Exhibition Burmese Photographers

Burmese Photographers © Lukas Birk

Sun, 18.02.2018 -
Sun, 11.03.2018

The Secretariat

Thein Pyu Road

On the History of Photography in Myanmar

The first photographs in Myanmar were taken more than 150 years ago. With the colonial rulers came the first cameras. Bringing the new technology to the country, the Europeans soon began to use it for commercial purposes. The photographic perspective on the newly conquered colony was necessarily that of foreigners. The photos they made matched their interests, preferences and expectations, and of course those of the viewers and buyers of these pictures, especially those ‘at home’ in Europe. The photos were steeped in the search for the exotic, the bizarre and the alien in the Asian “possessions”. The foreigners saw and captured what they wanted to see, and projected their own wishes and desires on the land and its people. In this regard, the photographic “mapping” of Burma was a small part of the colonial appropriation of the world by the European powers.  Even today, the effects of a perspective oriented towards the exotic are evident, be it in the brochures of travel agencies, in the many nostalgic photobooks (including those of Myanmar photographers), or of course, in the uncountable pictures brought home from Myanmar by tourists year after year.

Whereas the early photographs from the colonial period are relatively well preserved and documented, unfortunately the same cannot be said of the first works by Burmese photographers. They too soon discovered the new medium and began using it to capture their view of their country. Since around 1910, a small scene of Burmese photographers emerged. They developed their own definition and photographic interpretation of Myanmar’s reality, and hesitantly their works broke away from the powerful standard set by the “colonial gaze”, replacing it with their own perspectives and motives.

Lukas Birk’s extensive research traces exactly this slow, but growingly insistent emergence of an autonomous Burmese imagery, and represents the first attempt to systematically address the topic of independent Myanmar photography. The young curator neither tries nor wishes to raise a claim of completeness in his collection. Yet, to date, no one else has searched as many archives and private collections for especially significant and valuable photographs. This way the first outline of the history of Myanmar post-colonial photography has taken shape.

As Lukas Birk is himself a photographer, he has a distinct sense for quality in his historical research. Over the years, he has undertaken similar pioneering works in other Asian countries (Pakistan, Afghanistan, India, China). The expertise gained from these experiences has enabled him to uncover this highly interesting, yet barely researched, photographic treasure of Myanmar. This has not only resulted in this grand exhibition in the so-called Secretariat in Yangon, but also in a comprehensive book. The latter will initially be published in Burmese and is later to be followed by an English publication.

Both - exhibition and book - are another contribution of the Goethe-Institut to a culture of collective memory in Myanmar. The show takes place within the framework of the Yangon Photo Festival 2018.  It is a collaboration with the artist collective Pyinsa Rasa and the Anawmar Art Group and represents the first step in an initiative to use the Secretariat as a permanent cultural space for the future benefit of the city.
 

Back

Ausstellung Burmesische Fotografen

Burmesische Fotografen © Lukas Birk

So, 18.02.2018 -
So, 11.03.2018

The Secretariat

Thein Phyu Road
Yangon

Zur Geschichte der Fotografie in Myanmar

Die ersten Fotografien in Myanmar entstanden vor mehr als 150 Jahren. Mit den Kolonialherren kamen die Kameras. Es waren Europäer, die die neue Technologie mitbrachten und bald auch kommerziell nutzten. Ihr fotografischer Blick auf das unterworfene Land war der von Fremden. Die Bilder, die sie machten, entsprachen notwendigerweise ihren Interessen, Vorlieben und Erwartungen und denen der Betrachter und Käufer ihrer Fotos vor Ort und mehr noch im fernen Europa. Die Aufnahmen waren durchdrungen von der Suche nach Exotik und dem Reiz des Fremden und weniger vom Bemühen um ein systematisches Abbilden der Wirklichkeit. Man sah und nahm auf, was man sehen wollte und projektierte von außen die eigenen Wünsche und Sehnsüchte auf Land und Menschen. Bis heute wirkt diese auf Exotik gerichtete Perspektive nach:  in den Prospekten der Reiseveranstalter, in vielen nostalgischen Fotobüchern (auch solchen von burmesischen Fotografen) und natürlich in den unzähligen Bildern, welche die Touristen jedes Jahr aus Myanmar mit nach Hause nehmen.
 
Bezeichnenderweise sind die frühen Fotografien aus der Kolonialzeit, die Europäer und bald auch Inder in Myanmar machten, recht gut erhalten und dokumentiert. Dies gilt jedoch leider gar nicht für die frühen Aufnahmen von burmesischen Fotografen. Natürlich entdeckten auch sie bald das neue Medium für sich und begannen es für ihre eigene Sicht auf ihr Land zu nutzen. Seit etwa 1910 entstand allmählich eine im engeren Sinn burmesische Fotografie. An die Stelle des fremden Blicks trat eine eigene Definition und fotografische Interpretation der Wirklichkeit Myanmars. Langsam und zögerlich lösten sich diese ersten burmesischen Fotoarbeiten von den mächtigen Vorbildern des „kolonialen Blicks“ und entwickelten ihre eigenen Sichtweisen und Motive.
 
Genau dieses anfangs zögerliche, schließlich immer selbstbewusstere Entstehen einer eigenständigen burmesischen Bildsprache zeichnet die umfangreiche Recherche von Lukas Birk nach. Er unternimmt tatsächlich zum ersten Mal den Versuch, sich dem Thema systematisch zu nähern. Den Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit kann und will der junge Kurator nicht erheben, doch hat bisher noch kein anderer so viele Archive und private Sammlungen in Myanmar auf besonders signifikante und hochwertige Bilder durchstöbert. Auf diese Weise entstand der Umriss einer Geschichte der burmesischen nachkolonialen Fotografie.
 
Lukas Birk ist selbst Fotograf und verfügt daher bei seinen historischen Forschungen über ein entsprechendes Gespür für Qualität. Ähnliche Pionierarbeit hat er bereits in anderen Ländern Asiens (Pakistan, Afghanistan, Indien, China) geleistet und diese Erfahrungen nun auf den in fotografischer Hinsicht besonders interessanten, bisher aber kaum erforschten Bilderschatz Myanmars übertragen. Entstanden ist dabei nicht nur die große Ausstellung im Secretariat in Yangon, sondern auch ein umfangreiches Buch, das wir zunächst auf burmesisch, später auch in Englisch herausbringen möchten.
 
Beides – die Ausstellung wie das Buch – sind ein weiterer Beitrag des Goethe-Instituts zu einer Kultur des kollektiven Erinnerns in Myanmar. Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen des Yangon Photo Festivals 2018 statt. Sie wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstkollektiv Pyinsa Rasa und der Anawmar Art Group gezeigt und stellt den Auftakt einer Initiative dar, das Secretariat als einen dauerhaften Ort der Kunst und Kultur in Yangon zu etablieren.
 

Zurück