International Relief Fund 2020
Theatre without Theatre

Test-shooting for outdoor performance at Royal District Theatre
Test-shooting for outdoor performance at Royal District Theatre | Photo (detail): © Gika Mikabadze

The anti-Corona measures hit the Georgian cultural sector unprepared – including the Royal District Theatre in Tbilisi. Dramaturge Davit Gabunia reports on how the theater was able to continue thanks to funding from the International Relief Fund 2020 of the Goethe-Institut, the German Foreign Office and other foundations and cultural intermediary organizations.

The Royal District Theatre, an old 19th century-building and a landmark place for younger theatre-makers, has been closed in March 2020. Georgia has adopted strict measures in order to fight the COVID-19 pandemic, and has never reopened cultural institutions since the outbreak. This is a new harsh reality the local cultural sector has to face and it turned out to be completely unprepared, as Data Tavadze, director of the Royal District Theatre, admits.
 
The group of young theatre-makers working and studying at the studio of the Royal District Theatre responded to the spring lockdown with a 9-hours long live performance. Three actors were “captivated” in the theatre foyer and shared with the audiences (in the street and online) stories of isolation, despair, hope, joy, anger and sadness written by six young authors. This was in July, right after the softening of the lockdown. The theatres were still closed then, so the artists decided to perform in the foyer. Everyone had strange feelings – you are at the theatre but you cannot enter. This works as a perfect metaphor for the cultural life in Georgia right now.

“There’s Drama” – 9 hours performance in July “There’s Drama” – 9 hours performance in July | Photo (detail): © Gika Mikabadze
The Government of Georgia decided, that culture is not “vital” and therefore we remained closed the whole summer and early autumn, while everything else in the country was able to re-open. Rehearsals were allowed, but no performances, and no audiences inside. So we had to think quickly, how to adapt to this strange situation. Our own limited funds would not be enough for any significant changes, and this was the moment we learned about the International Relief Fund and decided to apply. We are a bunch of enthusiasts and ready to create content, to speak up on important issues, challenge and provoke audiences, but we desperately needed some equipment for this, we just could not afford renting everything every single time.

After Standstill

Now the theatre is preparing a full digital program. Actors are eager to work, after a long time of stagnancy. A lot of of adjustments have to be done. “It’s not the same whether you act in front of a theatre hall full of people or in front of a camera. We are used to interact with living people,” says Soso Khvedelidze, ensemble-actor. They are rehearsing a devised play, a collaboration of playwrights, director and actors – a thought-provoking and self-critical political piece about the importance of art in social life. The director, Data Tavadze, adds, that they do not have a title for the performance yet, but this is the least they are worried about. “Titles can wait, the work cannot. With this piece we are trying to explore how valid our existence is: do we really need art, is it crucially important, can it somehow contribute to the life of the country in general? This is a painful but much needed exploration,” he concludes.
Video: Royal District Theatre Tbilisi | Video: © Royal District Theatre, Goethe-institut e. V.
English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube Video in English language. 
German subtitles can be displayed. 

Apart from technical issues, Georgian theatre-makers have to deal with even more complications due to restrictions. One of the major plans was to perform outside, have a series of simultaneous outdoor performances in the streets. This needs to be yet authorized by the municipality. But looking at the work-in-progress of the group gives an answer to the question they are exploring: the role of culture cannot be underestimated. And the current pandemic crisis is the crucial moment for theatre-makers to prove their relevance, culture cannot be canceled.
 

Autor

Davit Gabunia is Dramaturgue at the Royal District Theatre Tbilisi.

Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2020
Theater ohne Theater

Testaufnahmen für eine Aufführung des Royal District Theatre
Testaufnahmen für eine Aufführung des Royal District Theatre | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Gika Mikabadze

Die Anti-Corona-Maßnahmen trafen den georgischen Kultursektor unvorbereitet – auch das Royal District Theatre in Tbilissi. Der Dramaturg Davit Gabunia berichtet, wie es dank Mitteln aus dem Internationalen Hilfs­fonds 2020 des Goethe-Instituts, des Aus­wärtigen Amts und weiterer Stiftungen und Kulturmittlerorganisationen dennoch weitergehen konnte.

Das Royal District Theatre, ein Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und ein wichtiger Ort für jüngere Theatermacher, wurde im März 2020 geschlossen. Georgien hat strenge Maßnahmen ergriffen, um die COVID-19-Pandemie zu bekämpfen und seitdem keine kulturellen Einrichtungen wieder geöffnet. Eine harte, neue Realität, der sich der lokale Kultursektor stellen muss, und er erwies sich als völlig unvorbereitet, wie Data Tavadze, Direktor des Royal District Theatre, zugibt.
 
Die Gruppe junger Theatermacher, die im Studio des Royal District Theatre arbeiten und studieren, reagierte auf die Frühjahrssperrung mit einer neunstündigen Live-Performance. Drei Schauspieler waren im Foyer des Theaters „gefangen“ und teilten mit dem Publikum (draußen auf der Straße und online) Geschichten sechs junger Autoren – Geschichten von Isolation, Verzweiflung, Hoffnung, Freude, Wut und Traurigkeit. Das war im Juli, gleich nach der Lockerung des Lockdown. Die Theater blieben allerdings geschlossen, weshalb die Künstler entschieden, im Eingangsbereich aufzutreten. Alle hatten ein seltsames Gefühl – man ist im Theater, aber man kann nicht hinein. Die perfekte Metapher für das momentane kulturelle Leben in Georgien.

„There’s Drama“ – neunstündige Performance im Foyer „There’s Drama“ – neunstündige Performance im Foyer | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Gika Mikabadze
Die georgische Regierung entschied, dass Kultur nicht „lebenswichtig“ sei und deshalb blieben wir den ganzen Sommer und Frühherbst über geschlossen, während alles andere im Land wieder öffnen konnte. Wir durften proben, aber nicht auftreten und vor allem durfte das Publikum das Haus nicht betreten. Wir mussten also schnell überlegen, wie wir uns an diese seltsame Situation anpassen konnten. Unsere eigenen begrenzten Mittel waren für wesentliche Veränderungen kaum ausreichend, und das war der Moment, in dem wir vom Internationalen Hilfsfonds erfuhren und beschlossen, uns zu bewerben. Wir sind Enthusiasten, bereit, Inhalte zu produzieren, wichtige Themen anzusprechen, das Publikum herauszufordern und zu provozieren, aber dafür brauchten wir dringend Ausrüstung, wir konnten es uns einfach nicht leisten, jedes Mal alles zu mieten.

Nach dem Stillstand

Jetzt bereitet das Theater ein vollständig digitales Programm vor. Die Schauspieler sind nach einer langen Phase des Stillstands intensiv bei der Arbeit. Zahlreiche Anpassungen müssen vorgenommen werden. „Es ist nicht dasselbe, ob man vor einem Theatersaal voller Menschen oder vor einer Kamera spielt. Wir sind gewohnt, mit den Zuschauern zu interagieren“, meint Soso Khvedelidze, Ensemble-Schauspieler. Sie proben gerade ein neues Stück, eine Zusammenarbeit von Dramaturgen, Regisseur und Schauspielern – ein nachdenklich stimmendes und selbstkritisches politisches Stück über die Bedeutung der Kunst im gesellschaftlichen Leben. Der Regisseur, Data Tavadze, ergänzt, dass sie noch keinen Titel für die Aufführung haben, aber das bereite ihnen die geringsten Sorgen. „Titel können warten, die Arbeit nicht. Mit diesem Stück versuchen wir zu erkunden, ob wir die Kunst wirklich brauchen. Ist sie von entscheidender Bedeutung, kann sie zum Leben des Landes im Allgemeinen beitragen? Das ist eine schmerzhafte, aber dringend notwendige Fragestellung“, fügt er hinzu.
Video: Royal District Theatre Tbilisi | Video: © Royal District Theatre, Goethe-institut e. V.
English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube Video in englischer Sprache.
Deutsche Untertitel einblendbar. 

Noch gravierender als die technischen Probleme sind die Hürden aufgrund der pandemiebedingten Einschränkungen. Einer der wichtigsten Pläne war es, draußen zu spielen, eine Reihe von simultanen Performances in den Straßen zu geben. Dies muss aktuell noch von der Stadtverwaltung genehmigt werden. Aber ein Blick auf die Arbeit der Gruppe gibt eine Antwort auf die Frage, der sie nachgehen: Die Bedeutung der Kultur darf nicht unterschätzt werden. Und die aktuelle Pandemiekrise ist der entscheidende Moment für Theatermacher, ihre Relevanz unter Beweis zu stellen: Kultur kann nicht abgesagt werden.
 

Autor

Davit Gabunia ist Dramaturg am Royal District Theatre.