Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando

Liz Fernando (Mentor)

The second mentor, we want to introduce to you is Liz Fernando (German/Sri Lanka).
“In Sri Lanka, my father’s place of birth, humidity destroys the photographic object in a painful, slow and unstoppable process until it vanishes completely, as though it had never existed. […] It is a story ambiguous and ungraspable, it is the story of the lost photographs of my father’s childhood and also allows space for the viewer to reconnect with his own memories.“
Liz Fernando, a German of Sri Lankan descent, is an award-winning artist and photographer. She holds a degree from the prestigious LCC photography programme at the University of Arts, London. So authentic is her published work “Trincomalee – My father’s stories and the lost photographs” that it has found its way into the permanent private collection of the World Bank Headquarters in Washington D.C.
 
https://lizfernando.com/

Even if sustainability has not been a part in Liz Fernandos art photography, the importance of this topic for Sri Lanka is clear to her.
Through her experience in the field of art photography Liz Fernando was able to offer the participants new perspectives on how the storytelling of a photo series can be compiled in comparison to Andy Spyras journalistic view. Her focus layed on the poetic conception of a photograph, in which the interaction of the individual elements, the function of light and finally the focus on details should carry the story behind the picture.
Through the collaboration of the mentors from two different sectors of photography, the participants were not only challenged during the road trip to find their own visual language, but also encouraged for their career path.
 

  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Photographer Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando

Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando

Liz Fernando (Mentor)

Den zweiten Mentor, den wir Ihnen vorstellen möchten, ist Liz Fernando (Deutsch / Sri Lanka).
"In Sri Lanka, dem Geburtsort meines Vaters, zerstört Feuchtigkeit das fotografische Objekt in einem schmerzhaften, langsamen und unaufhaltsamen Prozess, bis es vollständig verschwindet, als hätte es nie existiert. [...] Es ist eine mehrdeutige Geschichte, es ist die Geschichte der verlorenen Fotos aus der Kindheit meines Vaters und erlaubt dem Betrachter, sich wieder mit seinen eigenen Erinnerungen zu verbinden."
Liz Fernando, eine Deutsche mit srilankischer Abstammung, ist eine preisgekrönte Künstlerin und Fotografin. Sie hat einen Abschluss des renommierten LCC-Fotografie-Programms an der Universität der Künste, London. Ihre veröffentlichte Arbeit "Trincomalee - Die Geschichten meines Vaters und die verlorenen Fotografien" ist so authentisch, dass sie ihren Weg in die Privatsammlung des Weltbank-Hauptquartiers in Washington DC gefunden hat.

https://lizfernando.com/
 
Auch wenn in Ihren Werken Nachhaltigkeit noch keinen Platz gefunden hat, ist Sie sich der Dringlichkeit des Themas für das Land Sri Lanka bewusst.
Liz Fernando konnte durch Ihre Erfahrungen im Bereich der Kunstfotografie den Teilnehmern neue Perspektiven offen legen, wie das Storytelling einer Fotoserie im Vergleich zu Andy Spyras journalistischem Blick zusammengestellt werden kann. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt in der poetischen Konzeption einer Fotografie, indem das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Elemente, die Wirkung von Licht und letztlich der Fokus auf die Liebe zum Detail die Geschichte hinter dem Bild tragen sollen.
Durch die Zusammenarbeit der Mentoren zweier unterschiedlicher Bereiche der Fotografie konnten die Teilnehmer während des Roadtrips bei der Suche nach ihrer eigenen visuellen Sprache nicht nur gefordert, sondern auch in nachhaltiger Sicht gefördert werden.
 

  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando
  • Fotograf Liz Fernando (c) Liz Fernando