Beatrice Minda
Images of Myanmar

  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    The German photo artist Beatrice Minda focuses her work on interior spaces. This project took her to Iran and before that to her home country Romania, where she spent her childhood within the German minority community. Also in Myanmar people opened their doors and allowed her to look into their houses.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    The private home is a safe haven, a place of retreat. The Burmese home too offers refuge, however fragile, against influences from the outside.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    If you take a look at a living space you will always find traces of its residents. Minda searches for these traces without being intrusive or revealing something private. Her photographs are not voyeuristic, and show instead the perspective of a quiet observer.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Through the interplay between what she sees in a room and what she knows about it and its residents Minda creates a vivid atmosphere in her pictures. A deeper image of the place emerges which gives the observer a certain inkling of its essence, although he can only guess the story behind it.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Space and time are inseparably entwined in Minda’s photographs. Time leaves its marks on the rooms, be it in the shapes of the peeling wall paint, the dust or the cobwebs. In a way, the room turns into a time capsule which absorbs the past and holds onto it.

Beatrice Minda
Myanmars Bilderwelten

  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Die deutsche Fotokünstlerin Beatrice Minda beschäftigt sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Innenräumen. Ihr Projekt führte sie dabei vor allem in ihr Heimatland Rumänien und in den Iran. Doch auch in Myanmar haben ihr Leute die Tür geöffnet und sie in ihre Häuser blicken lassen.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Das eigene Heim dient dem Menschen als Rückzugsort. Auch das burmesische Heim bietet einen Schutzraum gegen Einflüsse von außen, wenn auch nur einen fragilen.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Betrachtet man einen Wohnraum, zeigt sich darin auch immer eine Spur des Bewohners. Minda geht dieser nach, ohne zu aufdringlich zu sein und Privates zu enthüllen. Ihre Bilder sind nicht voyeuristisch, sondern zeigen vielmehr die Perspektive eines stillen Betrachters.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Im Zusammenspiel mit dem Raum, den sie vor sich sieht und dem, was sie über ihn und seine Bewohner weiß, kreiert Minda die eindringliche Atmosphäre der Bilder. So entsteht ein Gesamtbild des Ortes, das dem Betrachter eine gewisse Ahnung seines Wesens gibt, auch wenn er seine Geschichte nur vermuten kann.
  • Photolectures Beatrice Minda Foto: Beatrice Minda
    Ort und Zeit sind auf Mindas Bildern untrennbar miteinander verknüpft. Die Zeit hinterlässt Spuren in den Räumen, sei es in Formen von abgeblätterter Farbe, Staub oder Spinnweben. Der Ort wird so zu einer Art Zeitkapsel, die die Vergangenheit aufnimmt und festhält.