Transforming Bodies

Colombo Dance Platform 2014
(c) Goethe-Institut

This year's edition of the Colombo Dance Platform invites performing artists to focus on the performing body - as it performs through its history, its inheritance, its stories and secrets, its many subjectives and politics.

The theme is an impulse for reflection on the body and its codes. The body is understood neither as essential and singular nor as static.
"The participating artists were invited to produce new work related to the theme of “transforming bodies”. Again the invited dancers are put in the position of researchers, reflecting on their basic tool of expression: the human body." (Björn Ketels: former director of the Goethe-Institut)

Curator: Anna Wagner
Participants: Artists: Akila Palipana, Bandu Manamperi& Godwin Constantine, Eva Priyanka Wegener, Floating Space, Heshma Wignaraja, Mahesh Umagiliya, Priyanthi Anusha, Pradeep Gunarathna, Sellathurai Srikannan, Sumudu Virajini Lenora, Venuri Perera, Wendy Perera & Sulochana Dissanayake

Colombo Dance Platform 2014 Transforming Bodies

Colombo Dance Platform 2014
Colombo Dance Platform 2014 | (c) Goethe-Institut

​Die diesjährige Ausgabe der Colombo Dance Platform lud Performancekünstler ein, sich auf den darstellenden Körper zu konzentrieren - so wie er sich durch seine Geschichte, sein Erbe, seine Geschichten und Geheimnisse ausdrückt.

Das Thema ist ein Impuls zur Reflexion über den Körper und seine verschlüsselte Symbolik. Der Körper wird weder als wesentlich und einzigartig noch als statisch verstanden.
"Die teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen wurden eingeladen, neue Arbeiten zum Thema "Transforming Bodies" zu produzieren. Erneut wurden die eingeladenen TänzerInnen in die Position von ForscherInnen versetzt, die über ihr grundlegendes Werkzeug des Ausdrucks nachdenken: den menschlichen Körper." (Björn Ketels, ehemaliger Institutsleiter)


Kuratorin: Anna Wagner
Es nahmen teil: Akila Palipana, Bandu Manamperi& Godwin Constantine, Eva Priyanka Wegener, Floating Space, Heshma Wignaraja, Mahesh Umagiliya, Priyanthi Anusha, Pradeep Gunarathna, Sellathurai Srikannan, Sumudu Virajini Lenora, Venuri Perera, Wendy Perera & Sulochana Dissanayake