Coal Power Plant Norochcholai © Reza Akram

Photographic Journal of a Roadtrip - Workshop

Humanity & Earth launched a photo contest in 2018, which motivated young Sri Lankan photographers to submit work samples on the topic of environmental protection. Andy Spyra and Liz Fernando put together a group of talented young photographers, who were invited to join the Humanity & Earth journey with them.

The photo project began with a theoretical introductory event, led by Andy Spyra and Liz Fernando on storytelling at the Goethe-Institut in Colombo. Then the road trip began, taking the young photographers from Colombo via Kalpitiya to Ella and back to Colombo. From these cities, various stations were visited, which exemplify the influence of human on the environment and thus stimulate discussion about the relationship between human and earth and the issue of sustainability. Among other things, the workshop participants visited the construction site of the artificial land reclamation project Port City, the 2016 collapsed Meethotamulla landfill, an analog forestry project and the area around the coal power plant Norochcholai.

Workflow

During the road trip, the two mentors, Andy Spyra and Liz Fernando, professionally supervised the participants. Every evening there was a joint feedback session with the mentors, during which the shots of the day were viewed. The aim of this joint photo analysis was to recognize and sharpen the visual view of the photographer. At the end of the workshop, the participants should be able to tell their own story about the projects, not only in terms of content, but also with a self-developed visual style. The workshop also allowed young photographers to share their ideas, knowledge and experiences while exploring ecological topics in different regions of the island.

Participants: Tilaxan Tharmapalan, Shehan Obeysekera, Prageeth Wimalarathne, Munira Mutaher, Sandranathan Rubatheesan, Dilanka Bandara, Ramanathan Parilojithan, Tashiya de Mel und Reza Akram 

 

Behind the Scene (c) Andy Spyra

Behind the Scenes

The following pictures are some behind the scenes impressions of the photo workshop.

Kohlekraftwerk Norochcholai © Reza Akram

Photographic Journal of a Roadtrip - Workshop

Humanity & Earth startete 2018 mit einem Fotowettbewerb, der junge sri-lankische Fotoschaffende motivierte, sich mit aussagekräftigen Bildern zum Thema Umweltschutz zu bewerben. Andy Spyra und Liz Fernando stellten auf Grundlage der Bewerbungen eine Gruppe aus talentierten Amateur- und Nachwuchsfotograf*innen zusammen, um sich gemeinsam mit ihnen auf eine Humanity & Earth Reise durch Sri Lanka zu begeben.
 

Das Fotoprojekt begann mit einer theoretischen Einführungsveranstaltung, geleitet von Andy Spyra und Liz Fernando zum Thema Storytelling im Goethe-Institut in Colombo. Anschließend begann der Road Trip, der die jungen Fotograf*innen von Colombo über Kalpitiya nach Ella und zurück nach Colombo führte. Von diesen Städten aus wurden verschiedene Stationen besucht, die exemplarisch für die Einflussnahme des Menschen auf die Umwelt stehen und somit zur Diskussion über die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Erde und das Thema Nachhaltigkeit anregen. So besuchten die Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen unter anderem die Baustelle des künstlichen Landgewinnungsprojekts Port City, die 2016 kollabierte Meethotamulla Mülldeponie, ein Analog Forestry Projekt und die Gegend um das Kohlekraftwerk um Norochcholai.

Ablauf des Workshops

Während des Fotografie Roadtrips wurden die Teilnehmenden professionell durch die beiden Mentoren*innen Andy Spyra und Liz Fernando betreut. Jeden Abend fand eine gemeinsame Feedbackrunde mit den Mentor*innen statt, bei der die Aufnahmen des Tages in einer gemeinsamen Fotoanalyse betrachtet wurden. Ziel dieser gemeinsamen Fotoanalyse war es den visuellen Blick der Fotograf*innen zu erkennen und zu schärfen. Die Teilnehmer*innen sollten am Ende des Workshops in der Lage sein, ihre ganz eigenen Geschichte zu den Projekten erzählen zu können, nicht nur inhaltlich, sondern auch mit einem selbst entwickelten visuellen Stil. Außerdem ermöglichte der Workshop den jungen Fotografen*innen, sich bezüglich ihrer Ideen, ihrem Wissen und ihren Erfahrungen untereinander auszutauschen und gleichzeitig zu ökologischen Themen in verschiedenen Regionen der Insel zu forschen.

Teilnehmer*innen: Tilaxan Tharmapalan, Shehan Obeysekera, Prageeth Wimalarathne, Munira Mutaher, Sandranathan Rubatheesan, Dilanka Bandara, Ramanathan Parilojithan, Tashiya de Mel und Reza Akram 





 

Hinter den Kulissen (c) Andy Spyra

Hinter den Kulissen

Es folgen einige Behind the Scenes Bilder vom ersten Humanity & Earth Workshop.