Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Digitally confident Header© ZKM Karlsruhe

Digital Souverän

How do we assert ourselves in the digital society? Which tools do we have to master, which skills do we have to learn? ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe and the Goethe-Institut provide answers. Digital Confident provides food for thought and supports self-determined trade.

exhibition experiment „Open Codes“, 2017/ 2018 Photo: Anne-Sophie Stolz © ZKM Karlsruhe

Editorial by Peter Weibel
Democracy needs thinkers – how we learn to rethink in a digital world

In the future we will need digitally sovereign and culturally competent citizens. Because democracy needs thinking! That is why Peter Weibel, artistic-scientific director of the ZKM Karlsruhe, calls for new educational, social and democratic movements to be initiated and for museums to become places of free citizenship education.


Digitally confident: how it works

Have you ever wondered what personal data you have already disclosed online today? What information Internet companies have collected about you? You don't know? Then you're like most of us. Nevertheless, it is crucial to know what risks you are being exposed to and how you can protect yourself against them. Confidence means taking responsibility - digitally as well. It sounds exhausting, but it's not that difficult!

  • <b>Do you feel the same way? </b>While we navigate the Internet and popular software like a fish in water, we are sometimes completely in the dark about what the mechanisms behind it look like. What footprints are we leaving behind? Who can read them? And what decisions hinge on this? <i>Text: Tapping in digital darkness</i> graphicrecording.cool
    Do you feel the same way? While we navigate the Internet and popular software like a fish in water, we are sometimes completely in the dark about what the mechanisms behind it look like. What footprints are we leaving behind? Who can read them? And what decisions hinge on this? Text: Tapping in digital darkness
  • <b>But a lot in our lives has long since hinged on this:</b> Whether Google search results or the newspaper articles we are shown - everything is tailored to our personal data profile. Our data is used to influence our decisions and thus even election results. Whether we get a loan, an apartment or a job may depend on the information available about us. <i>Text: How shall I protect myself? Do I care?</i> graphicrecording.cool
    But a lot in our lives has long since hinged on this: Whether Google search results or the newspaper articles we are shown - everything is tailored to our personal data profile. Our data is used to influence our decisions and thus even election results. Whether we get a loan, an apartment or a job may depend on the information available about us. Text: How shall I protect myself? Do I care?
  • <b>The key: Thinking things through and questioning.</b> But not all information on the Web is neutral. What information is relevant for me? Where does it come from and what interests are behind it? If you don't think for yourself, others will decide for you - and only seldom for your own benefit. <i>Text: Think? Other people do it for me…</i> graphicrecording.cool
    The key: Thinking things through and questioning. But not all information on the Web is neutral. What information is relevant for me? Where does it come from and what interests are behind it? If you don't think for yourself, others will decide for you - and only seldom for your own benefit. Text: Think? Other people do it for me…
  • <b>There's plenty of information and knowledge out there.</b> Only those who are sufficiently informed can have a responsible voice. This has seldom seemed easier than it is today: vast amounts of knowledge and background information are available to everyone on the Internet free of charge. <i>Text: Free knowledge</i> graphicrecording.cool
    There's plenty of information and knowledge out there. Only those who are sufficiently informed can have a responsible voice. This has seldom seemed easier than it is today: vast amounts of knowledge and background information are available to everyone on the Internet free of charge. Text: Free knowledge
  • <b>What Kant already knew:</b> "Have the courage to use your own intellect!" What was true then is no less true today: an empowered citizen thinks for him- or herself. More than ever, it is important to question the information we receive, as well as ourselves and our attitudes again and again. <i>Text: Dare to know!   Intelligence  “Dig in!”</i> graphicrecording.cool
    What Kant already knew: "Have the courage to use your own intellect!" What was true then is no less true today: an empowered citizen thinks for him- or herself. More than ever, it is important to question the information we receive, as well as ourselves and our attitudes again and again. Text: Dare to know! Intelligence “Dig in!”
  • <b>Only the well-informed can have a voice.</b> The digital world is changing. In order to stay up to date and have a voice, we have to keep ourselves informed and educated. Education is participation, and participation is the common good. <i>Text: Education Is Participation</i> graphicrecording.cool
    Only the well-informed can have a voice. The digital world is changing. In order to stay up to date and have a voice, we have to keep ourselves informed and educated. Education is participation, and participation is the common good. Text: Education Is Participation
  • <b>Social commitment must become routine.</b> Do I consent to having self-driving cars in my city? Should artificial intelligence be allowed to make state decisions? Do I want to give companies power over my data? We should not shy away from these questions: social commitment must become routine. <i>Text: Social commitment? – Routine </i> graphicrecording.cool
    Social commitment must become routine. Do I consent to having self-driving cars in my city? Should artificial intelligence be allowed to make state decisions? Do I want to give companies power over my data? We should not shy away from these questions: social commitment must become routine. Text: Social commitment? – Routine
  • <b>Digital empowerment is also a part of this. </b>Anyone who is not concerned today about the opportunities and dangers of the digital world runs the risk of losing influence on an aspect of social life. Only those who understand and are able to interpret contexts can be involved in shaping the digital world. <i>Text: No confidence without digital confidence</i> graphicrecording.cool
    Digital empowerment is also a part of this. Anyone who is not concerned today about the opportunities and dangers of the digital world runs the risk of losing influence on an aspect of social life. Only those who understand and are able to interpret contexts can be involved in shaping the digital world. Text: No confidence without digital confidence
Matthieu Cherubini’s VR game “35,000 Feet“ simulates a flight over Syria. Photo (detail): © Matthieu Cherubini, 2017

Artificial intelligence and art
Seven artists breathe life into algorithms

They make algorithms dance and breathe life into software: Artists working with artificial intelligence are exploring and blurring the distinctions between man and machine. Fans of the sci-fi series “Black Mirror” will love these artists. 

Crossing a red light: Traffic offenders in China are named and shamed. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild/Klaus Grabowski

Algorithmic Governance
Total surveillance

Algorithms that reward or penalise the citizens of a country on the basis of collated data – in places like China and India, “algorithmic governance” has long been a reality. But even in Germany, computer software already takes decisions that have consequences for many people’s lives.

Model ADA GH5 humanoid robots in Turkey. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/AA/Ahmet Akbiyik

Industry 4.0
The end of human labour?

The next industrial revolution is just around the corner: Industry 4.0 describes the increasing automatization of production and logistics. Today the smallest computers can control huge machines and systems and are replacing more and more people.

Artificial Intelligence Photo (detail): © Adobe

Artificial Intelligence
Master or Minion?

Will Artificial Intelligence rule humanity at some point? – On the insurmountable distinctions between humans and machines. An essay by Peter Glaser.


More on the topic

Rayk Anders and his research team for the documentary “Lösch Dich. So organisiert ist der Hate im Netz”(Delete yourself. Organised hate on the Internet) commissioned by German broadcasters (ARD/ZDF). Photo (detail): © Paul Ruben Mundthal

Spreading hate on the Internet
“The three of us can make it seem like there are hundreds of us”

In their documentary “Lösch Dich. So organisiert ist der Hate im Netz” (Delete yourself. Organised hate on the Internet), YouTuber Rayk Anders and his team investigate how Internet trolls use hate to promote their political aims.

More and more women are working in gaming. Photo (detail): © Adobe

Women in the gaming industry
“You haven’t noticed us? Then you need to improve your network!”

Computer game development and programming was once a field largely dominated by men. But there is a sea change underway: we spoke to five women from the gaming industry.

Darknet desemnează zonele protejate ale internetului - utilizatorul fiind acela care determină pentru ce le folosește Foto (detaliu): © Adobe

Darknet
Redeeming the darknet in five examples

The darknet is often seen as the Cain to the internet’s Abel, as a hub for weapons and drugs and a paradise for paedophiles and terrorists. But, as it turns out, it’s not really so dark after all.


Goethe-Institut initiatives worldwide

How to read Social Media © Goethe-Institut Moskau

The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?

Dealing confidently with digital information sources: "The Earth Is Flat - How to Read Media? by the Goethe-Institut Moscow supports young people, teachers and media experts in exactly this respect.

Open Data Indonesien © Dwi Rahmanto

Access for all: Open Data

Government agencies publish data, members of the public can use them for their own purposes: this is the central concept behind the open data movement internationally. The Goethe-Institut Indonesia presents ways in which a culture of publically accessible data can emerge in Southeast Asia.

P3M5 © Goethe-Institut USA

Data Privacy in Five Minutes

What do the private sphere and data privacy mean in the digital age? The theatre project P3M5, initiated by the Goethe-Institut USA, revolves around this question. Dramatists from the USA and Europe present their answers in 5-minute films.


Cooperation with ZKM worldwide


A co-production of

Responsible for project

ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe
Stefanie Strigl Digital Communication
Regina Hock Press Officer

Goethe-Institut
Christine Ruhland Online Editor

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Digital Souverän Aufmacher © ZKM Karlsruhe

Digital Souverän

Wie behaupten wir uns in der digitalen Gesellschaft? Welche Tools müssen wir beherrschen, welche Fähigkeiten lernen? Das ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe und das Goethe-Institut liefern gemeinsam Antworten. Digital Souverän gibt Denkanstöße und unterstützt selbstbestimmtes Handeln.

Ausstellungsexperiment „Open Codes“, 2017/ 2018 Foto: Anne-Sophie Stolz © ZKM Karlsruhe

Leitartikel von Peter Weibel
Demokratie braucht Denken – wie wir in einer digitalen Welt neu denken lernen

Wir brauchen in Zukunft digital souveräne und kulturell kompetente Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Denn Demokratie braucht Denken! Deshalb fordert Peter Weibel, Vorstand des ZKM Karlsruhe, neue bildungspolitische, soziale und demokratische Bewegungen zu initiieren und Museen zu Orten der kostenlosen Bürgerbildung zu machen.


Digital Souverän: So geht's

Haben Sie sich einmal gefragt, welche persönlichen Daten Sie heute schon online weitergegeben haben? Welche Informationen Internetfirmen über Sie gesammelt haben? Wissen Sie nicht? Dann geht es Ihnen wie den meisten von uns. Dennoch ist es entscheidend zu wissen, welchen Risiken man sich aussetzt, und wie man sich davor schützen kann. Mündigkeit bedeutet, Verantwortung zu übernehmen – auch digital. Das klingt anstrengend, ist aber gar nicht so schwer!

  • <b>Geht es Ihnen auch so? </b>Während wir uns im Internet und in gängigen Softwares bewegen wie ein Fisch im Wasser, tappen wir teils völlig im Dunkeln darüber, wie die Mechanismen dahinter aussehen. Welche Spuren hinterlassen wir? Wer kann sie lesen? Und welche Entscheidungen hängen davon ab? graphicrecording.cool
    Geht es Ihnen auch so? Während wir uns im Internet und in gängigen Softwares bewegen wie ein Fisch im Wasser, tappen wir teils völlig im Dunkeln darüber, wie die Mechanismen dahinter aussehen. Welche Spuren hinterlassen wir? Wer kann sie lesen? Und welche Entscheidungen hängen davon ab?
  • <b>Dabei hängt in unserem Leben längst einiges davon ab: </b>Ob Google-Suchergebnis oder die Zeitungsartikel, die uns eingeblendet werden – alles ist auf unser persönliches Datenprofil zugeschnitten. Unsere Daten werden genutzt, um unsere Entscheidungen und damit sogar Wahlergebnisse zu beeinflussen. Ob wir einen Kredit, eine Wohnung oder einen Job bekommen, kann von den Informationen abhängen, die über uns verfügbar sind. graphicrecording.cool
    Dabei hängt in unserem Leben längst einiges davon ab: Ob Google-Suchergebnis oder die Zeitungsartikel, die uns eingeblendet werden – alles ist auf unser persönliches Datenprofil zugeschnitten. Unsere Daten werden genutzt, um unsere Entscheidungen und damit sogar Wahlergebnisse zu beeinflussen. Ob wir einen Kredit, eine Wohnung oder einen Job bekommen, kann von den Informationen abhängen, die über uns verfügbar sind.
  • <b>Der Schlüssel: Mitdenken und hinterfragen. </b><br>Doch nicht alle Informationen im Netz sind neutral. Welche Informationen sind für mich relevant? Wo kommen sie her und welche Interessen stehen dahinter? Wer nicht selbst mitdenkt, für den entscheiden andere – und das nur selten zum eigenen Wohl. graphicrecording.cool
    Der Schlüssel: Mitdenken und hinterfragen. Doch nicht alle Informationen im Netz sind neutral. Welche Informationen sind für mich relevant? Wo kommen sie her und welche Interessen stehen dahinter? Wer nicht selbst mitdenkt, für den entscheiden andere – und das nur selten zum eigenen Wohl.
  • <b>Information und Wissen gibt es genug.</b> Verantwortungsvoll mitbestimmen kann nur, wer sich ausreichend informiert. Das schien selten einfacher als heute: Unmengen an Wissen und Hintergrundinformationen sind im Netz kostenfrei für jeden verfügbar. graphicrecording.cool
    Information und Wissen gibt es genug. Verantwortungsvoll mitbestimmen kann nur, wer sich ausreichend informiert. Das schien selten einfacher als heute: Unmengen an Wissen und Hintergrundinformationen sind im Netz kostenfrei für jeden verfügbar.
  • <b>Was Kant schon wusste: </b>Habe Mut, dich deines eigenen Verstandes zu bedienen! Was damals galt, gilt heute nicht minder: Ein mündiger Bürger denkt mit. Mehr denn je ist es wichtig, sowohl die Informationen, die wir bekommen, als auch uns selbst und unsere Haltungen immer wieder zu hinterfragen. Wer erhält mehr Macht dadurch, dass ich kostenlose Dienste nutze? Wem schade ich, wenn ich Informationen preisgebe? graphicrecording.cool
    Was Kant schon wusste: Habe Mut, dich deines eigenen Verstandes zu bedienen! Was damals galt, gilt heute nicht minder: Ein mündiger Bürger denkt mit. Mehr denn je ist es wichtig, sowohl die Informationen, die wir bekommen, als auch uns selbst und unsere Haltungen immer wieder zu hinterfragen. Wer erhält mehr Macht dadurch, dass ich kostenlose Dienste nutze? Wem schade ich, wenn ich Informationen preisgebe?
  • <b>Nur wer Bescheid weiß, kann mitreden. </b>Die digitale Welt verändert sich rasant. Um Up-to-date zu bleiben und mitreden zu können, müssen wir uns kontinuierlich informieren und weiterbilden. Bildung ist Teilhabe, und Teilhabe ist Gemeinwohl. graphicrecording.cool
    Nur wer Bescheid weiß, kann mitreden. Die digitale Welt verändert sich rasant. Um Up-to-date zu bleiben und mitreden zu können, müssen wir uns kontinuierlich informieren und weiterbilden. Bildung ist Teilhabe, und Teilhabe ist Gemeinwohl.
  • <b>Gesellschaftliches Engagement muss zur Routine werden. </b>Bin ich einverstanden, dass selbstfahrende Autos in meiner Stadt fahren? Soll künstliche Intelligenz staatliche Entscheidungen treffen dürfen? Möchte ich Unternehmen die Macht über meine Daten überlassen? Diese Fragen sollten wir nicht scheuen: Gesellschaftliches Engagement muss zur Routine werden. graphicrecording.cool
    Gesellschaftliches Engagement muss zur Routine werden. Bin ich einverstanden, dass selbstfahrende Autos in meiner Stadt fahren? Soll künstliche Intelligenz staatliche Entscheidungen treffen dürfen? Möchte ich Unternehmen die Macht über meine Daten überlassen? Diese Fragen sollten wir nicht scheuen: Gesellschaftliches Engagement muss zur Routine werden.
  • <b>Auch digitale Mündigkeit gehört dazu. </b>Wer sich heutzutage nicht mit den Chancen und Gefahren der digitalen Welt beschäftigt, läuft Gefahr, auf einen Teil des gesellschaftlichen Lebens den Einfluss zu verlieren. Nur wer Zusammenhänge versteht und einordnen kann, kann auch in der digitalen Welt mitgestalten. graphicrecording.cool
    Auch digitale Mündigkeit gehört dazu. Wer sich heutzutage nicht mit den Chancen und Gefahren der digitalen Welt beschäftigt, läuft Gefahr, auf einen Teil des gesellschaftlichen Lebens den Einfluss zu verlieren. Nur wer Zusammenhänge versteht und einordnen kann, kann auch in der digitalen Welt mitgestalten.
Matthieu Cherubinis VR-Game „35.000 Feet“ simuliert einen Flug über Syrien. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Matthieu Cherubini, 2017

Künstliche Intelligenz und Kunst
Diese sieben Künstler erwecken Algorithmen zum Leben

Sie lassen Algorithmen tanzen und hauchen Software Leben ein: Künstler, die mit künstlicher Intelligenz experimentieren, sondieren und verwischen die Grenze zwischen Mensch und Maschine. Wer die Science-Fiction-Serie „Black Mirror“ mag, wird diese Künstler lieben.

Bei Rot über die Straße gehen: Verkehrssünder werden in China öffentlich angeprangert. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild/Klaus Grabowski

Algorithmic Governance
Die totale Überwachung

Algorithmen, die anhand von gesammelten Daten die Bürger eines Landes belohnen oder bestrafen – in China oder Indien ist die sogenannte Algorithmic Governance längst Realität. Aber auch in Deutschland treffen Computerprogramme schon Entscheidungen, die für viele Menschen Konsequenzen haben.

Humanoide Roboter vom Typ Ada GH5 in der Türkei. Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance/AA/Ahmet Akbiyik

Industrie 4.0
Das Ende der menschlichen Arbeit?

Eine neue industrielle Revolution steht vor der Tür: Der Begriff Industrie 4.0 steht für die steigende Automatisierung in Produktion und Logistik. Kleinste Computer können heutzutage riesige Maschinen und Anlagen steuern und ersetzen zunehmend die Menschen, die bisher die Arbeit machen.

Künstliche Intelligenz Foto (Ausschnitt): © Adobe

Künstliche Intelligenz
Das Antwortgebende

Wird Künstliche Intelligenz die Menschheit irgendwann beherrschen? – Über unüberbrückbare Unterschiede zwischen Menschen und Maschinen. Ein Essay von Peter Glaser.


Mehr zum Thema

Das Rechercheteam um Rayk Anders in der Reportage „Lösch Dich. So organisiert ist der Hate im Netz“, die von funk (ARD/ZDF) in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Paul Ruben Mundthal

Hass im Internet
„Wir können zu dritt so tun, als wären wir Hundert“

In der Dokumentation „Lösch Dich. So organisiert ist der Hate im Netz“ untersuchen der Youtuber Rayk Anders und sein Team, wie Internet-Trolle mit Hasskommentaren gezielt politisch Stimmung machen. 

Immer mehr Frauen arbeiten in der Gamesbranche. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Adobe

Frauen in der Spieleindustrie
„Ihr seht uns nicht? Dann ist Euer Netzwerk schlecht!“

Die Entwicklung und Programmierung von Computerspielen war einst größtenteils von Männern dominiert. Doch das ändert sich zusehends: Wir haben fünf Frauen aus der Gamesbranche getroffen.

Darknet steht für geschützte Bereiche im Internet – wofür sie diese nutzen, bestimmen die Anwender. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Adobe

Darknet
Fünf Beispiele, warum der schlechte Ruf nicht gerechtfertigt ist

Das Darknet gilt als der böse Bruder des Internets, als Waffen- und Drogenumschlagplatz, als Paradies für Pädophile und Terroristen. In Wirklichkeit ist es gar kein so finsterer Ort.


Initiativen des Goethe-Instituts weltweit

How to read Social Media © Goethe-Institut Moskau

The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?

Souverän umgehen mit digitalen Informationsquellen: „The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?“ des Goethe-Instituts Moskau unterstützt Jugendliche, Lehrkräfte und auch Medienfachleute genau dabei.
 

Open Data Indonesien © Dwi Rahmanto

Zugang für alle: Open Data

Behörden veröffentlichen Daten, Bürger können sie für ihre Zwecke nutzen: Das ist weltweit der Kerngedanke der Open-Data-Bewegung. Das Goethe-Institut Indonesien zeigt Wege, wie eine Kultur der öffentlich zugänglichen Daten in Südostasien entstehen kann.

P3M5 © Goethe-Institut USA

Datenschutz in fünf Minuten

Was bedeuten Privatsphäre und Datenschutz im digitalen Zeitalter? Um diese Frage dreht sich das Theaterprojekt P3M5, initiiert vom Goethe-Institut USA. Dramatiker aus den USA und Europa präsentieren ihre Antworten in 5-Minuten-Filmen. 


Kooperationen mit dem ZKM weltweit


Eine Koproduktion von

Projektverantwortliche

ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe
Stefanie Strigl Digitale Kommunikation
Regina Hock Pressereferentin

Goethe-Institut
Christine Ruhland Internet-Redaktion