Opening of the Goethe Villa An open house and a centre for cultural learning

Goethe Villa - Goethe team in front of the villa
© Goethe-Institut Myanmar

On 11th of June the Goethe-Institut Myanmar opened its new building. It offers numerous possibilites for cultural exchange and interactive learning. Director Franz Xaver Augustin talks about past difficulties and future chances which the Goethe Villa brings about.

Mr. Augustin, how are you feeling these day after the inauguration?

Franz Xaver Augustin © Thet Htoo Exhausted and deeply grateful! The former because, after all, there was a lot happening over the course of just a few days: The inspection of the villa by the German Foreign Office, which acted as building contractor; the handover of the key by our Secretary General Johannes Ebert; the whole process of moving in (six 40-feet containers full of furniture and technical equipment); the big musical performance which drew some 800 guests – on the only thunder-free evening for past three weeks; and finally the official inauguration with the presence of the Minister of Education of Myanmar, the Chief Minister of Yangon, the Vice President of the German Bundestag Thomas Oppermann, President of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann and many other dignitaries.

Goethe Villa - Ribbon Cutting Ceremony © Thet Htoo On the other hand, I am grateful for many things: For the unique opportunity to not only build a new house for the institute these past 4 years, but to bring together an excellent team of now almost 40 colleagues; for the immeasurable dedication of this team together with the colleagues in our headquarters in Munich during the preparation of the inauguration; for this wonderful building, which was offered to us by the Ministry of Culture and for which the German Federal Foreign Office invested millions of Euros; for the enthusiasm of our many guests at the opening; for the keen attention of the media and the many acknowledgements, which we received from all sides.

What makes this new house so special?

The new building at night © Oliver Gerhartz The villa, which constitutes the very core of our new institute, is approximately 100 years old and briefly played an important role in the history of Myanmar. By the end of the Second World War the previously luxurious residence of European and Chinese businessmen stood empty and was declared the headquarters of General Aung Sans independence movement AFPFL (Antifascist People’s Freedom League) in early 1945. Hence, it was here, in the foyer of the old villa, where AFPFL’s strategy towards the British colonial powers was discussed and which lay the foundation for the prospective Constitution of an independent Myanmar. Later, the building served as a state-run art academy for several decades. In 2005, the academy was moved to a campus on the outskirts of Yangon. Goethe Villa - First Floor © Beatrice Minda During the negotiations over a cultural agreement between our two countries, the Minister of Education in 2013 offered us the villa – albeit at the time decrepit – as our future seat in Yangon. It was agreed upon a long-term, reasonably priced lease agreement in exchange for a commitment to substantially renovate the historical villa. The German Foreign Office then assigned the Berlin Architecture Firm Gerhartz to not only renovate and modernise the old building, but additionally with the task of erecting an entirely new, fairly big building, which was to house a library and an auditorium. Surrounded by a small park and old, large trees, a small complex has been created with the addition of a cafeteria and an annex with a small studio apartment for artist residencies. The architects have managed to maintain a sense of connection between the old and the new. The very careful and therefore particularly complex renovation works of this historical villa harmonise perfectly with the surrounding modern buildings. The old villa continues to constitute the focal point of the compound. The new additions perfectly complement the main building – their facades largely consist of native woods – while at the same time asserting their individual charisma within the overall picture. Together, they form an inviting ensemble of buildings which constitute the new Goethe-Institut, which can surely be counted as one of the most beautiful Institutes in the entire world.
 

  • Goethe Villa - Chinese Wall © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Class Room © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Compound © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - New Building © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Library © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Entrance Hall © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Stairway © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Cafeteria © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Hand Over of the Key © Htoo Tay Zar
  • Goethe Villa - Hand Over of the Key © Htoo Tay Zar
  • Goethe Villa - Buddha © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Monk Ceremony © Thet Htoo
  • Goethe Villa - Monk Ceremony © Thet Htoo
  • Opening of the Goethe Villa - President Lehmann © Thet Htoo
  • Opening of the Goethe Villa - Choir Performance © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Thomas Oppermann © Thet Htoo
  • Opening of the Goethe Villa - Jazz Performance © Thet Htoo
  • Opening of the Goethe Villa - Bamboo Organ © Thet Htoo
  • Opening of the Goethe Villa - Ambassador, Lehmann, U Myo Thein Gyi © Thet Htoo

What opportunities does this new house offer?

Goethe Villa - Monk Ceremony © Thet Htoo After half a century of military dictatorship and virtually systematic neglection of culture and education, Yangon is by far lacking a suitable cultural infrastructure. There is the large, but very run-down national theatre, concerts usually take place in the big hotels, and the more modern cinemas are fairly expensive to rent considering the standard they offer. With 180 seats, a beautiful foyer and, for Yangon, very modern standard technical equipment, our auditorium may not immediately rectify these shortcomings – however, it will become a sought-after place for more moderately sized cultural programmes. The most important advantage it offers is the qualities of a censorship-free space. Within the once again increasingly restrictive political environment, such a space is an essential asset. Undoubtedly, it creates the possibility for unrestricted exchange and independent artistic expression. I see a huge potential for the institute in offering the Goethe Villa – the spontaneous title given to the house during the first months of usage before the renovations began – as an open house, with a clear European profile, as a place for civil debates, and as a centre of cultural learning and encounters.

Goethe Villa - outside © Beatrice Minda The language classes will take place in the spacious parlour of the villa. The immediate challenge will be to fill these on a regular basis. On the one hand, a major task will be to continue with the qualification and expansion of our teaching staff, which has already reached a considerable standard over the course of only 4 years. On the other hand, it will be crucial to make the advantages of Germany as a place for studying known among the young Myanmar citizens. At the moment, people tend to be more oriented towards the English-speaking world. Nonetheless, there is already a growing interest in Germany.

Goethe Villa - Dancers © Thet Htoo The spacious and originally designed library in the new building will primarily focus on offering opportunities for participants of the language classes. From my past experiences from working in Vietnam and Indonesia, I know that most young people also in Yangon struggle to find a calm place to study at home. I am sure this will also make our media room a very attractive place for our visitors.

You mention changes in the political environment in Myanmar. From your perspective, what changes have taken place in the past few years?

Goethe Villa - First floor and stairs © Beatrice Minda The big euphoria which marked the years after the opening of the country in 2011/12 has given way to a clear sense of disillusionment. I am thinking especially of the mass displacement of the Muslim Rohingya minority in Northern Rakhine state, which was felt as a strong blow internationally. The far too high expectations to Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, who has long been worshipped as an icon for human rights, have now widely been replaced by disappointment in the global media. The challenges faced by this country are much greater and complex than what people were ready to acknowledge at the beginning of the democratisation process. There is still a long way to go to find a resolution to the ongoing ethnic conflicts. The conflict taking place on the border to Bangladesh constitutes only one of many and is the most well-known internationally. These conflicts paralyse the country. Much is still left in the hands of the powerful military. Furthermore, it becomes increasingly clear that the democratically elected parts of the government are not really using their political leeway to create more freedoms – on the contrary. Still, authoritarian and patronising tendencies are increasingly palpable, particularly with regard to freedom of expression.

Goethe Team with President Lehmann © Goethe-Institut Myanmar In such an environment, the opening of our new house holds a very special meaning. It is a clear signal that our foreign policy with regard to culture and education opposes the currently indicated developments. It comes at the right time and targets first and foremost the younger generation – to fuel their thirst for education, curiosity and readiness to break away from the strict habits and customs remaining from the time under military rule, and to show the only way to a better future for the country.

Eröffnung der Goethe Villa Ein offenes Haus und ein Zentrum für kulturelles Lernen

Goethe Villa - Team vor Villa
© Goethe-Institut Myanmar

Am 11. Juni eröffnete das Goethe-Institut Myanmar sein neues Gebäude. Es bietet zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für kulturellen Austausch und interaktives Lernen. Institutsleiter Franz Xaver Augustin berichtet über vergangene Schwierigkeiten und künftige Chancen, welche die Goethe-Villa mit sich bringt. 

Wie fühlen Sie sich, Herr Augustin, nach diesen Tagen der Eröffnung?

Franz Xaver Augustin © Thet Htoo Erschöpft und zutiefst dankbar!  Ersteres, weil es halt doch ein bisserl viel auf einmal war in nur wenigen Tagen: Abnahme des neuen Instituts durch den Bauherrn Auswärtiges Amt, Schlüsselübergabe mit unserem Generalsekretär  Johannes Ebert, Einzug und Einräumen (sechs 40-Fuß-Container voller Möbel und Technik), große  Musikperformance am einzigen gewitterfreien Abend der letzten drei Wochen mit circa 800 Gästen und schließlich die offizielle Einweihung mit dem Bildungsminister Myanmars, dem Gouverneur von Yangon, mit Bundestagsvizepräsident Thomas Oppermann, Herrn Lehmann und anderen Honoratioren mehr.

Goethe Villa - Durchschneiden des Bands © Thet Htoo Dankbar hingegen bin ich für vielerlei Dinge: Für die einmalige Chance, in den letzten vier Jahren das neue Institut in Myanmar nicht nur mit einem neuen Haus versehen, sondern ein famoses Team von mittlerweile fast 40 Kolleginnen und Kollegen zusammenbringen zu dürfen – für das wunderbare Gebäude, das uns vom Kulturministerium angeboten wurde, in welches das Auswärtige Amt mehrere Millionen Euro investiert hat – und für die Begeisterung unserer zahlreichen Eröffnungsgäste, für die große Aufmerksamkeit der Medien und für die viele Anerkennung, die wir von allen Seiten erhielten.


Was macht das neue Haus so besonders?
 
Das neue Gebäude bei Nacht © Oliver Gerhartz Die circa 100 Jahre alte Villa, die nun den Kern unseres Instituts bildet, spielte für kurze Zeit eine wichtige Rolle in der Geschichte Myanmars. Die vormals luxuriöse Residenz europäischer und chinesischer Kaufleute stand bei Kriegsende leer und wurde von Aung San im Frühjahr 1945 zum Hauptquartier seiner Unabhängigkeitsbewegung AFPL (Antifaschistische Freiheitsliga des Volkes) erklärt. Es war deshalb hier, in den Salons der alten Villa, wo die Strategie der AFPFL gegenüber der britischen Kolonialmacht diskutiert und die Grundzüge der Verfassung des künftigen freien Staates erarbeitet wurden. Später diente das Gebäude jahrzehntelang als staatliche Kunstakademie, die im Jahr 2005 auf einen Campus am Rand von Yangon zog. Goethe Villa - Obergeschoss © Beatrice Minda Im Verlauf der Verhandlungen um das Kulturabkommen zwischen unseren Ländern bot uns 2013 der Kulturminister das damals sehr heruntergekommene Gebäude als künftigen Sitz an. Vereinbart wurde ein langfristiger, preislich günstiger Mietvertrag gegen die Zusage einer gründlichen Renovierung der historischen Villa. Das Auswärtige Amt beauftragte daraufhin das Berliner Architekturbüro Gerhartz, nicht nur den Altbau herzurichten und zu modernisieren, sondern zusätzlich einen recht großen Neubau für Bibliothek und Auditorium zu errichten. Umgeben von einem kleinen Park mit alten hohen Bäumen entstand ein kleiner Komplex, zu dem auch eine Cafeteria und ein Annex mit einem Wohnstudio für Künstlerresidenzen zählen. Den Architekten gelang eine glückliche Verbindung von Alt und Neu. Die sehr behutsame und gerade deshalb so aufwändige Renovierung des historischen Bestands harmoniert mit den modernen Bauten ringsum auf ideale Weise. Die alte Villa bildet weiterhin den beherrschenden Mittelpunkt. Die neuen Teile passen sich in Form und Material – die Fassaden bestehen weitgehend aus heimischem Holz – dem Hauptbau unter und behaupten dennoch im Gesamteindruck ihren Eigenwert. Es entstand so das sehr einladende Ensemble eines Goethe-Instituts, das man wohl zu den Schönsten zählen darf, die wir weltweit haben.

  • Goethe Villa - Chinesische Wand © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Klassenraum © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Compound © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Neues Gebäude © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Bibliothek © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Foyer © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Treppe © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Cafeteria © Oliver Gerhartz
  • Goethe Villa - Schlüsselübergabe © Htoo Tay Zar
  • Goethe Villa - Anstoßen bei Schlüsselübergabe © Htoo Tay Zar
  • Goethe Villa - Buddha © Beatrice Minda
  • Goethe Villa - Mönchszeremonie © Thet Htoo
  • Goethe Villa - Mönchszeremonie © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Präsident Lehmann © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Auftritt des Chors © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Thomas Oppermann © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Jazzeinlage © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Bambusorgel © Thet Htoo
  • Eröffnung der Goethe Villa - Botschafterin, Lehmann, U Myo Thein Gyi © Thet Htoo


Welche Chancen bietet dieses neue Haus?  
 
Goethe Villa - Mönchszeremonie © Thet Htoo Nach einem halben Jahrhundert Militärdiktatur und einer geradezu systematischen Vernachlässigung von Kultur und Bildung fehlt in Yangon weitgehend eine brauchbare kulturelle Infrastruktur. Es gibt das riesige, aber sehr heruntergekommene Nationaltheater, Konzerte finden meist in den großen Hotels statt und die besseren Kinos sind im Verhältnis zur Leistung extrem teuer anzumieten. Unser Auditorium mit seinen 180 Sitzplätzen, seiner für Yangon außergewöhnlichen Saaltechnik und dem schönen Foyer wird diese Defizite nicht auf einen Schlag beheben können, doch dürfte es vor allem für Kulturprogramme kleineren und mittleren Formats bald zu einem sehr gefragten Ort werden. Der wichtigste Vorzug aber, den es bietet, ist seine Qualität als zensurfreier Raum. Unter den sich schon wieder verengenden politischen Rahmenbedingungen Myanmars ist dies von unschätzbarem Wert. Die Möglichkeiten, die sich daraus für ungehinderten Austausch und unabhängigen künstlerischen Ausdruck ergeben, liegen auf der Hand. Die Goethe-Villa – so der spontane Titel, den uns die Kulturszene der Stadt in den Monaten der ersten Nutzung vor der Renovierung zuwies – als ein denkbar offenes Haus anzubieten mit einem auch klar europäischen Profil, als Ort ziviler Debatten, als Zentrum des kulturellen Lernens und Begegnens, darin sehe ich das große Potential des neuen Instituts.

Goethe Villa - außen © Beatrice Minda Die Sprachkurse werden wir in den großen Salons der Villa unterbringen. Diese regelmäßig zu füllen, wird eine der Herausforderungen der nächsten Zeit sein. Zum einen gilt es das noch junge und kleine Kollegium von Deutschlehrenden, das sich in den ersten vier Jahren bereits auf sehr beachtliches Niveau entwickelt hat, weiter zu qualifizieren und zu vergrößern. Zum anderen wird es darauf ankommen, die Vorzüge des Studienstandorts Deutschland bei den jungen Burmesen bekannt zu machen. Im Moment dominiert hier noch eindeutig die Blickrichtung auf den angelsächsischen Raum. Doch zeichnet sich bereits jetzt ab, dass auch in Myanmar das Interesse an Deutschland wächst.


Goethe Villa - Tänzer © Thet Htoo Die geräumige und sehr originell gestaltete Bibliothek im Neubau werden wir in erster Linie auf Angebote für die Teilnehmenden an den Sprachkursen ausrichten. Von meinen Erfahrungen in Vietnam und Indonesien weiß ich, dass auch hier in Yangon den meisten jungen Menschen zu Hause kein ruhiger Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung steht. Ich bin sicher, dies wird auch unseren Medienraum zu einem besonders attraktiven Platz machen.



Sie sprechen von den sich ändernden politischen Rahmenbedingungen in Myanmar. Wie haben sich diese in den letzten Jahren aus Ihrer Sicht verändert?  
 
Goethe Villa - Obergeschoss und Treppe © Beatrice Minda Die große Euphorie, die zunächst an die Öffnung des Landes nach 2011/12 knüpfte, ist einer deutlichen Ernüchterung gewichen.  International besonders spürbar wurde dies im Zusammenhang mit der massenhaften Vertreibung der muslimischen Minderheit der Rohingyias aus dem nördlichen Rakhine-Staat. Die viel zu hohen Erwartungen an die lange als Menschenrechtsikone verehrte Aung San Su Kyi machten nicht nur in den Weltmedien weitgehender Enttäuschung Platz. Die Probleme des Landes sind gewaltig und vielschichtiger, als man dies zu Beginn der Demokratisierung hatte wahrnehmen wollen. Vor allem die ethnischen Konflikte, von denen der an der Grenze zu Bangladesch nur einer von vielen und der international bekannteste ist, sind weit entfernt von Lösungen. Sie lähmen das Land. Vieles ist dem nach wie vor mächtigen Militär anzulasten, doch wird daneben immer deutlicher, dass auch die demokratisch gewählten Teile der Regierung ihre Spielräume, mehr Freiheiten zuzulassen, keineswegs nutzen - im Gegenteil. Auch hier sind eindeutig autoritäre und bevormundende Tendenzen immer spürbarer, vor allem im Hinblick auf die Meinungsfreiheit.

Goethe Team mit Präsident Lehmann © Goethe-Institut Myanmar Vor diesem Hintergrund hat die Eröffnung unseres neuen Hauses eine besondere Signalfunktion. Sie ist ein deutliches Zeichen unserer auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik, das gegenläufig zu den angedeuteten Entwicklungen ist. Es kommt zur rechten Zeit und richtet sich vor allem an die junge Generation, deren Bildungshunger, Neugier und Bereitschaft mit den aus der Diktatur stammenden Gepflogenheiten zu brechen, den einzigen Weg in eine bessere Zukunft des Landes weisen.