Participation in art A contradictory tool

Square of the European Promise
Square of the European Promise | Photo: © Stadt Bochum, Referat für Kommunikation

Civic participation is a key topic in contemporary culture. We explore why this does not necessarily make it synonymous with the democratization of art.
 

“Participation is hot!” declares the website of the European Academy of Participation. Participation – in the sense of people getting involved in art – is booming, and in the Academy’s view is an important tool because it gives rise to a “positive process” in which a shared European cultural space is constructed. This happens in different ways in different places.
 
The “Actopolis” project of the Goethe-Institut and the Urbane Künste Ruhr initiative for example is both a call to action and a call to co-author the city: artists and activists from seven cities team up to develop ideas and intervene in everyday events through their actions – in Athens, Belgrade, Bucharest, Ankara/Mardin, Oberhausen, Sarajevo and Zagreb. At the same time, the Goethe-Institut in France is organizing cooperation between ten European universities. Together, their aim is to draw up benchmarks for participation in art and cultural projects. In Bochum, concept artist Jochen Gerz called upon people from Europe to make a promise. The promises themselves remained secret, but the names of the nearly 15,000 people who took part were inscribed into the stone paving in front of the Christuskirche in Bochum; the site has now been named the “Platz des europäischen Versprechens” – the Square of the European Promise.

Public intervention is also part of the artistic calculation

These three examples illustrate the broad spectrum of projects that establish a relationship between art and participation. There are differences between them in terms of how the public is addressed, how roles are allocated and how the action is conveyed in the media. The sites, the forms of interaction and the time frames also differ. This ambiguous, undefined and contradictory aspect of “participation” is rooted in the concept itself. Even the etymology of the word highlights the contradictions between a person or group’s active and passive participation: the term participation is a compound of the Latin words “pars” (part) and “capere” (take). This ambivalence continues through the history and present of participatory art like a leitmotif.
 
At the latest when the Macedonian curator, art historian and art theorist Suzana Milevska called for a “participatory shift” in 2006, participation advanced to become a key topic in contemporary art. Generally speaking, boundaries are being increasingly removed from the concept of art: more and more, it is a question of creating events and situations rather than objects. Participatory art projects emphasize the element of activation and empowerment: people are actively involved in producing knowledge, sense and meaning, collective experience or indeed objects. Nonetheless, as the philosopher Juliane Rebentisch urged in 2013, participatory art works should “not be over-hastily misunderstood (...) as a kind of democratization of art production, for the asymmetry between artist and public remains: the public’s interventions in the work are part of the artistic calculation here; they take place within a horizon set by the artist.”

Often misappropriated for urban marketing

When artists, curators and theorists use participation as a creative strategy, it is important to ask not only about their aesthetic priorities. It is also a question of the hierarchies they generate. Furthermore, it should be remembered that participatory art projects are often misappropriated as an alternative to and compensation for social welfare cuts or as an urban marketing tool. Who decides who is or is not allowed to take part – and who bears the responsibility? Can experiences gained in artistic projects and processes be translated directly into concrete insights and action and set down in guidelines? Can experiences from artistic projects be transferred to other areas such as education science, social work, cultural policy or urban planning? How do traditional concepts of authorship, artistic freedom and aesthetic autonomy change? What stance do artists adopt in an increasingly neoliberal discourse about initiative, flexibility and continuous self-activation and self-optimization?
 
Participatory art demands a response, in the sense that one is forced to look and listen more closely and to get actively involved. It creates spatial experiences and dramaturgical “as if” scenarios, and highlights fleeting sites in which society can understand itself. Participation is always an answer. Often it is artists and creative individuals who formulate a question in order to redefine the relationship between art, democracy and participation. Whoever the question may be addressed to is free to decide whether to accept the invitation and how to answer the question. Given the topicality of and continuing boom in commissioned participatory art, there is increasingly an option to refuse. This preserves the fundamental concept of democratic self-determination and the idea of one’s capacity to take political action: you can decide for yourself!

Partizipation in der Kunst Werkzeug mit Widersprüchen

Platz des Europäischen Friedens in Bochum
Platz des Europäischen Friedens in Bochum | Foto: © Stadt Bochum, Referat für Kommunikation

Die Beteiligung der Bürger ist ein Schlüsselthema zeitgenössischer Kultur. Warum sie dennoch nicht unbedingt eine Demokratisierung der Kunst bedeutet.

„Participation is hot!“, heißt es auf der Website der European Academy of Participation. Partizipation im Sinne der gesellschaftlichen Beteiligung an Kunst hat Konjunktur – und ist ein wichtiges Werkzeug, so die Akademie. Sie ermögliche einen „positiven Prozess“, bei dem ein gemeinsamer europäischer Kulturraum entstehe. Das passiert in unterschiedlicher Form an verschiedenen Orten.
 
So ruft etwa das Projekt „Actopolis“ des Goethe-Instituts und der Initiative Urbane Künste Ruhr zum Handeln und Mitgestalten auf: Künstler und Aktivisten aus sieben Städten entwickeln gemeinsam Ideen und greifen mit ihren Aktionen ins Alltagsgeschehen ein – in Athen, Belgrad, Bukarest, Ankara/Mardin, Oberhausen, Sarajevo und Zagreb. Zugleich organisiert das Goethe-Institut in Frankreich eine Kooperation von zehn europäischen Hochschulen. Sie wollen gemeinsam Maßstäbe für Partizipation in Kunst- und Kulturprojekten entwickeln. In Bochum forderte der Konzeptkünstler Jochen Gerz Menschen aus Europa auf, ein Versprechen abzugeben. Die Versprechen selbst blieben geheim, die Namen der fast 15.000 Teilnehmer wurden in den Steinboden vor der Christuskirche in Bochum eingeschrieben – der Ort heißt jetzt „Platz des europäischen Versprechens“.

Eingriffe des Publikums auch künstlerisches Kalkül

Diese drei Beispiele zeigen die große Bandbreite von Projekten, die Kunst und Partizipation miteinander in Beziehung setzen. Unterschiede bestehen darin, wie das Publikum angesprochen wird, wie die Rollen verteilt sind und wie die Aktion medial vermittelt wird. Auch die Orte, die Formen der Interaktion und der Zeitrahmen unterscheiden sich. Diese Mehrdeutigkeit, Unbestimmtheit und Widersprüchlichkeit des Partizipationsbegriffs ist im Konzept selbst angelegt. Schon die wortgeschichtliche Herleitung zeigt das Spannungsfeld zwischen aktiver und passiver Teilnahme einer Person oder Gruppe: Der Begriff Partizipation setzt sich zusammen aus den lateinischen Wörtern „pars“ (Teil) und „capere“ (nehmen). Diese Ambivalenz zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch Geschichte und Gegenwart partizipativer Kunst.
 
Spätestens seit die mazedonische Kuratorin, Kunsthistorikerin und -theoretikerin Suzana Milevska 2006 eine „partizipatorische Wende“ ausrief, ist Beteiligung zu einem Schlüsselthema zeitgenössischer Kunst avanciert. Überhaupt lässt sich eine zunehmende Entgrenzung des Kunstbegriffs beobachten: Es geht immer weniger um die Herstellung von Objekten als vielmehr von Ereignissen und Situationen. Partizipative Kunstprojekte betonen dabei das Moment von Aktivierung und Ermächtigung: Menschen wirken konkret mit an der Produktion von Wissen, von Sinn und Bedeutung, von kollektiver Erfahrung oder auch Objekten. Dabei sollte man partizipative Kunstwerke, so die Philosophin Juliane Rebentisch 2013, „nicht vorschnell (...) als eine Art Demokratisierung der Kunstproduktion missverstehen. Denn die Asymmetrie zwischen Künstler und Publikum bleibt erhalten: Die Eingriffe des Publikums ins Werk sind hier Teil des künstlerischen Kalküls; sie erfolgen in einem vom Künstler gesetzten Horizont.“

Oftmals vereinnahmt von Stadtmarketing

Wenn Künstler, Kuratoren und Theoretiker mit Partizipation als kreativer Strategie arbeiten, muss nicht nur hinterfragt werden, welche ästhetischen Prioritäten sie dabei setzen. Es geht auch darum, welche Hierarchien sie erzeugen. Außerdem muss man bedenken, dass partizipatorische Kunstprojekte oftmals als Alternative und Ausgleich zu gekürzten sozialstaatlichen Leistungen oder als Maßnahme des Stadtmarketings vereinnahmt werden. Wer entscheidet darüber, wer mitmachen darf und wer nicht – und wer trägt die Verantwortung? Lassen sich Erfahrungen aus künstlerischen Projekten und Prozessen direkt in konkrete Erkenntnis und Handlung übersetzen und in Richtlinien festschreiben? Sind Erfahrungen aus künstlerischen Projekten auf andere Bereiche wie Erziehungswissenschaften, Sozialarbeit, Kulturpolitik oder Stadtplanung übertragbar? Wie verändern sich tradierte Konzepte von Autorenschaft, künstlerischer Freiheit und ästhetischer Autonomie? Wie positionieren sich Künstler in einem zunehmend neoliberalen Diskurs von Eigeninitiative, Flexibilität, permanenter Selbstaktivierung und Selbstoptimierung?
 
Partizipative Kunst verlangt eine Antwort im Sinne des genaueren Hinguckens, Zuhörens, Anpackens. Sie gestaltet Raumerfahrungen, entwirft Dramaturgien des „Als-ob“ und markiert flüchtige Orte gesellschaftlicher Selbstverständigung. Partizipation ist immer eine Antwort. Oftmals sind es Künstler und Kreative, die eine Frage formulieren, um das Verhältnis von Kunst, Demokratie und Partizipation neu zu bestimmen. Die jeweils Angesprochenen können sich entscheiden, ob sie die Einladung annehmen und wie sie die Frage beantworten. Im Hinblick auf die Aktualität und anhaltende Konjunktur partizipativer Auftragskunst besteht immer öfter auch die Option der Verweigerung. Damit werden der Grundgedanke demokratischer Selbstbestimmung und die Idee politischer Handlungsfähigkeit bewahrt: Sie können sich entscheiden!