Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Yu Yu Myint Than
Memory Lane

“I wanna go back home” are the words I frequently hear from San Kay Khine whenever I visited her in the hospital. San Kay Khine is a 17-year-old girl who spent five years as a tortured captive at a famous tailor shop in Yangon and was rescued after the publication of a report by an investigative journalist. Though Kay Khine managed to escape, she suffered from broken bones in all the fingers from her both hands. Her arm was severely twisted and she initially could only stand for not more than 15 minutes.

Kay Khine has undergone several surgeries and is still hospitalised. She always had a mature and calm disposition. I visited her home village Baw Lone Kwin without her to meet her parents. I had never been there before, but as soon as I got there, I felt familiar with the village. The rain trees and bamboo trees, the cows, the smell of soil after rain and the cool breeze passing from the paddy fields made me feel welcomed instantly. I felt like I could hear the giggles of San Kay Khine in her younger days playing with her friends; and imagined the ghost stories they shared at night with her friends. I felt like Baw Lone Kwin was my own homecoming. That unexplainable feeling of nostalgia is strange but beautiful. I breathed in the memories of her childhood in that village.

Memory Lane is a beautiful gift for both of us, San Kay Khine and I joined to recreate her memories and visited her home village through her nostalgia.

We will have been young – Photo Exhibition

Yu Yu Myint Than *1984, Myanmar

Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than Yu Yu Myint Than is a Myanmar photographer based in Yangon. She worked as a teacher trainer whilst pursuing her passion in photography. In 2014, she won a scholarship to the International Reporting Workshop, a three-month educational program that included training at the prestigious Pathshala South Asian Media Institute in Dhaka, Bangladesh. She was a scholarship recipient for the Magnum Foundation’s Photography and Social Justice Program taught out of New York.

  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than
  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than
  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Yu Yu Myint Than
Memory Lane

„Ich möchte zurück nach Hause“ habe ich von San Kay Khine gehört, wann immer ich sie im Krankenhaus besucht habe. San Kay Khine ist ein 17 Jahre altes Mädchen, das fünf Jahre in einer bekannten Schneiderei in Yangon als Gefangene gehalten und gequält wurde. Nach dem Bericht eines investigativen Journalisten wurde sie schließlich befreit. Sie erlitt Knochenbrüche in all ihren Fingern. Ihr Arm war schwer verdreht und sie konnte zunächst nur 15 Minuten lang stehen.

San Kay Khine hat zahlreiche Operationen hinter sich und befindet sich noch immer im Krankenhaus. Ich nahm sie immer wahr als einen Menschen mit einem reifen und ruhigen Auftreten. Ich besuchte schließlich ihr Heimatdorf Baw Lone Kwin, alleine, um ihre Eltern zu treffen. Ich war niemals zuvor dort gewesen, aber in dem Moment, als ich ankam, erschien mir das Dorf vertraut. Durch die Bäume und den Bamus, die Kühe, den Geruch der Erde, und die von den Reisfeldern kommende kühle Brise fühlte ich mich sofort willkommen. Ich dachte, ich könnte das Kichern von San Kay Khine in ihrer Kindheit beim Spielen mit ihren Freunden hören und stellte mir die Geistergeschichten vor, die sie sich nachts erzählten. Ich fühlte mich, als würde ich selbst nach Hause kommen. Dieses unerklärliche Gefühl der Nostalgie war eigenartig, aber wunderschön. Ich saugte die Erinnerungen ihrer Kindheit in diesem Dorf auf.

Memory Lane ist ein wunderbares Geschenk an uns beide, geschaffen auf der Grundlage ihrer Erinnerungen an ihr Heimatdorf und an glücklichere Zeiten.

We will have been young – Fotoausstellung

Yu Yu Myint Than *1984, Myanmar

Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than Yu Yu Myint Than ist eine in Yangon lebende burmesische Fotografin. Sie arbeitete als Lehrerausbilderin, als sie nebenbei ihre Fotografie-Leidenschaft forcierte. Im Jahre 2014 erhielt sie ein Stipendium für den International Reporting Workshop, der eine Fortbildung am renommierten Pathshala Asian Media Institute in Dhaka in Bangladesch einschließt. Yu Yu war Stipendiatin der Magnum Foundation’s Photography and Social Justice Program in New York.

  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than
  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than
  • Yu Yu Myint Than | Memory Lane © Yu Yu Myint Than