Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Video interview with Jisung Kim Photo: Goethe-Institut Tokyo

Video interview with Jisung Kim
“Translators are the stagehands in the background”

Jisung Kim was still quite new to the field of literary translation when he agreed to participate in the Social Translating Project. In the interview, he talks about the challenges during his experience of translating Thomas Melle’s “The World at your Back,” and what he has learned through the interaction with the nine other translators. 


About the Social Translating Project

The Merck Social Translating Project is testing a new social practice for literary translation.
Ten translators from Asia are translating a German-language novel into their respective native languages. During the process, they meet in a closed digital forum and work on their translations by interacting with one another and engaging in a close discourse with the author.
 
The project is the first time that an e-book platform with social functions has been used. It allows the users to make marginal notes in the text of an e-book as well for the translators and the author to follow up on each other’s comments. Thomas Melle’s novel Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back) was selected for the first social translating discourse. The novel is being translated into Bengali, Chinese (traditional and simplified), Japanese, Korean, Marathi, Mongolian, Sinhalese, Thai, and Vietnamese. In 2018, the translations and the results of the project will be presented at international book fairs in Asia and at the Frankfurt Book Fair.
 
The Merck Social Translating Project was developed by the Goethe-Institut Korea in partnership with Merck Korea.

Merck Logo

  Seitentrenner 1

Thomas Melle: “The World at Your Back”


THE TRANSLATORS

Ariuntsetseg Ganbold Foto: Ariuntsetseg Ganbold

Mongolia
Ariuntsetseg Ganbold

Jisung Kim Photo: Goethe-Institut Tokyo

Japan
Jisung Kim

Quang Le Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Vietnam
Quang Le

Ki-Sook Lee Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Korea
Ki-Sook Lee

Sunanda Mahajan Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

India
Sunanda Mahajan

Ashani Shalika Ranasinghe Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Sri Lanka
Ashani Shalika Ranasinghe

Subroto Saha Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

India
Subroto Saha

Anchalee Topeongpong Photo: Anchalee Topeongpong

Thailand
Anchalee Topeongpong

Xiliang Shen Photo: Xiliang Shen

China
Xiliang Shen

Meng Ru Yang Photo: Meng Ru Yang

Taiwan
Meng-Ru Yang

Sabine Müller Photo: Sabine Müller

Moderator
Sabine Müller

  Seitentrenner 2

Social Translating: The Blog

The Social Translating Blog

Every day the translators meet in the digital forum on the Internet platform to go over their questions about specific parts of the text, share their impressions, and discuss cultural differences. The blog captures the voices of those involved and sheds light on what the digital forum is all about. The blog posts are available in German, English and Korean.


Partner


With support from

  Seitentrenner 3
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Jisung Kim über "Social Translating" © Goethe-Institut Tokyo

Jisung Kim im Interview
„Übersetzer sind die Bühnenarbeiter im Hintergrund“

Der japanische Übersetzer Jisung Kim ist noch relativ neu im Bereich der literarischen Übersetzung. Im Interview erzählt er von den Herausforderungen bei der Übersetzung von Thomas Melles „Die Welt im Rücken“ und was er aus der Interaktion mit den neun anderen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern lernte.


Über das Social Translating Projekt

Das Merck Social Translating Projekt erprobt eine neue soziale Praxis des literarischen Übersetzens.
Zehn Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer aus Asien übertragen einen deutschsprachigen Roman in ihre jeweiligen Landessprachen, treffen sich dabei in einem geschlossenen digitalen Raum und erarbeiten ihre Übersetzungen im Austausch untereinander sowie im engen Diskurs mit dem Autor.

Im Rahmen des Projektes wird erstmals eine E-Book-Plattform mit sozialen Funktionen genutzt: Sie erlaubt Randnotizen am Text eines E-Books und aufeinander aufbauende Kommentare der beteiligen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer und des Autors. Für den ersten Social Translating Diskurs wurde „Die Welt im Rücken“ von Thomas Melle ausgewählt. Übersetzt wird der Roman in Bengali, Chinesisch (Langzeichen, Kurzzeichen), Japanisch, Koreanisch, Marathi, Mongolisch, Singhalesisch, Thai und Vietnamesisch. Die Übersetzungen und die Ergebnisse des Projektes werden 2018 auf den Podien Internationaler Buchmessen in Asien und auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse vorgestellt.
 
Das Merck Social Translating Projekt wurde vom Goethe-Institut Korea in Partnerschaft mit Merck Korea entwickelt.

Merck Logo 

  Seitentrenner 1

Thomas Melle: „Die Welt im Rücken“


Die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer

Ariuntsetseg Ganbold Foto: privat

Mongolei
Ariuntsetseg Ganbold

Jisung Kim Foto: Goethe-Institut Tokyo

Japan
Jisung Kim

Quang Le Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Vietnam
Quang Le

Ki-Sook Lee Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Korea
Ki-Sook Lee

Sunanda Mahajan Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Indien
Sunanda Mahajan

Ashani Shalika Ranasinghe Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Sri Lanka
Ashani Shalika Ranasinghe

Subroto Saha Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Indien
Subroto Saha

Anchalee Topeongpong Foto: privat

Thailand
Anchalee Topeongpong

Xiliang Shen Foto: privat

China
Xiliang Shen

Meng Ru Yang Foto: privat

Taiwan
Meng-Ru Yang

Sabine Müller Foto: privat

Moderatorin
Sabine Müller

  Seitentrenner 2

Social Translating: der Blog

Social Translating Key Visual

Social Translating: Der Blog

Täglich treffen sich die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer im digitalen Forum auf der Internetplattform, um ihre Fragen zu einzelnen Textstellen zu klären, Eindrücke auszutauschen oder kulturelle Differenzen zu diskutieren. Der Blog fängt Stimmen der Akteure ein und beleuchtet, worum es im digitalen Forum geht. Die Einträge sind in deutscher, englischer und koreanischer Sprache verfügbar.


Partner


Mit Unterstützung von

  Seitentrenner 3
Top