Building © Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka

Kälam – a space for cultural encounters

As a continuation of the Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka’s diverse efforts to extend cultural activities to the Jaffna Peninsula Kälam – a space for cultural encounters opened its doors on the 18. February 2020 as a new home for experimental cultural actors and events of diverse nature.

This initiative run by independent arts professional Kirutharshan Nicholas aims to build bridges between artists/writers and intellectuals/academics and those involved in all forms of creative activities from Jaffna, Germany and elsewhere. This space will function as an interactive site through exchanges, collaborations, and will support art practitioners who explore imaginative paths beyond traditional horizons.

Kälam is looking to contribute to quenching the thirst for cultural work in the Northern part of Sri Lanka through collaboration with the Goethe-Institut and other partners.

Amongst other activities, Kälam hopes to host photography exhibitions, regular film screenings, thematic symposiums, literary exchanges, artist lead workshops and become a home for dancers and performers who take an interest in contemporary practices.

Kälam is also preparing to establish German language classes in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut to fill an existing gap in the North.

Kälam is a multifaceted Tamil word with many meanings. It is spelled with the German Umlaut ä, to match the Tamil pronunciation.

Kälam

Please click here to watch the Videos
A space for cultural encounters on Youtube
A space for cultural encounters on Facebook

Gebäude © Goethe-Institut Sri Lanka

Kälam – ein Ort für kulturelle Begegnungen

Als Fortsetzung der andauernden Bemühungen des Goethe-Institut Sri Lankas, mit kulturellen Projekten und Programmen zum Kulturaustausch auch auf der Jaffna Halbinsel präsent zu seien, bietet Kälam – ein Ort für kulturelle Begegnungen seit dem 18. Februar 2020 eine neue Heimat für experimentelle Kunst- und Kulturschaffende aller Genres.  

Diese Initiative des unabhängigen Kulturschaffenden Kirutharshan Nicholas will Brücken zwischen Künstlern, Schriftstellern, Intellektuellen und Kreativen aus Jaffna, Deutschland und anderswo bauen. Der Ort will eine interaktive Schnittstelle für Austausch und Kollaborationen sein und besonders jene Kunstschaffende unterstützen, welche Pfade jenseits des traditionellen Horizontes beschreiten.
Kälam möchte den kulturellen Durst des kulturellen Sektors im Norden durch Kollaboration mit dem Goethe-Institut und anderen Partners stillen.

Unter Anderem wird Kälam: Photographieausstellungen präsentieren, Filmvorführungen, thematische Symposien, literarische Begegnungen und künstlergeleitete Workshops veranstalten und Tänzern und Theaterschaffenden mit einem Interesse für zeitgenössische Praxis eine Heimat bieten.
In Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut bereitet Kälam auch deutschen Sprachunterricht vor, um die existierende Lücke im Norden zu schließen.

Das Wort Kälam hat im Tamilischen viele Bedeutungen, durch seine Schreibweise mit dem Umlaut ä wird seine korrekte Aussprache unterstützt und auf den Deutschladbezug des Projektes hingewiesen.      

Kälam

Bitte klicken Sie hier um die Videos anzusehen
Ein Ort für kulturelle Begegnungen auf Youtube
Ein Ort für kulturelle Begegnungen auf Facebook