Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Watsamon Tri-yasakda
7465

One of the most asked questions is “What do you want to be when you grow up?”. But nobody ever asks “What do you want to be now?”.

From kindergarten to university, Thai students wear school uniforms for all of 22 years of their youth. From head to toe – there are school rules applied to hairstyle, outfit, socks and shoes. Thai student uniforms represent unity, hegemony, hierarchy and patronage.

Students are required to dress in the school uniform according to their biological sex, male and female. Most public schools still have a strict policy on dress code. The male students are required to have military hair style while female students are required to have a bob or have their hair tied at all time

7465 represents the hidden identity of young people whose struggle for self-expression is still suppressed. Despite uniformity, they try to be themselves as much as possible. 7465 is not just a student number sewn onto their uniform, but also a fight for their own identity. Young, free and the right to be themselves is all they want to be and to have.

We will have been young – Photo Exhibition

Watsamon Tri-yasakda *1990, Thailand

Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda Watsamon Tri-yasakda, also known as “June” graduated with a B.A. in Cultural Studies from Chulalongkorn University in 2013 and has earned a Diploma in Photojournalism from the Konrad Adenauer Asian Center for Journalism with a full scholarship at the Ateneo de Manila University in 2015. She’s actively documenting issues of human rights for the LGBTIQ community in Thailand and South-East Asia. She works with local and international editorial publications, organisations and commercial clients.

  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Watsamon Tri-yasakda
7465

Eine der meist gestellten Fragen ist „Was willst du werden, wenn du groß bist?“. Doch niemand fragt die Jugend jemals „Was willst du jetzt sein?“.

22 Jahre lang, vom Kindergarten bis zur Uni, tragen thailändische Schüler und Studenten Schuluniformen. Vom Scheitel bis zur Sohle – es gibt Regeln für die Haarschnitte, Klamotten, Socken und Schuhe. Die thailändische Schuluniform steht für Einheit, Hegemonie, Hierarchie und Protektion.

Schüler und Studenten müssen sich entsprechend ihres biologischen Geschlechts kleiden: männlich oder weiblich. Die meisten öffentlichen Schulen sind da noch immer sehr streng. Die männlichen Schüler müssen einen militärischen Haarschnitt tragen, während weibliche Schülerinnen einen Pagenschnitt oder ihr Haar zu jeder Zeit zusammengebunden tragen müssen.

7465 gibt die versteckte Identität Jugendlicher wieder, deren Ausdruck unterdrückt wird. In der Uniformität versuchen sie, soweit es geht, sie selbst zu sein. 7465 ist nicht nur eine Nummer, die auf ihrer Uniform genäht ist, die Arbeit ist auch ein Kampf für ihre Identität. Jung sein, frei und sie selbst sein – das ist, was sie wollen.

We will have been young – Fotoausstellung

Watsamon Tri-yasakda *1990, Thailand

Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda Watsamon Tri-yasakda, auch bekannt als „June“, ist eine thailändische Fotografin. 2013 schloss sie ihr Studium mit einem Bachelor in Kulturstudien an der Chulalongkorn Universität ab. Außerdem hat sie 2015 mit einem Vollstipendium der Ateneo de Manila University ein Diplom in Fotojournalismus am Konrad Adenauer Asian Center for Journalism erworben. Sie dokumentiert Menschenrechtsaspekte für die LGBTIQ community in Thailand und Südostasien. Sie arbeitet mit lokalen und internationalen Redaktionen, Organisationen und gewerblichen Kunden zusammen.

  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda
  • Watsamon Tri-yasakda | 7465 © Watsamon Tri-yasakda