Digital technology meets books Coding Week 2019 success

Coding Sieck slider
© JoeVision for Goethe

Information and Communication Technology students from the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) and University of Applied Sciences (HTW) in Berlin last week cooperated with German language students from the University of Namibia (UNAM) in the production of an app that creates an augmented reality of Namibian children’s books.

Six books from Macmillan Education Namibia Publishers, Kuiseb Publishing House, Yambeka Children Media and Wordweaver were made available for this project and three of the ICT students who produced the best apps will be sent to present their ideas at the Conference on Culture and Computer Sciences; Virtual History and Augmented Present in late May. The conference is to be held in Berlin and this will be the students’ first trip to Germany. See the link below for more information on the project and the books used.
 

  • coding boy and girl © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding boys group © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding buy a brick concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Denise concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
“We have embarked on this project to encourage a reading culture and have children enjoy reading by connecting a book with a smartphone or tablet that are very popular amongst their generation,” said Goethe-Institut Namibia Head of Library and Information Detlef Pfeifer. He said the app that is yet to be named, most likely along the lines of “Living Namibian Books”, will be available for Android and Apple devices.

The concept of an augmented reality is not that recent but its application to Namibian children’s’ books is new. “Augmented reality is an extension of images, animations and other graphics to what already exists in the material world – in this case the book,” said NUST student Meshake Mwinga who will attend the conference together with Dan Ntwari and Erich Godenschweig. Mwinga explained how an augmented reality makes reading more fun. “Digital technology is very important in encouraging a reading culture because children can through their devices enjoy exciting animations and images that also help them to understand the books better and for instance, hear the proper enunciation of words or understand the meanings of words better through the animations,” he said.
  • Coding Erich concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding girl write © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding wide shot girls © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding quan show book © JoeVision for Goethe
Participants were split into six groups that consist of a member from each educational institution. Coding commenced on the first of the five-day event and involved various tasks like scanning images, identifying markers for the app to work and animation. Mwinga and Ntwari agree that Coding Week 2019 exposed them to the dynamics of teamwork, from which they learnt how to better coordinate efforts in a group and overcome challenges. “Producing everything within a week was not easy but it worked out,” said Ntwari. Mwinga concurred and noted how the groups’ diversity was an advantage when they encountered problems. “The different cultures and educational backgrounds of everybody came together well. When producing any application, you are bound to encounter bugs. We worked well together and solved problems like images not displaying correctly by splitting tasks amongst the group members so that we can also overcome the challenge of coding being time consuming,” said Mwinga.
  • Coding group discuss © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Sieck and Erich © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding two girls phone © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Sieck concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding two men concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
Some of the selected books are in German and that is where the language students from UNAM played more than the obvious role. “As computer scientists, we may lack communication skills and grammar, but the UNAM students were also integrated in the design and production of the apps so that it could be as perfect as possible, down to the enunciation of words,” said Mwinga.

In a short interview before their departure, the HTW students agreed that being part of this project exposed them to more than the challenges of coding and also provided them with the opportunity to see Namibia.

Click here for more information on the conference in Berlin.

Digitale Technologie trifft auf Bücher Erfolgreiche Coding Week 2019

Coding Sieck slider
© JoeVision for Goethe

In der letzten Woche haben Studierende der Informations- und Kommunikationswissenschaften der Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) und der University of Applied Sciences Berlin (HTW) in Kooperation mit Germanistikstudierenden der University of Namibia (UNAM) eine App erstellt, die eine Augmented Reality für namibische Kinderbücher erschafft.

Sechs Bücher der Verlagshäuser Macmillan Education Namibia Publishers, Kuiseb Publishing House, Yambeka Children Media und Wordweaver wurden für dieses Projekt bereitgestellt. Drei Studierende, die die besten Apps entwickelt haben, werden Ende Mai eine Konferenz zum Thema Kultur und Informatik, virtuelle Geschichte und erweiterte Gegenwart besuchen, um ihre Ideen zu präsentieren. Diese wird in Berlin stattfinden, für die drei Studierenden ist es ihre erste Reise nach Deutschland. Folgen Sie dem untenstehenden Link für mehr Informationen zu dem Projekt und den verwendeten Büchern.

  • coding boy and girl © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding boys group © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding buy a brick concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Denise concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
„Wir haben das Projekt initiiert, um eine Lesekultur zu fördern und dafür zu sorgen, dass Kindern das Lesen Freude bereitet, indem sie ein Buch mit einem Smartphone oder Tablet verbinden, Medien, die in ihrer Generation sehr beliebt sind“, so Detlef Pfeifer, Leiter der Bibliotheks- und Informationsabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Namibia. Er erklärt, dass die App, für die derzeit noch nach einem passenden Namen gesucht wird, für Apple und Android-Geräte verfügbar sein wird. Möglicherweise wird sie als „Living Namibian Books“ oder mit einem ähnlichen Namen betitelt werden.

Das Konzept der Augmented Reality ist keine Neuheit mehr, doch wird es erstmalig auf namibische Kinderbücher angewandt. „Augmented Reality ist die Erweiterung von bereits in der materiellen Welt vorhandenen Bildern, Animationen und anderen Verbildlichungen – in diesem Fall also des Buchs“, erklärt der NUST-Student Meshake Mwinga, der gemeinsam mit Dan Ntawi und Erich Godenschweig die Konferenz besuchen wird. Mwinga führt an, weshalb das Lesen durch Augmented Reality mehr Spaß macht: „Digitale Technologien sind für die Förderung einer Lesekultur von großer Bedeutung, da sich Kinder auf diese Weise an spannenden Animationen und Bildern erfreuen können, die ihnen auch helfen, die Bücher besser zu verstehen. Außerdem hören sie die korrekte Aussprache der Wörter oder können ihre Bedeutung durch Bildmaterial besser erfassen“, sagt er.
  • Coding Erich concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding girl write © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding wide shot girls © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding quan show book © JoeVision for Goethe
Die Teilnehmenden wurden in sechs Gruppen eingeteilt, die aus jeweils einem Mitglied jeder Institution bestand. Das Kodieren begann bereits am ersten Tag der fünftägigen Veranstaltung und beinhaltete Aufgaben wie das Scannen von Bildern, die Identifizierung von Markierungen, um die App funktionstüchtig zu machen, sowie Animationen. Mwinga und Ntawi stimmen darin überein, dass die Coding Week 2019 ihnen die Dynamiken von Teamarbeit aufgezeigt hat, wodurch sie gelernt haben, Aufgaben in einer Gruppe besser zu koordinieren und Probleme zu überwinden. „Es war nicht einfach, alles innerhalb einer Woche zu erstellen, aber schlussendlich hat alles funktioniert“, bemerkt Ntawi. Mwinga schließt sich dem an und bemerkt, dass die Diversität der Gruppe sich als vorteilhaft erwies, wenn es Probleme gab. „Die verschiedenen Kulturen und Ausbildungshintergründe der einzelnen Mitlieder waren eine gute Kombination. Wenn man eine App produziert, muss man Programmierfehler ausmerzen. Wir haben gut zusammengearbeitet und Probleme wie die Fehldarstellung von Bildern dadurch gelöst, dass wir die Aufgaben aufgeteilt haben und so die Herausforderung des hohen Zeitaufwands für das Kodieren meistern konnten“, beschreibt Mwinga die Arbeit der Studierenden.
  • Coding group discuss © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Sieck and Erich © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding two girls phone © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding Sieck concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
  • Coding two men concentrate © JoeVision for Goethe
Einige der Bücher wurden auf Deutsch verfasst, weshalb die Germanistik-Studierenden der UNAM hier eine wichtige Rolle spielten. „Als Informatiker kann es vorkommen, dass uns die Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Kommunikation und Grammatik fehlen, doch die Studierenden der UNAM wurden ebenfalls in das Design und die Produktion der App mit eingebunden, sodass sie so perfekt wie möglich werden konnte, bis hin zur Aussprache von Wörtern“, erzählt Mwinga.

In einem kurzen Interview mit den Studierenden der HTW waren auch sie der Meinung, dass ihre Teilnahme an dem Projekt sie nicht nur vor Herausforderungen im Bereich Kodieren gestellt hat und ihnen ebenso die Möglichkeit gab, nach Namibia zu reisen.

Klicken Sie hier für genauere Informationen zu der Konferenz in Berlin.