Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Alvin Lau
Is This What Love Is?

Online dating has been a phenomenon since the early Millennium, making establishing connections amongst people more convenient. This establishment of convenience also stirs up the confusion of what relationships should be. This is part of my ongoing work Is This What Love Is. The series takes a look at how the use of dating apps has had an effect on contemporary relationships, or to another extent just to look at how modern relationships exist with each other.

As the photographer, I am constantly shifting between participating and documenting in such events. The process has become a liberating experience in itself. The work broke boundaries on what I personally thought a photography project could achieve. It instead became a catalyst in aiding my views on modern relationships whilst redefining what love is and what love can feel like in the 21st century.

We will have been young – Photo Exhibition

Alvin Lau *1994, Malaysia

Alvin Lau | Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau Alvin’s work explores the themes of death and life. After briefly studying Business Administration in university, he dropped out to pursue his career in photography. Alvin has since participated in a photography Masterclass with celebrated US photographer Maggie Steber at the OBSCURA Festival of Photography in 2015. He has also won the Kuala Lumpur Photo Awards, Asia Photographer of the Year 2015 and the IPA Photography Scholarship in 2017. This year, his work was showcased at Jeonju International Photo Festival and Landskrona Photo Festival.

  • Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau
  • Is This What Love Is? Alvin Lau
  • Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Alvin Lau
Is This What Love Is?

Online-Dating ist seit dem Beginn dieses Jahrtausends ein Phänomen, das das Anbahnen von zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen vereinfacht. Dieses Erzeugen von Zweckdienlichkeit stiftet aber Verwirrung über das, was Beziehungen letztlich sein sollten. Die Bilder meiner aktuellen Arbeit Is This What Love Is legen den Fokus darauf, wie die Verwendung von Dating-Apps sich auf heutige Beziehungen ausgewirkt hat, wie sich moderne Beziehungen verändert haben.

Als Fotograf bewege ich mich ständig zwischen der Teilnahme an und der Dokumentation von derartigen Geschehnissen. Dieser Prozess ist selbst zu einer befreienden Erfahrung geworden. Die Arbeit an diesem Projekt hat Grenzen durchbrochen – was ich mir nicht hätte vorstellen können. Sie ist stattdessen zum Impulsgeber meiner Ansichten über moderne Beziehungen geworden und definiert für mich gleichzeitig neu, was Liebe bedeutet und wie sich Liebe im 21. Jahrhundert anfühlen kann.

We will have been young – Fotoausstellung

Alvin Lau *1994, Malaysia

Alvin Lau | Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau Alvin Laus Arbeit kreist um die Thematik Leben und Tod. Er begann als Hobbyfotograf, intensivierte aber schließlich sein fotografisches Schaffen. Nachdem er kurzzeitig Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Sunway Universität studiert hatte, entschied er sich gegen das BWL-Studium und für eine Karriere in der Fotografie. Im Rahmen des OBSCURA Festivals der Fotografie im Jahre 2015 nahm Alvin an einem Fotografie-Orientierungskurs mit der Fotografin Maggie Steber teil. Er hat den Kuala Lumpur Photo Award, Asia Photographer of the Year 2015 und das IPA Photography Scholarship im Jahre 2017 gewonnen. Ebenfalls 2017 wurden seine Arbeiten beim Jeonju International Photo Festival und beim Landskrona Photo Festival ausgestellt.

  • Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau
  • Is This What Love Is? Alvin Lau
  • Is This What Love Is? © Alvin Lau