Choreography Camp 2017 Choreography Camp Kalpitiya

Choreography Camp 2017
(c) Malaka Mp

​The Choreography Camp took place in Kalpitiya from the 4th to the 10th of December. 15 dance and theatre university students, choreographers, dance teachers and theatre makers gained new knowledge and practical experience about various developments in choreography. 

​The focus was on: tools for improvisation, composition, butoh, contemporary techniques, concept development, choreology and dramaturgy. The different working sessions were offered by an international and professional team of dancers, choreographers, performers and dramaturgs. Anna Wagner is a German dramaturg and dance curator and former curator of the Colombo Dance Platform 2014. Yuko Kaseki is a Japanese Butoh Dancer, choreographer and teacher based in Berlin. Yuko's presence at the Choreography camp was supported by the Japan Foundation. Sandra Mathern is a teacher, choreography professor and performer from the US, currently lecturing at the University of Colombo as a Fulbright scholar. Mahesh Umagiliya and Venuri Perera are Sri Lankan choreographers, dancing performance artists and lecturers at the University of Colombo. During this week, the participants broke from traditional and restrictive patterns and experienced contemporary methods and approaches to dance and choreography.
The aim was to involve dancers from different regions of Sri Lanka. Therefore, the place was chosen decentralized not in Colombo, but in Kalpitiya. The communication between the English-speaking mentors, the Jaffna Tamil-speaking participants and the Sinhala-speaking participants was successfully facilitated by the simultaneous translation of  Nicholas Kirutharshan, Venuri Perera and Mahesh Umagiliya. The camp made the participants question their definition of dance and develop individual expressions. The participants now want to create a network in which they remain in contact to plan future joint projects and to support each other.

Mentors:

Yuko Kaseki
Anna Wagner
Venuri Perera
Sandra Mathern
Mahesh Umagiliya

Sound: 
Isuru Kumarasinghe

Participants: 
Sellathurai Srikannan, Shalini Thurairasa Mathisalini, Gimantha Charith , Budhdhi Randeniya, Hasanthi Niriella, Namal Bandara, Thilan Dayananda, Kanchana Malshani , Rashmi Jayasinghe, Shanaka Krishantha Fernando , Jayampathi Guruge, K.T.A.Hasani Siwrangi, Sarawanan Zarwan, Rasiah Dhanarajh, Pathum Dharmarthna

Choreography Camp 2017 Choreography Camp Kalpitiya

Choreography Camp 2017
Choreography Camp 2017 | (c) Malaka Mp

​Das Choreographiecamp fand vom 4.-10. Dezember 2017 in Kalpitiya statt. Fünfzehn (traditionell geschulte) Tanz- und Theaterstudierende, ChoreographInnen, TanzlehrerInnen und TheatermacherInnen nahmen teil. 

Sie erlernten Wissen zur Choreographie und zeitgenössischem Tanz in praktischen Übungseinheiten sowie inhaltlichen Reflektions- und Diskussionsrunden. Die Schwerpunkte lagen auf: Improvisation, Komposition, Butoh, zeitgenössische Methoden, Konzeptentwicklung, Choreologie und Dramaturgie. Die verschiedenen Einheiten wurden von einem internationalen professionellen Team aus TänzerInnen, ChoreographInnen, PerformerInnen sowie Dramaturginnen geleitet. Anna Wagner ist eine deutsche Dramaturgin und Tanzkuratorin der Colombo Dance Platform 2014. Yuko Kaseki ist eine japanische Butoh Tänzerin, Choreographin und Lehrerin. Ihre Anwesenheit bei dem Choreography Camp wurde von der Japan Foundation mit unterstützt. Sandra Mathern ist Lehrende, Choreographieprofessorin und Performerin aus den USA, derzeit lehrt sie an der University of Colombo im Rahmen des Fulbright-Programms. Mahesh Umagiliya und Venuri Perera sind Choreographen, Tanzperformancekünstler und Lehrende an der Universität in Colombo.
Essentiell war, dass die Teilnehmenden aus den festen Strukturen ihrer erlernten traditionellen Tanzbewegungen brechen und zeitgenössische Herangehensweisen und freie Bewegungsmuster erlernen.
Dabei wurde intendiert, TänzerInnen aus den verschiedenen Regionen Sri Lankas zusammenzuführen. Daher wurde der Ort dezentral nicht in Colombo, sondern in Kalpitiya gewählt. Die Kommunikation zwischen den englischsprachigen Mentorinnen, den tamilsprachigen Teilnehmenden aus Jaffna und den singhalesischsprachigen Teilnehmenden wurde erfolgreich durch die simultane Übersetzung der dolmetschenden Nicholas Kirutharshan, Venuri Perera sowie Mahesh Umagiliya ermöglicht. Das Camp bewirkte bei den Teilnehmenden, ihre Definition von Tanz zu hinterfragen sowie individuelle Ausdrucksformen zu entwickeln. Die Teilnehmenden möchte nun ein Netzwerk schaffen, in dem sie weiterhin in Kontakt bleiben um zukünftige gemeinsame Projekte zu planen und sich gegenseitig zu unterstützen.


MentorInnen:
Yuko Kaseki
Anna Wagner
Venuri Perera
Sandra Mathern
Mahesh Umagiliya

Klangkünstler: 
Isuru Kumarasinghe

Es nahmen teil: 
Sellathurai Srikannan, Shalini Thurairasa Mathisalini, Gimantha Charith , Budhdhi Randeniya, Hasanthi Niriella, Namal Bandara, Thilan Dayananda, Kanchana Malshani , Rashmi Jayasinghe, Shanaka Krishantha Fernando, Jayampathi Guruge, K.T.A.Hasani Siwrangi, Sarawanan Zarwan, Rasiah Dhanarajh, Pathum Dharmarthna


Nicholas Kirutharshan – tamil translation
Malaka MP - photographer