrepresented narratives, voices and images be introduced into the book market? What good examples can we share? And what can the various actors in this field - authors, illustrators, publishers, libraries and readers - learn from each other?  The Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka is holding an introductory seminar on this subject with international guests.

Kinderbuchprojekt © EL BOUM

DRIN - VISIONEN FÜR KINDERBÜCHER

Kinderbücher prägen das Weltbild, mit dem wir aufwachsen. Für Kinder ist es wichtig, sich in Geschichten, Illustrationen und Erzählweisen wiederfinden zu können und gleichzeitig die Vielfalt an Lebensrealitäten, die sie umgeben, kennen zu lernen. Spiegelt die aktuelle Kinderliteratur in Deutschland und anderen Ländern unsere immer diverseren Gesellschaften wider, oder macht sie einen wachsenden Teil ihrer jungen Bevölkerung unsichtbar?

ZUM PROJEKT

Der Fokus des Projekts liegt auf Repräsentation bezüglich Kinder of Colour – doch stets mit einer intersektionellen Herangehensweise. Mit dem Begriff „intersektionell“ meinen wir die Art und Weise, in der verschiedene Formen der Diskriminierung (z.B. unfaire Behandlung aufgrund von Rassismus, Sexismus, Klassismus, Ableismus usw.) miteinander verbunden sind und sich beeinflussen. Wie es die Schwarze, lesbische Poetin Audre Lorde es beschreibt: „Es gibt keine Ein-Themen-Kämpfe und Auseinandersetzungen, weil wir kein Ein-Themen-Leben führen.“

Die Frage nach gleichberechtigter Teilhabe beschäftigt unsere Länder im Alltag der immer diverseren Gesellschaften. Das Projekt DRIN stellt sich der Notwendigkeit, Ermächtigung und Mitgestaltung aller in unseren Gesellschaften zu ermöglichen. 
Wie lassen sich alternative, unterrepräsentierte Narrative von Stimmen und Bildern einführen? Welche guten Beispiele können wir teilen? Und was können die verschiedenen Akteur*innen in diesem Bereich - Autor*innen, Illustrator*innen, Verlage, Bibliotheken und Leser*innen - voneinander lernen?

Wissensaustausch, Empowerment, Vernetzung, Capacity Building, Bewusstseinsbildung und Ergebnissicherung in einem weltweiten Kontext zu fördern sind die Hauptziele des Projekts. Zur Ergebnissicherung wird aus den Projekterfahrungen und Veranstaltungen ein Guide entwickelt, der Bedürfnisse abfragt, Kriterien listet und Visionen für eine pluralistischere Kinderliteratur zeichnet. Der Guide stellt eine nachhaltige Wissensvermittlung auch nach Projektende sicher. Auch die Buchproduktion ist ein Ziel des Projekts. Zudem sollen Best Practice-Beispiele aus aller Welt zusammengebracht werden, um ein Archiv zu erstellen, das Anregungen für Übersetzungen geben soll sowie für die vermehrte Erstellung von Büchern, die die Vielfalt unserer Gesellschaften widerspiegeln.

Artikel

Veranstaltungen

Das Projekt „DRIN“ © EL BOUM

Webinar 05. Mai 2021
DRIN - Visionen für Kinderbücher

Wie können alternative, unterrepräsentierte Erzählungen, Stimmen und Bilder in den Buchmarkt eingeführt werden? Welche guten Beispiele können wir teilen? Und was können die verschiedenen Akteure auf diesem Gebiet - Autoren, Illustratoren, Verleger, Bibliotheken und Leser - voneinander lernen? Das Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka veranstaltet zu diesem Thema ein Einführungsseminar mit internationalen Gästen.