Ballet in Germany “Dance thrives on exchange”

‘Cinderella’ at the Hessian State Ballet
‘Cinderella’ at the Hessian State Ballet | Photo (detail): © Regina Brocke

Germany’s dance scene is especially diverse. An interview with Tim Plegge, director of the Hessian State Ballet, on interactive dance, international guests and the universal language of ballet.

Tim Plegge Tim Plegge | Photo: © Regina Brocke Mr. Plegge, in 2014 the federal state of Hesse and the cities of Darmstadt and Wiesbaden have initiated a special form of cooperation including the founding of the Hessian State Ballet with performances in both locations. What is the advantage of this partnership?
 
Dance is a lively art form that thrives on exchange. Cooperation between the ballet sectors of the State Theatre Darmstadt and the Hessian State Theatre Wiesbaden has existed since 1975. By having a joint Ballet, we want to create an ensemble that not only has its own specific artistic signature, but also integrates external influences and impulses from the international scenes and contexts. Both dancers and audiences stand to gain from this. For example, Philippe Saire, from Switzerland, is currently our resident guest and working on a piece in the ballet hall with his dancers. Thanks to workshops, our dancers gain insight into his way of working. In the series Work in Progress, interested visitors can get an impression of the status of the production. We then present the finished work on our stage.
 
Your State Ballet also travels abroad for guest performances.
 
We feel it is important not only to invite the world to us, but for us to take what we produce here out into the world. In our first season, we were at the Belgrade Dance Festival and in 2016 at the Innsbruck Theatre Summer. Soon we will be on tour to Spain and Saint Petersburg with our production of Cinderella.
 
Who goes to see ballet these days?
 
The audience members are as diverse as our programme. They come from all over the region, are young and old, male and female. No one group is missing. At the moment, we are doing a piece for children up to three years of age: Farbenspiele (Play of Colours), which also gets the children involved.

An artistic rendering of the attacks in Paris

What with interactive theatre, open training, international guests, a lot has changed in the world of ballet over the past years?
 
Mediating work has become so much more important, now that the days of up-front theatre are gone. Our Odyssee_21 was a large participation project and it brought us audiences from different groups of the population. We indicate that we are not at all elitist, as some people believe. We counter prejudices and create confidence.
 
Dance is popular. According to figures issued by the German Theatre Association, 1.6 million people went to a ballet in the 2014/15 season, i.e., about 200,000 more than in 2004/05.
 
People often think that ballet has nothing to do with them. But that is not so. In the 2015/16 season, we engaged with the theme of borders. Odyssee_21 is about homeland and departure – refugees performed on the stage along with locals. In Grenzgänger (Border-crossers) Marcos Morau and Damien Jalet shifted and transgressed artistic border. Jalet experienced the attacks in Paris in November 2015 and worked on those immediate experiences in the piece Thr(o)ugh. The story ballet I have choreographed, Kaspar Hauser, is ultimately a topical piece: the homeless boy no one could speak to. It asks how we deal with strangers in our society. The audiences realize this, and that motivates them to come again.

Looking outside the box

Which countries, in your opinion, are pioneers when it comes to contemporary dance? Which works by which choreographers should one have seen?
 
The dance scene in Germany is more diverse than almost anywhere in the world. Belgium was always a trailblazer for contemporary dance in Europe, France too, and the Netherlands. Great Britain has Hofesh Shechter, Akram Khan and Wayne McGregor, a generation of influential and inspiring choreographers. John Cranko, the director of the Stuttgart Ballet who died in 1973, was born in Cape Town. Today there is a great company there too. We have invited an Indonesian artist, Rianto, a choreographer and dancer who combines the traditional Indonesian dance Lengger with contemporary forms. Through such artists and their work, we enable our audiences to look outside the box. What makes ballet and dance so special is the direct sensuality. With this universal language, we can reach people all over the world.
 

Tim PleggE

trained at the Hamburg Ballet John Neumeier. He studied choreography at the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin and the 2013 Annual of Tanz magazine listed him as one of the new hopes, “who hopefully will move the future”. Since the 2014/15 season, he has directed the Hessian State Ballet in Darmstadt and Wiesbaden in his function as Ballet Director and Head Choreographer.

Ballett in Deutschland „Tanz lebt vom Austausch“

„Aschenputtel” am Hessischen Staatsballett
„Aschenputtel” am Hessischen Staatsballett | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Regina Brocke

Die Tanzszene in Deutschland ist besonders vielfältig. Ein Gespräch mit Tim Plegge, Direktor des Hessischen Staatsballetts, über interaktiven Tanz, internationale Gäste und die universelle Sprache des Balletts. 

Tim Plegge Tim Plegge | Foto: © Regina Brocke Herr Plegge, zur Spielzeit 2014/15 gingen das Bundesland Hessen sowie die Städte Darmstadt und Wiesbaden eine besondere Kooperation ein: Sie gründeten das Hessische Staatsballett mit Aufführungen an beiden Orten. Was ist der Wert dieser Partnerschaft?
 
Tanz ist eine lebendige Kunstform und lebt vom Austausch. Kooperationen zwischen den Ballettsparten des Staatstheaters Darmstadt und des Hessischen Staatstheaters Wiesbaden gab es seit 1975. Mit einem gemeinsamen Ballett wollten wir ein Ensemble kreieren, das nicht nur eine einzige Handschrift trägt, sondern Einflüsse von außen zulässt und Impulse aus internationalen Szenen und Kontexten aufnimmt. Davon profitieren Tänzer und Zuschauer. Gerade ist beispielsweise der Schweizer Philippe Saire bei uns Residenzgast und erarbeitet im Ballettsaal mit seinen Tänzern ein Stück. Über Workshops erhalten unsere Tänzer Einblick in seine Arbeit, in der Reihe Work in Progress können sich interessierte Besucher einen Eindruck vom Zustand der Produktion verschaffen. Dann zeigen wir die fertige Arbeit auf unserer Bühne.
 
Auch Ihr Staatsballett reist zu Gastspielen ins Ausland.
 
Es ist uns wichtig, nicht nur die Welt zu uns einzuladen, sondern in die Welt hinauszutragen, was wir hier produzieren. Wir waren in unserer ersten Spielzeit beim Belgrade Dance Festival und im Jahr 2016 beim Innsbrucker Theatersommer. Bald fahren wir mit Aschenputtel auf eine Tournee nach Spanien und nach Sankt Petersburg.
 
Wer geht heute eigentlich ins Ballett?
 
Die Besucher sind so vielfältig wie unser Programm. Sie kommen aus der gesamten Region, sind jung oder alt, Männer und Frauen. Keine Personengruppe fehlt. Wir zeigen jetzt sogar ein Stück für Null- bis Dreijährige: Farbenspiele. Die Kinder können dabei selbst mitmachen.

Die Pariser Attentate künstlerisch verarbeiten

Interaktives Theater, offene Trainings, internationale Gäste – hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren viel verändert im Ballettbetrieb?
 
Die Vermittlungsarbeit ist deutlich wichtiger geworden, man ist weggekommen vom Frontaltheater. Mit Odyssee_21 haben wir ein großes Partizipationsprojekt erarbeitet. Damit gewinnen wir Publikum aus unterschiedlichen Bevölkerungsgruppen. Wir zeigen den Menschen, dass wir gar nicht so elitär sind, wie manche denken. Wir räumen mit Vorurteilen auf und schaffen Vertrauen.
 
Tanztheater ist beliebt. Nach Zahlen des Deutschen Bühnenvereins gingen in der Spielzeit 2014/15 mit 1,6 Millionen Besuchern rund 200.000 mehr ins Ballett als 2004/05.
 
Oft denken die Menschen, Ballett hätte nichts mit ihnen zu tun. Aber das ist nicht der Fall. In der Spielzeit 2015/16 haben wir uns beispielsweise mit Grenzen beschäftigt. In Odyssee_21 ging es um Heimat und Fortgehen – Geflüchtete standen mit Einheimischen auf der Bühne. In Grenzgänger verschoben und überschritten Marcos Morau und Damien Jalet künstlerisch Grenzen. Jalet hat im November 2015 die Pariser Attentate unmittelbar miterlebt und diese Erfahrungen in der Arbeit Thr(o)ugh verarbeitet. Auch das von mir choreografierte Handlungsballett Kaspar Hauser ist letztlich ein aktueller Stoff: Der obdachlose Junge, mit dem niemand sprechen konnte – das Stück stellt die Frage, wie wir mit dem Fremden in unserer Gesellschaft umgehen. Das merken die Zuschauer, das lässt sie wiederkommen.

Über den Tellerrand hinausschauen

Welche Länder sind Ihrer Meinung nach wegweisend für zeitgenössischen Tanz? Arbeiten welcher Choreografen sollte man gesehen haben?
 
Die Tanzwelt in Deutschland ist so vielfältig wie fast nirgendwo sonst. In Europa war Belgien immer wegweisend für zeitgenössischen Tanz, auch Frankreich und die Niederlande. In Großbritannien gibt es mit Hofesh Shechter, Akram Khan und Wayne McGregor eine Generation von impulsgebenden Choreografen. John Cranko, der 1973 verstorbene Ballettdirektor des Stuttgarter Balletts, wurde in Kapstadt geboren – auch dort gibt es heute eine tolle Kompanie. Mit dem indonesischen Künstler Rianto haben wir einen Choreografen und Tänzer eingeladen, der den traditionellen indonesischen Tanz Lengger mit zeitgenössischen Formen verbindet. Mit solchen Künstlern lassen wir unser Publikum über den Tellerrand hinausschauen. Was Ballett und Tanz so besonders macht ist, ist die unmittelbare Sinnlichkeit. Mit dieser universalen Sprache können wir Menschen auf der ganzen Welt erreichen. 
 

Tim Plegge

wurde am Hamburg Ballett John Neumeier ausgebildet. Er studierte Choreografie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin und wurde im Jahrbuch 2013 der Zeitschrift „tanz“ unter den Hoffnungsträgern geführt, „die hoffentlich die Zukunft bewegen“. Seit der Spielzeit 2014/15 leitet er als Ballettdirektor und Chefchoreograf das Hessische Staatsballett in Darmstadt und Wiesbaden.