SoundLab
SOUTHEAST ASIA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND & GERMANY

We simply had to create something different

15 musicians from Southeast Asia met in the Malaysian south of Kuala Lumpur to participate and collaborate in a workshop. The regional project was called “Soundlab”. “In the jungle there is much more melody which leads to a magical atmosphere”, one of the participating musicians describes the productive working atmosphere during the project.

Participants composing a song during the workshop Participants composing a song during the workshop | © Goethe-Institut The participants of the 10 day workshop came from ten different countries from Southeast Asia, Germany, New Zealand and Australia. The artists were of diverse musical backgrounds and contexts with a vast variety of styles. They included electronic and experimental genres, songwriters and even a member of a punk band in Myanmar was there. The artists collaborated, composed and recorded analogue-digital music in two ad-hoc studios. The collaboration project peaked in a joint musical performance and concert in Kuala Lumpur. Project partners were Malaysian “Detour Asia” and “Border Movement” from Berlin, as well as the Goethe-Instituts in the region.
An intense press campaign by the Berlin agency “initialslp” led to articles on online platforms and digital music magazines in Germany, the UK, Malaysia and the United States, giving the project international awareness and recognition. In Germany the renowned platform “Electronic Beats” reported about the “Soundlab” project, as well as the “lowdown magazine”, “kaltblut-magazin”, “famemagazine” and “brooklynradio”.

Public showcase and concert in Kuala Lumpur Public showcase and concert in Kuala Lumpur | © Goethe-Institut The end product of the collaboration is a CD with 11 tracks and a 30-minutes documentary by Lisanne Schulz from Berlin. Electronic elements connect all the diverse music genres and styles. The video not only showcases the music, but also provides interviews of the artists and gives insights into their respective situations in their particular countries. The CD and film have been launched within the framework of “Soundlab 2016: Retrospectives in Kuala Lumpur, Berlin, Singapore and Yangon”.

SoundLab on Soundcloud

SoundLab on Youtube

SoundLab
Südostasien, Australien, Neuseeland & Deutschland

Wir mussten einfach etwas Anderes schaffen

Denn im Dschungel gibt es „viel mehr Melodie“, er „führt zu einer magischen Atmosphäre“, so beschreibt eine Teilnehmerin die produktive Arbeitsatmosphäre während des Regionalprojektes Soundlab. Südlich von Kuala Lumpur trafen sich 15 Musikerinnen und Musiker zu einem Workshop im malaysischen Dschungel.

TeilnehmerInnen arbeiten zusammen an einem Song während des Workshops TeilnehmerInnen arbeiten zusammen an einem Song während des Workshops | © Goethe-Institut Am 10-tägigen Workshop nahmen Musikerinnen aus 10 Ländern Südostasiens, Australien, Neuseeland und Deutschland teil. Es waren Künstler aus verschiedenen musikalischen Kontexten und mit unterschiedlichen Stilen: aus dem elektronischen und experimentellen Bereich, Liedermacher, auch ein Mitglied aus einer Punk Band in Myanmar war mit dabei. Die Musiker komponierten zusammen und nahmen in 2 ad-hoc Studios ihre analog-digitale Musik auf. Am Ende des Workshops fand ein gemeinsames öffentliches Konzert in Kuala Lumpur statt. Partner waren Border Movement aus Berlin und Detour Asia aus Malaysia.
 
Eine intensive Presse Kampagne der Berliner Agentur initialslp verschaffte dem Projekt internationale Aufmerksamkeit mit Berichten auf Online- Plattformen und in digitalen Musikzeitschriften in Deutschland, GB, Malaysia und den USA, u.a. dem lowdown magazine, kaltblut-magazin, famemagazine, brooklynradio. In Deutschland gab es eine Nennung auf der großen, einflussreichen digitalen Seite Electronic Beats der Telekom.
 
Konzert beim öffentlichen Showcase in Kuala Lumpur Konzert beim öffentlichen Showcase in Kuala Lumpur | © Goethe-Institut Produziert wurden eine CD mit 11 Tracks und ein 30-minütiger Dokumentarfilm von Lisanne Schulze aus Berlin. Elektronische Elemente verbinden die unterschiedlichen Musikstile. Das Video greift die Musik auf und geht in Interviews auf die Geschichte der Künstlerinnen und Künstler und ihre Situation in den jeweiligen Ländern ein. CD und Film wurden im Rahmen von Soundlab 2016:Retrospectives in Kuala Lumpur, Berlin, Singapur und Yangon gelauncht.

SoundLab auf Soundcloud

SoundLab auf YouTube