The Goethe Villa: A new beginning after a hundred years of turbulent history

The new Goethe Villa
©Jan Eickholt

Goethe Villa - Churchill Road Churchill Road in 1910 | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar The colonial residence set in the small park at the end of Kabar Aye Pagoda Road, in colonial times known as Churchill Road, is a particularly splendid example of the private villas which emerged around the 1920s in Rangoon. The final years of the First World War signified the golden, economically most successful era of the city. At the time Yangon was one of the most important ports in the British empire where the riches of Burma - mainly rice, teak and other desirable tropical woods -  were shipped all over the world. The small number of foreign businesspeople – invariably Europeans, Chinese, Indians – who quickly acquired a fortune as in this economic boom built grandiose houses like this one in the green, often jungle-like suburbs of Rangoon. Judging by the coat of arms to be seen on the gable, in our case the owner of the villa was probably a European. Yet as early as early 1920s the house was purchased by the Chinese merchant Chan Chaw Paing who adorned its ground floor with those Chinese stylistic elements which have now been restored to their full glory.

Aung San in Goethe Villa Aung San and the AFPFL working in the villa | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar The major downturn came with the Second World War and the Japanese attack on Yangon and British Burma. In 1942 many rich foreign families fled Rangoon alongside the retreating British army, heading to China and India. The owners of the villa were no exception, and it stood empty until the end of the war. In early 1945 General Aung San turned the house into the headquarters of his independence party, the Antifascist People‘s Freedom League (AFPFL), a coalition between the army and various leftist political groups.

Goethe Villa AFPFL Headquarters The villa as AFPFL headquarters. | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar Until the assassination of Aung San in July 1947 the villa constituted an historical space of paramount discussions and meetings, resulting in the resolutions and demands for complete independence from the colonial government. After being granted independence, and particularly after the split within AFPFL, the house lost its political significance in favour of the new government headquarters, the Secretariat. A few months prior to independence the country’s first prime minister U Nu is said to have lived with his family at the rear end of the house.

  • The old villa © Christian Schink
    The old villa in 2016 before the constructions began.
  • The ground breaking ceremony before the constructions begin... © Maro Verli
  • The monks are blessing the constructions and the new house © Maro Verli
  • The constructions begin... © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
  • In the middle of constructions... © Maro Verli
    In the middle of constructions...
  • The villa under construction © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    The villa under construction
  • The new auditorium under construction © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    The new auditorium under construction
  • The cafeteria under construction © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    The cafeteria under construction
  • The new Goethe Villa ©Jan Eickholt
  • The new building at night © Oliver Gerhartz
    The new building at night
  • The stairway leading up to the new library © Oliver Gerhartz
    The stairway leading up to the new library
  • The entrance to the villa © Oliver Gerhartz
    The entrance to the villa with the old refurbished chinese wall

A new chapter began for the villa with the establishment of the new State Academy of Arts during the first years of General Ne Win’s dictatorship. From 1967until 2006 state-run art education took place in the grand parlour of the villa; the longest acting director was the Dresden-trained sculptor Soe Thint. Several of the famous contemporary artists in Yangon began their careers here. During their studies many lived in the side-tract specially built for this purpose. Today the newly built library and auditorium stand in its place. In 2003 the art academy moved to the building called Lim Chin Tsong Palace and in the newly established University of Arts and Culture in South Dagon. Every now and then the villa still functioned as a venue for exhibitions by the national artists‘ association.

Goethe Villa Opening with Federal President The opening of the Goethe Villa in the presence of Federal President Joachim Gauck in 2014. | © Imelda Taurina Mandala The political opening under President Thein Sein’s reform government provided an opportunity to pursue the old cause of re-opening a Goethe-Institut in Myanmar. The first Goethe-Institut in Yangon was founded in 1959, preceding the institutes in Manila, Jakarta and Bangkok as the first in South-East-Asia. However, it was closed-down only few months after Ne Win’s military coup in 1962. The year of 2012 paved the way for negotiating a cultural agreement between Myanmar and Germany, during which the Minister of Culture at the time, U Aye Myint Kyu, offered the villa, in dire need of renovation, as a future venue for the Goethe-Institut. On February 11 in 2014 a ceremonial opening of the institute took place on the lawn of the villa in the presence of the German Federal President at the time, Joachim Gauck. Then followed negotiations of a long-term lease agreement, the first concerts and art exhibitions of the institute (making it known as the „Goethe Villa“in the Yangon cultural scene), the decision of the German Foreign Office in Berlin to invest several million Euros in the renovation of the historical villa and the construction of three new surrounding buildings, and the inception of the initial planning by the Berlin architecture firm Gerhartz. The construction works, executed by the Yangon firm Tokyo Enterprise, began on November 1 in 2016 and were completed in May 2018. The result is one of the most beautiful Goethe-Instituts among the 160 centres all around the world.

For the old villa this means a new beginning as a place of learning for young Myanmar citizens who wish to prepare for studies in Germany through our language classes and new library, and as a place of cultural encounters and creative exchanges between artists from Myanmar, Germany and Europe.

Die Goethe Villa: Neubeginn nach hundert Jahren bewegter Geschichte

Die neue Goethe Villa
©Jan Eickholt

Goethe Villa - Churchill Road Die Churchill Road 1910 | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar Die koloniale Residenz inmitten des kleinen Parks am Ende der Kabaraye Pagoda Road, die in Kolonialzeiten noch Churchill Road hieß, ist ein besonders prächtiges Beispiel für jene privaten Villen, die um 1920 in Yangon entstanden. Die Jahre am Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs waren die goldene, wirtschaftlich erfolgreichste Ära der Stadt. Yangon war damals einer der bedeutendsten Häfen des britischen Empires, über den die Reichtümer Burmas, allen voran Reis, Teak und andere begehrte Tropenhölzer in alle Welt verschifft wurden. Die kleine Zahl von durchweg ausländischen Geschäftsleuten - Europäer, Chinesen, Inder - denen dieser Boom zu schnellem Reichtum verhalf, bauten sich in den grünen, oft noch dschungelhaften Vororten von Rangun solche großzügigen Häuser. In unserem Fall war der Bauherr der Villa dem Wappen auf dem Giebel nach wohl ein Europäer. Doch schon früh in den 1920er Jahren erwarb der chinesische Kaufmann Chan Chaw Paing das Haus und versah es im Erdgeschoss mit jenen chinesischen Stilelementen, die jetzt nach der Renovierung wieder in ihrer alten Pracht erstrahlen. 

Aung San in Goethe Villa Aung San und die AFPFL bei der Arbeit in der Villa | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar Die große Wende brachte der Zweite Weltkrieg und der Angriff der Japaner auf Yangon und Britisch Burma. 1942 flohen viele der reichen ausländischen Familien Yangons zusammen mit der sich zurückziehenden britischen Armee Richtung China und Indien. So auch die Besitzer der Villa, die nun bis Ende des Krieges leer stand. Im Frühjahr 1945 erklärte General Aung San das Haus zum Büro seiner Unabhängigkeitspartei, der sog. Antifascist People‘s Freedom League (AFPL), jenem Zusammenschluss von Armee und verschiedenen linken politischen Gruppierungen.

Goethe Villa als AFPFL Zentrale Die Villa als AFPFL Zentrale. | © Goethe-Institut Myanmar Bis zur Ermordung Aung Sans im Juli 1947 wurde die Villa damit zum historischen Ort der entscheidenden Diskussionen und Tagungen, aus denen die an die Kolonialregierung gerichteten Beschlüsse und Forderungen nach vollständiger Unabhängigkeit hervorgingen. Nach der Unabhängigkeit und erst Recht nach der Spaltung der AFPFL verlor das Haus seine politische Bedeutung zugunsten des neuen Regierungssitzes im sog. Secretariat. Einige Monate kurz vor der Unabhängigkeit soll der erste Premier U Nu mit seiner Familie im hinteren Teil des Hauses gewohnt haben.

  • Die alte Villa © Christian Schink
    Die alte Villa 2016 vor dem Beginn der Renovierungen.
  • Der erste Spatenstich für die Bauarbeiten der Villa. © Maro Verli
  • Mönche segnen das Gebäude und den Beginn der Arbeiten © Maro Verli
  • Die Arbeiten beginnen... © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
  • Die Bauarbeiten sind in vollem Gange... © Maro Verli
    Die Bauarbeiten sind in vollem Gange...
  • Bauarbeiten an der Villa © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    Bauarbeiten an der Villa
  • Das neue Auditorium entsteht © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    Das neue Auditorium nimmt langsam Form an
  • Die Cafeteria entsteht © Goethe-Institut Myanmar
    Die Cafeteria entsteht
  • Die neue Goethe Villa ©Jan Eickholt
  • Das neue Gebäude bei Nacht © Oliver Gerhartz
    Das neue Gebäude bei Nacht
  • Die Treppe zur neuen Bibliothek © Oliver Gerhartz
    Die Treppe, die zur neuen Bibliothek hinaufführt
  • Der Eingang der Villa © Oliver Gerhartz
    Der Eingang der Villa mit der wunderschönen alten chinesischen Wand

Ein neues Kapitel begann für die Villa mit der Einrichtung der staatlichen Kunstakademie in den ersten Jahren der Diktatur General Ne Wins. Von 1967 bis 2006 fand in den großen Salons des Hauses der staatliche Kunstunterricht statt; der am längsten amtierende Direktor war der in Dresden ausgebildete Bildhauer Soe Thint. Eine ganze Reihe von heute bekannten Künstlern in Yangon begann hier ihre Laufbahn. Viele wohnten für die Zeit des Studiums in dem eigens dafür errichteten Seitentrakt, an dessen Stelle nun der große Neubau für Bibliothek und Auditorium steht. 2003 zog die Kunstakademie in den sog. Chin Chong Palast bzw. in die neuerrichtete University of Arts and Culture in South Dagon. Hin und wieder wurde danach das Gebäude noch vom staatlichen Künstlerverband für Ausstellungen genutzt.

Goethe Villa Eröffnung mit Bundespräsident Die Eröffnung der Goethe Villa 2014 mit Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck. | © Imelda Taurina Mandala Mit der politischen Öffnung unter der Reformregierung Präsident Thein Seins bekam das alte Anliegen, in Myanmar ein Goethe-Institut wieder zu eröffnen, eine Chance auf Verwirklichung. Sein Vorläufer war als erstes deutsches Kulturzentrum in Südostasien – noch vor Manila, Jakarta und Bangkok - bereits 1959 in Yangon gegründet worden, musste aber nur wenige Monate nach Ne Wins Militärputsch im Herbst 1962 bereits wieder schließen. 2012 war der Weg frei für die Verhandlungen über ein Kulturabkommen zwischen Myanmar und Deutschland, in deren Verlauf der damalige Kulturminister U Aye Myint Kyu dem Goethe-Institut die stark renovierungsbedürftige Villa als künftigen Sitz in Yangon anbot. Am 11.Februar 2014 fand auf dem Rasen vor dem Haus die feierliche Eröffnung des Instituts durch den damaligen Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck statt. Es folgten die Verhandlungen um einen langfristigen Mietvertrag, die ersten Konzerte und Kunstausstellungen des Instituts, die dem Haus den spontanen Titel „Goethe-Villa“ in der Yangoner Szene einbrachten, der Beschluss des Auswärtigen Amtes in Berlin, in die Renovierung der historischen Villa und die drei  Neubauten ringsum mehrere Millionen Euro zu investieren und die ersten Planungen durch das Berliner Architekturbüro Gerhartz. Die Bauarbeiten begannen am 01.November 2016, ausgeführt von der Yangoner Firma Tokyo Enterprise und wurden im Mai 2018 beschlossen. Entstanden ist damit eines der schönsten Goethe-Institute unter den 160 Zentren rings um die Welt.

Für die alte Villa bedeutet dies einen Neubeginn zum einen als Ort der Bildung für junge Burmesen, die sich in unseren Sprachkursen und in der neuen Bibliothek auf ein Studium in Deutschland vorbereiten möchten, und zum andern als Ort der kulturellen Begegnung und des kreativen Austauschs zwischen Künstlern aus Myanmar, Deutschland und Europa.