Understanding the profession Curatorship Bootcamp 2019

Curation Bootcamp Molemo Slider
©Goethe-Institut Namibia

“Namibian artists often do not have the luxury of focusing on their craft as a result of there not being enough curators available, who are qualified.” National Art Gallery of Namibia (NAGN) Curatorial Coordinator, Ndeenda Shivute.

The Goethe-Institut Namibia in collaboration with the NAGN for the first time held a week-long workshop for arts students, graduates and enthusiasts to share skills and learn from qualified curators who have experiences in Namibia, South Africa and Nigeria. Hosted in the NAGN, the approach of combining theory with practice in a gallery setting was chosen because of the important role a curator plays in the functioning of a gallery, museum or arts institution.

  • Curation Bootcamp 1.2 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.1 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.3 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curatorship Bootcamp 1.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
“The sudden influx of art graduates has Namibia’s visual arts scene in a dilemma, calling for new approaches to curating,” said Namibia Arts Association Curator, Elize Van Huyssteen, who also facilitated at the bootcamp. She explained that as Namibia’s arts scene unfolds and develops, there is a lack of a vision, which makes the profession chaotic at times. “This is when curators are needed to bring the spaces of display to the creators and for them to also create new spaces for the presentation of their work,” she said.

To address the skills gap in the visual arts scene of Namibia, the bootcamp opened with the topic of understanding a curator’s role. The profession is often overlooked and not understood enough to be appreciated in Namibia. “Namibia’s arts sector is fairly small but has grown a lot since independence. This means we are now at a stage where there are many creators but not enough people to get that art from a studio and into a gallery,” said Shivute. The bootcamp encouraged participants to look outside of the ‘white cube’ and understand the creation of spaces outside of official institutions.
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.1 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.2 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
“Throughout my years of experience in and out of a gallery, it was always hard to overcome the obstacles and formalities of acquiring space to present my and other artists’ work. As curators, we need to bring these spaces to the artists and have them understand the concepts of creating space, trading, stimulating discourse for education and the simple aspect of entertaining your viewers,” said Van Huyssteen. This, she explained, highlights the importance of tertiary education in the field of curating, which is easily overlooked. “It is necessary for a person to have a qualification in curating or other areas of humanities for them as a curator to communicate the artist’s message effectively,” she said.
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Shivute concurs and said without formal education, a curator will find it difficult to work with an artist and most importantly, understand the subject of their work for it to be presented effectively. “There are people who have managed to create a curating career without the education but I think a good mix of education and experience would yield the best results in a gallery or any space,” she said. Communication is a key concept in curation to manage the collection of a gallery or museum effectively, to the degree of engaging with the public for them to understand and appreciate the craft. An Art Talk during the bootcamp challenged the conventional perception of a curator as developed in Europe and encouraged participants to redefine the role in the context of Africa and the continent’s cultural practices. The stagnation of collections and their lack of fluidity also featured in the discussion. Participants and the public guests agreed that collections can be preserved, as the curator’s role is defined, but can also grow to accommodate new items.
 
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.7 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.9 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
The conceptualisation of an exhibition was also covered during the bootcamp and Huyssteen said without a clear channel of communication between a qualified curator and artist, there is no beginning or end to any show. “Without a well-thought through idea, a curator will not be able to work with artists, institutions and potential sponsors. The way in which an exhibition is conceptualised and laid out, makes it either a remarkable experience or maze a viewer gets lost in,” she said. Van Huyssteen clarified that the role of a curator is still unknown in Namibia and most persons already in the profession are doing their best with a diploma or higher qualification in visual art – not specifically curating. “Curators are seen as uneducated and unprofessional by the artists and institutions they have to work with or for. I fortunately see a change in this attitude as curators rise and show their expertise, which challenges the negative perception of their profession and the old story of institutions having a limited budget,” she said.

The Art Talk also highlighted the importance for a curator to question the selection of items put on display in a museum or gallery, and what those items communicate about the society they represent. The concept of barriers was also covered in the discussion and how a mundane barrier such as a gallery’s door needs urgent attention, while the brutality of selection behind the door and in the gallery space undermines the expertise of curators and artists.

The last days of the bootcamp required participants to explore the NAGN, other galleries and general public spaces for them to apply the knowledge gained. “We hoped to have given participants the hands-on experience and for them to also be aware of the challenges we face as curators in institutions so that they reflect and develop ways around those challenges, and ultimately bring Namibia’s visual arts more into the eye of the public,” said Shivute.

Den Beruf verstehen
Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren “Bootcamp” 2019

Curation Bootcamp Molemo Slider
©Goethe-Institut Namibia

“Namibische Künstlerinnen und Künstler genießen häufig nicht den Luxus, sich auf ihr Handwerk konzentrieren zu können, da es nicht genügend Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren gibt, die qualifiziert sind“, wie die kuratorische Leiterin Ndeena Shivute der National Art Gallery of Namibia (NAGN) anführt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Namibia hielt die NAGN zum ersten Mal einen einwöchigen Workshop für Kunststudierende, Absolventinnen und Absolventen sowie Kunstenthusiasten und –enthusiastinnen ab, um Kenntnisse mit qualifizierten Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren auszutauschen, die Erfahrungen in Namibia, Südafrika und Nigeria gesammelt haben, und von ihnen Neues zu lernen.
 
Der Workshop fand in der NAGN statt und verfolgte das Ziel, Theorie und Praxis in der Umgebung einer Kunstgalerie miteinander zu kombinieren, da Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren eine wichtige Funktion in Galerien, Museen oder Kunstinstitutionen einnehmen.
 

  • Curation Bootcamp 1.2 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.1 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.3 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp 1.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curatorship Bootcamp 1.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
„Der plötzliche Zustrom von Kunstabsolventen hat Namibias Bildende Kunst-Szene in ein Dilemma gebracht, neue Herangehensweisen an das Kuratieren werden demnach dringend benötigt“, erklärt die Kuratorin der Namibia Arts Association, Elize Van Huyssteen, die das „Bootcamp“ ermöglicht hat. Sie zeigt auf, dass es an einer Vision fehlt, während sich Namibias Kunstszene entwickelt und entfaltet. Dies sorgt dafür, dass der Beruf teils sehr chaotisch ist. „Dies geschieht, wenn Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren den Schaffenden neue Orte der Darstellung bieten sollen, ebenso wie das Kreieren neuer Orte für die Präsentation ihrer Arbeit“, so Van Huyssteen.

Um auf diese fehlenden Kenntnisse in der Bildenden Kunst-Szene Namibias aufmerksam zu machen, wurde in der ersten Einheit des “Bootcamps” thematisiert, wie die Rolle einer Kuratorin oder eines Kurators zu verstehen ist. Der Beruf wird oft übersehen und nicht ausreichend verstanden, um in Namibia geschätzt zu werden.
 
„Der Bereich Kunst ist in Namibia recht klein, ist aber seit der Unabhängigkeit stark angewachsen. Derzeit befinden wir uns an einem Punkt, an dem es viele künstlerisch Tätige, aber nicht genügend Menschen gibt, die Kunst von einem Atelier in eine Galerie bringen“, berichtet Shivute. Das „Bootcamp“ ermutigt die Teilnehmenden dazu, einen Blick aus dem „White Cube“ zu werfen und das Schaffen von Räumen außerhalb offizieller Institutionen wahrzunehmen.
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.1 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.2 ©NAGN
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp day 2.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
“Während meiner Jahre, in denen ich Erfahrungen innerhalb und außerhalb der Galerie gesammelt habe, war es immer schwierig für mich, die Hürden und Formalitäten zu überwinden, um einen Ort dafür zu gewinnen, meine und die Arbeit anderer Künstler zu präsentieren.

Als Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren müssen wir diese Orte zu den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern bringen und sie die Konzepte der Schaffung von Räumen, des Handeln und Stimulierens von Diskursen verstehen lassen, um das Publikum zu bilden oder schlicht und ergreifend zu unterhalten“, sagt Van Huyssteen. Dieser Umstand macht noch einmal nachdrücklich darauf aufmerksam, wie wichtig eine tertiäre Bildung im Bereich des Kuratierens ist, was allerdings kaum Beachtung findet. „Es ist wichtig, dass eine Person für das Kuratieren oder andere Bereiche der Geisteswissenschaften qualifiziert ist, um als Kuratorin oder Kurator die Botschaft des Künstlers oder der Künstlerin effektiv wiederzugeben“, merkt sie an.
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Art Talk 1.1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Shivute pflichtet ihr bei und bemerkt, dass es ohne formale Bildung für Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren schwierig ist, mit den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern zu arbeiten und am allerwichtigsten, das Thema ihrer Arbeit zu verstehen, um es effektiv zu präsentieren. „Es gibt Leute, die es geschafft haben, eine Karriere als Kurator oder Kuratorin aufzubauen, obwohl sie keine entsprechende Ausbildung haben, aber ich denke, eine gesunde Mischung zwischen Ausbildung und Erfahrung führt zu den besten Ergebnissen in einer Galerie oder an irgendeinem anderen Ort“, schätzt sie.
 
Kommunikation ist eines der wichtigsten Konzepte im Bereich des Kuratierens, um eine Sammlung effektiv in einer Galerie oder einem Museum auszustellen, zu einem Grad, zu dem das Publikum mit eingebunden werden und die Kunst verstehen und wertschätzen kann.
 
Ein Kunstgespräch während des „Bootcamps“ stellte die Rolle des Kurators oder der Kuratorin, wie sie in Europa erfunden wurde, in Frage. Die Teilnehmenden wurden stattdessen dazu angeregt, diese Rolle im Kontext Afrikas und seiner kulturellen Praktiken neu zu definieren. Ebenso wurden die Stagnation und der Mangel an Veränderlichkeit während der Diskussion thematisiert. Sowohl die Teilnehmer als auch Gäste aus der breiten Öffentlichkeit stimmten zu, dass Sammlungen erhalten bleiben sollten, wie es die Rolle der Kuratorin oder des Kurators definiert, andererseits aber auch erweitert werden sollten, um neue Ausstellungsstücke zu beherbergen.
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.7 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Curation Bootcamp Day 4.9 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Die Konzeptualisierung einer Ausstellung wurde während des „Bootcamps“ ebenfalls behandelt. Huyssteen legt dar, dass es ohne eine eindeutige Kommunikation zwischen einem qualifizierten Kurator oder Kuratorin und einem Künstler oder einer Künstlerin weder den Anfang noch das Ende einer Ausstellung gibt. „Ohne eine gut durchdachte Idee wird eine Kuratorin oder ein Kurator nicht mit Künstlerinnen oder Künstlern arbeiten können, ebenso wenig mit Institutionen oder potentiellen Sponsoren. Die Art, auf die eine Ausstellung konzipiert und dargelegt wird, macht sie entweder zu einer besonderen Erfahrung oder zu einem Labyrinth, in dem Besucherinnen und Besucher verloren gehen“, erläutert sie. Van Huyssteen verdeutlicht, dass die Rolle der Kuratorin oder des Kurators in Namibia noch immer unbekannt ist und die meisten Menschen, die in diesem Beruf arbeiten, mit einem Diplom oder höheren Qualifikation in Bildender Kunst ihr Bestes geben, nicht gezwungenermaßen als Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren. „Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren werden von den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie den Institutionen, für die oder mit denen sie arbeiten, als ungelernte, unprofessionelle Kräfte gesehen. Glücklicherweise erkenne ich derzeit eine Veränderung in dieser Haltung, da Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren sich aufrichten und ihre Expertise unter Beweis stellen. Dies widerlegt den negativen Blick auf ihren Beruf und die leidige Geschichte von Institutionen mit einem begrenzten Budget“, erzählt sie.

Während des Kunstgesprächs wurde ebenfalls betont, wie wichtig es für einen Kurator oder eine Kuratorin ist, die Auswahl der Gegenstände, die im Museum ausgestellt werden, in Frage zu stellen und was diese über die Gesellschaft, die sie repräsentieren, aussagen. Auch das Konzept der Barriere wurde in der Diskussion behandelt und wie eine profane Barriere wie die Eingangstür einer Galerie dringend Aufmerksamkeit verlangt, während die Brutalität der ausgewählten Ausstellungsstücke hinter der Tür die Expertise von Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren, Künstlerinnen und Künstlern untergräbt.

In den letzten Tagen des “Bootcamps” lernten die Teilnehmenden Näheres über die NAGN, weitere Galerien und öffentliche Plätze, an denen sie ihr neugewonnenes Wissen anwenden können. „Wir hoffen, dass wir den Teilnehmenden praktische Erfahrungen geben konnten und sie ebenso darauf aufmerksam gemacht haben, vor welche Herausforderungen Institutionen uns als Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren stellen, damit sie Mittel und Wege reflektieren und entwickeln, um diese zu umgehen. Schlussendlich sollen sie Namibias Bildende Künste stärker in den Blick der Öffentlichkeit rücken“, fasst Shivute das „Bootcamp“ zusammen.