Audio-visual performance The Interests Are At Stake

The interests are at stake © Kreuser & Cailleau

Fri, 21.02.2020

Sunway University

School of Arts
No. 5, Jalan Universiti
Bandar Sunway
47500 Selangor Darul Ehsan

Experimental analogue DJ/VJ set by KREUSER/CAILLEAU for prepared turntables, Super8 projectors and audio-devices

In their transdisciplinary project, artist duo KREUSER/CAILLEAU explore the imagery and sounds of money.

When and how does a piece of paper or an artwork acquire an exchange value? How is its value determined and put into practice? Although we live in a globalized world and economy, local history, traditions, approaches and interpretations of exchange are different. What can be summed up with „exchange“ in English requires many different words in German: Austausch, Umtausch, Eintausch, Abtausch. What they all have in common is a given or to be determined relation to a value. How do we define that value, what’s the exchange rate? How does value look like in artistic practice?

Kreuser & Cailleau

The Interests Are At Stake is a visual and sonic exploration of this phenomenon!

KREUSER/CAILLEAU is a duo project of German composer Timo Kreuser and French filmmaker Guillaume Cailleau. Their fetish is approaching objects as container of signifying function, generalized meaning and sociocultural contexts, which could be coins, bank notes or gold. By ignoring the primary features of things, and instead focusing on the potential of the object itself as sonic and visual stimulator, meaning gets molded into new contexts and the original understanding of it is undermined.

With their latest project The Interests Are At Stake they tour South East Asia in January and February 2020. In Malaysia the local sound artist, Goh Lee Kwang, performs with the duo during one set.
Goh Lee Kwang has created sound installations, sonic-visual interactive installations, single and multi-channel videos, improvised music performances, tape music, works for radio broadcasts and soundtracks for theater, dance, film, and has exhibited in venues in both Asia and Europe.

K&C | SUNWAY poster

The performance is supported by the Goethe-Institut Malaysia.

Back

Audiovisuelle Performance The Interests Are At Stake

The interests are at stake © Kreuser & Cailleau

Fr, 21.02.2020

Sunway University

School of Arts
No. 5, Jalan Universiti
Bandar Sunway
47500 Selangor Darul Ehsan

Experimentelles analoges DJ/VJ-Set von KREUSER/CAILLEAU für vorbereitete Turntables, Super8-Projektoren und Audiogeräte

In ihrer transdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit erkundet das Künstlerduo KREUSER/CAILLEAU die Bild- und Geräuschwelten von Geld.

Wann und wie erhält ein Blatt Papier oder ein Kunstwerk einen Tauschwert? Wie wird der Wert ermittelt und in die Praxis umgesetzt? Obwohl wir in einer globalisierten Welt und Wirtschaft leben, sind die lokale Geschichte, Traditionen, Ansätze und Interpretationen des Austauschs unterschiedlich. Was sich mit Exchange auf Englisch zusammenfassen lässt, erfordert viele verschiedene Wörter auf Deutsch: Austausch, Umtausch, Eintausch, Abtausch. Was sie alle gemeinsam haben, ist ein bestimmtes oder zu bestimmendes Verhältnis zu einem Wert. Wie definieren wir diesen Wert, wie ist der Wechselkurs? Wie sieht der Wert in der künstlerischen Praxis aus?

Kreuser & Cailleau

The Interests Are At Stake ist eine visuelle und akustische Auseinandersetzung mit diesem Phänomen!

KREUSER/CAILLEAU ist ein Duo-Projekt des deutschen Komponisten Timo Kreuser und des französischen Filmemachers Guillaume Cailleau. Ihr Fetisch ist es, sich Objekten als Behälter signifikanter Funktion, allgemeiner Bedeutung und soziokulturellem Kontext zu nähern. Diese können u.a. Münzen, Papiergeld oder Gold sein. Indem sie die primären Eigenschaften der Dinge ignorieren und sich stattdessen auf das Potenzial des Objekts selbst als akustischer und visueller Stimulator konzentrieren, wird die Bedeutung in neue Zusammenhänge geformt und das ursprüngliche Verständnis davon wird unterlaufen.

Mit ihrem neuesten Projekt The Interests Are At Stake touren sie im Januar und Februar 2020 durch Südostasien. In Malaysia tritt der lokale Soundkünstler Goh Lee Kwang mit dem Duo in einem Set auf.
Goh Lee Kwang hat Klanginstallationen, klanglich-visuelle interaktive Installationen, Ein- und Mehrkanalvideos, improvisierte Musikaufführungen, Tonbandmusik, Werke für Radiosendungen und Soundtracks für Theater, Tanz, Film sowohl in Asien als auch in Europa kreiert.

K&C | SUNWAY poster

Die Performance wird vom Goethe-Institut Malaysia unterstützt.

Zurück