Film Festival Science Film Festival 2019

Science Film Festival 2019

Thu, 03.10.2019 -
Mon, 23.12.2019

“Humboldt and the Web of Life” is this year’s topic of the Science Film Festival. With our world thriving towards progress and technology and less focused on the consequences, economic and technology growth has on our environment, we have now come to a turning point. Alexander von Humboldt has already known 250 years ago, that the entire globe is connected with one another in ways that human beings may never understand fully. Because, as Humboldt has predicted, nature is interconnected with itself like a web of life, any human interference will result in unpredictable aftereffects. With the arctic melting, forests burning and global warming increasing exponentially, the consequences of industrialization and urbanization are clear. It is time to think of further sustainable solutions in order to make planet earth livable for future generations. With Humboldt’s 250th birthday this year, the Science Film Festival 2019 celebrates the scientific findings of Humboldt, which are more needed today than ever before.

Watch the Science Film Festival trailer.

Portrait of scientist Alexander von Humboldt by Friedrich Georg Weitsch, 1806 Portrait of scientist Alexander von Humboldt by Friedrich Georg Weitsch, 1806

Initiated by the Goethe-Institut Thailand in 2005, the Science Film Festival in 2019 is taking place in more than 18 countries around the globe.
 
Festival in Malaysia:

During the festival period from 03 October to 23 December 2019 the 29 films are available for streaming in schools, universities and other educational venues throughout the country, non-commercially. If you would like to screen the SFF film in your school, please contact mirjam.haeger@goethe.de

The Science Film Festival seeks to explain scientific issues accessibly and entertainingly to a broad audience. For this reason science- and nature-related activities had been created and are accessible online to complement the screenings. Thus, the Science Film Festival intends to contribute to the development of science communication infrastructure and supports science education in Malaysia. It creates an effective and enjoyable learning environment through this multidisciplinary approach. Please visit the SFF Homepage for the teaching materials.

SFF Poster 2019
 

Opening of Science Film Festival:

This year the Festival will be officially opened during the Cooler Lumper Festival of Ideas. Their topic this year is  #SuperCanggih, which means “super sophisticated” in Bahasa. With all the current problems going on in our world, like climate change, poverty and refugee crisis, the Cooler Lumpur Festival wants to celebrate the people who do extraordinary things to improve today’s conditions. They are everyday heroes, the #SuperCanggih.

At the opening of the Science Film Festival, four short movies will be screened that focus on the topic of Humboldt’s scientific achievements and on today’s environmental issues. Furthermore, the opening will be accompanied with science and nature related activities for schoolkids and young adults. In addition to that, the 20 most creative photos from the Social Media Photography Competition “Humboldt and I” will be shown too.

The Science Film Festival 2019 in Malaysia is organized by the Goethe-Institut Malaysia in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, the Cooler Lumpur Festival, the Malaysian Nature Society, the German Malaysian Institute, the Association of Science, Technology and Innovation, the Ecocentric Transitions and the German Partner School Initiative in Malaysia.

Back

Filmfestival Wissenschaftsfilmfestival 2019

Science Film Festival 2019

Do, 03.10.2019 -
Mo, 23.12.2019

„Humboldt und das Netzwerk des Lebens“ ist das diesjährige Thema des Science Film Festivals. In unserer heutigen Welt wenden wir uns immer mehr der technologischen Progressivität zu und vergessen dabei häufig, welche Konsequenzen ökonomisches sowie technologisches Wachstum mit sich zieht. Alexander von Humboldt hat bereits vor 250 Jahren herausgefunden, dass unsere Welt auf eine Art miteinander verknüpft ist, die wir Menschen niemals komplett verstehen können. Weil die Natur, wie Humboldt es vorausgesagt hatte, ein Netzwerk des Lebens ist und somit alles miteinander verbunden ist, wird jeder menschliche Eingriff unvorhersehbare Folgen tragen. Mit der schmelzenden Arktis, brennende Wälder und die exponentiell wachsende Klimaerwärmung sind die Effekte der Industrialisierung und der Urbanisierung heutzutage bereits deutlich erkennbar. Es ist nun die Zeit gekommen um über nachhaltige Lösungen nachzudenken, die unseren Planeten lebenswert für folgende Generationen machen sollen. Mit Humboldt’s 250. Geburtstag dieses Jahr, feiert das Science Film Festival 2019 die wissenschaftlichen Befunde des Forschers, welche in unserer heutigen Zeit mehr gebraucht werden als jemals zuvor. 

Hier können Sie den Science Film Festival Trailer anschauen.

Porträt des Naturforschers Alexander von Humboldt von Friedrich Georg Weitsch, 1806 Porträt des Naturforschers Alexander von Humboldt von Friedrich Georg Weitsch, 1806

Vom Goethe-Institut Thailand in 2005 initiiert, findet das Science Film Festival in 2019 nun in mehr als 18 Ländern statt.

Festival in Malaysia:

Während der Festivalperiode vom 3. Oktober bis zum 23. Dezember 2019 werden 29 Filme für Schulen, Universitäten und andere Bildungsinstitute über das ganze Land verteilt werbefrei  zum Streamen zur Verfügung gestellt. Wenn Sie die Science Film Festival Filme in Ihrer Schule zeigen möchten, kontaktieren Sie bitte: mirjam.haeger@goethe.de

Das Science Film Festival zielt darauf ab, wissenschaftliche Problemstellungen auf einer zugänglichen und unterhaltsamen Art einem breiten Publikum zu präsentieren. Aus diesem Grund werden wissenschafts- und naturverwandte Aktivitäten kreiert, die Online zugängig sind, welche die Filmvorführungen komplementieren sollen. Das Ziel des Science Film Festivals ist es, eine Infrastruktur für die Wissenschaftskommunikation aufzubauen und Bildungsarbeit im wissenschaftlichen Bereich zu leisten. Durch eine solche multidisziplinäre Annäherung wird eine effektive und unterhaltsame Lernumgebung kreiert. Bitte besuchen Sie die SFF Webseite für die Lehrmaterialien.

SFF Poster 2019

 

Eröffnung des Wissenschaftsfilmfestivals:

Das diesjährige Festival wird offiziell während des Cooler Lumpur Festival of Ideas eröffnet. Das Cooler Lumpur Festival hat sich #SuperCanggih als diesjährige Thema gemacht. Aus dem Malaysischen übersetzt heißt dies so viel wie „super fortgeschritten“. Mit all den Problemen die uns in der heutigen Welt beschäftigen, wie Klimawandel, Armut und die Flüchtlingskrise, möchte das Cooler Lumpur Festival diejenigen feiern, die außerordentliches für unsere Gesellschaft geleistet haben, um unsere aktuelle Situation zu verbessern. Diese Menschen sind unsere täglichen Helden, es sind die #SuperCanggih.

Bei der Eröffnung des Science Film Festivals, werden 4 Kurzfilme gezeigt, die einen Fokus auf Humboldt’s wissenschaftliche Befunde und aktuelle Probleme unserer Umwelt haben.  Zusätzlich wird die Eröffnung von wissenschaftlichen und naturbezogenen Aktivitäten für Schulkinder und junge Erwachsene begleitet. Außerdem werden die 20 besten Fotos des Soziale Medien Fotowettbewerbs „Humboldt and I“ in einer Slideshow gezeigt.

Das Science Film Festival 2019 wird organisiert vom Goethe-Institut Malaysia in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bildungsministerium, dem Cooler Lumpur Festival, der Malaysian Nature Society, dem German-Malaysian Institut, der Association of Science, Technology & Innovation, dem Ecocentric Transitions und den PASCH-Schulen.

Zurück