Theatre: Space of Knowledge Rehearsing – Mwange|Becker

Rehearsing9932slide
©NTN

Two theatre practitioners from Namibia and Germany in 2019 engaged on a project through the Goethe-Institut International Co-production Fund to manifest a theatre production that investigates theatre as a space in which knowledge and reflection are explored and shared. Sepiso Mwange and Mathias Becker reflect on their own experiences and fears, the power of history and their own position within it. 

Through interviews and their own research processes, they seek to learn more about performative practices, the formation of knowledge in the theatre space and the meaning of archives, with Namibia as an example. Working towards Rehearsing Mwange|Becker begun in 2018 through an artistic collaboration.

“This production has evolved from a canonical European motive as a point of departure to question our relationship to theatre,” said Becker who studied contemporary puppetry in Berlin. Puppetry was one of the starting points for this devised theatre production.
 
“We first met in 2018 and instead of having this be a once-off encounter, we decided to continue collaborating.  Together with the Katutura Youth Enterprise Centre (KAYEC) we offered an animation and storytelling workshop for children,” said Mwange, who is an applied theatre practitioner and performing arts lecturer at the University of Namibia.
 

  • Rehearsing6579 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6586 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6598 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6654 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Becker explained their multimedia performance of puppets, sound and videography were ways in which they explored the history and possible future of contemporary theatre makers communing from Germany and Namibia, at socio-cultural and historical sites such as the National Theatre of Namibia (NTN), that were interrogated as places of memory and cultural mapping. 
 
“Puppetry creates the platform for dialogue and functions as a communicator between the performer and the audience. Speaking from a personal perspective makes it easier to approach sensitive topics, like the colonial history of a building that is still a space of knowledge, learning and refection,” said Becker.
  • Rehearsing6663 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6685 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6727 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6775 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6787 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6801 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

 
“We wanted to explore the NTN through its history and the responsibility that we occupy within that space – by making reference to social constructs and how this space reflects life. Mathias Becker looked at how he could possibly have a connection to Namibia given our country’s history, using his surname as an entry point,” said Mwange. She used storytelling and talked about her relation to her understanding of what it means to be Namibian, and what theatre means to her.
 
“It was important for us to interact with the audience. This was not a theatre sports performance in which the instructions from the audience determined the storyline - we encouraged the audience to interact with each other while what we do on stage develops - to make them think about many things such as important moments in their lives,” said Mwange.
  • Rehearsing0006 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0023 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0031 ©NTN
  •  Rehearsing0033 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0049 ©NTN
Both of them were directors/devisors and performers, supported by Advisor Nelago Shilongoh (Namibia) with dramaturgy by Yasmine Salimi (Germany), live sound design by Karl Ehlers and video design by Martin Amushendje. The stage design was minimal, in an archival theme, and apart from objects and chairs, included a wooden desk and projection screen. The stage was surrounded by an exhibition documenting their research and rehearsal process.
 
Becker said the stage became a hybrid space in which they toggled between theatre space and archive. “This illustrated the communication between us as theatre professionals. We were critical of the communication process and also deployed the use of organic and electronic sounds as our way of communicating,” said Becker.
  • Rehearsing0062 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0110 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9926 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9931 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9942 ©NTN
The National Theatre of Namibia’s Artistic Director, Nelago Shilongoh, valued the institution’s involvement in the production of this performance. “As a national institution, we very often function as the provider of space for theatrical arts development in Namibia. Bringing Mwange and Becker together to explore interesting ideas in the theatrical space whilst incorporating Namibia’s historical importance has made a meaningful to experimental theatre in our country,” she said. 
 
Rehearsing Mwange|Becker is scheduled for 22-24 November 2019 at the Schaubude Berlin. Click here for more information.

Theatre: Space of Knowledge
Rehearsing – Mwange|Becker

Rehearsing9932slide
©NTN

Zwei Theaterkünstler aus Namibia und Deutschland bewerkstelligten 2019 ein gemeinsames Projekt mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts International Co-Produktion Fund, welches versuchte Gemeinsamkeiten in Raum und Wissen als Reflektion in einer Theaterproduktionen darzustellen. Sepiso Mwange und Mathias Becker arbeiteten erstmalig in einer künstlerischen Kollaboration im Jahr 2018 zusammen. Mwange und Becker untersuchten das Theater als Raum des Wissens. Sie reflektierten ihre eigenen Erfahrungen und Ängste, sowie die Macht der Geschichte und ihrer eigenen Positionen mitendrinn.

Durch ihre Recherche und Interviews, zielten sie darauf ab mehr über das Feld der Darstellenden Kunst zu lernen und es in einen Ort des Wissens zu formatieren, der da Theater selbst als Raum nutzt und das gesammelte aus Archiven am Beispiel Namibias vereint. 
 
„Diese Produktion wuchs von einem anerkannten europäischen Motiv als Anfangspunkt, zu einer Frage der Zusammenarbeit und Beziehung im Theater“ sagt Becker, der zeitgenössisches Handopuppenspiel in Berlin studierte. Das Handpuppenspiel war der Ausgangspunkt für die letztendliche Produktion.

„Wir trafen uns zum ersten Mal 2018 und anstatt es bei diesem einmaligen treffen zu belassen, entschieden wir uns in einer Kollaboration weiter miteinander zu arbeiten. Zusammen mit dem Katutura Youth Enterprise Center (KAYEC), boten wir einen Animation und Storytelling Workshop für Kinder an,“ sagt Mwange, die eine angewandte Theaterkünstlerin ist und als Darstellende Kunst Dozentin an de University of Namibia lehrt.

  • Rehearsing6579 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6586 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6598 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6654 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Becker erklärt ihre multimediale Darstellung von Puppen, Sound und Videoabschnitten, war einer der Wege durch welchen sie versuchten die Geschichte und eine mögliche Zukunft der zeitgenössischen Kunst zwischen Deutschland und Namibia zu entdecken. Die sozi-kulturellen und historischen Orte, wie beispielsweise das National Theater of Namibia (NTN), wurden als Räume der Erinnerungen aufgefasst und kulturell verortet.
 
„Durchs Handpuppenspiel entsteht eine Dialogsplattform die als Kommunikator zwischen Künstler und Zuschauer fungiert. Aus der eigenen Perspektive zu sprechen macht es einfacher sensible Themen wie die Kolonialzeit von Gebäuden und Räumen anzusprechen, die bis heute Orte des Wissens, des Lernens und der Reflektion sind,“ so Becker.
  • Rehearsing6663 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6685 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6727 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6775 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6787 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Rehearsing6801 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
„Wir wollen das NTN mit Hilfe der Geschichte und seiner Verantwortung ergründen. Wie beherbergt beides diesen Raum? Schafft man eine Verbindung zwischen den sozialen Konstruktionen und wie Raum das Leben reflektiert, so kann man etwas Einsicht gewinnen. Mathias Becker recherchierte die Möglichkeit eine Verbindung zu Namibia und unserer Geschichte herzustellen, mit den Nachnamen als Ausgangspunkt,“ so Mwange. Sie nutzte Storytelling und redete über ihre Beziehung zu den Implikationen was Namibisch zu sein für sie heißt.

„Uns war es wichtig mit den Zuschauern zu interagieren. Dies war keine Theatersportvorführung, in welcher die Zuschauer die Geschichte determinieren – wir motivierten die Gäste lediglich mit uns zu interagieren, währen die Geschichte sich gemeinsam bildet – um ihnen einen Hauch der Wichtigkeit einzelner Momente ihres Lebens zu vermitteln,“ sagt Mwange.
  • Rehearsing0006 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0023 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0031 ©NTN
  •  Rehearsing0033 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0049 ©NTN
Beide Künstler waren Regisseure und Darsteller mit Beratung durch Nelago Shilongoh (Namibia), dramatologischer Unterstützung von Yasmine Salimi (Deutschland), live Sound Design von Karl Ehlers und Video Design von Martin Amushendje. Die Bühne wurde minimalistische ausgestattet im archivarischen Thema und zusätzlichen von Objekten und Stühlen, sowie einem hölzernen Tischen und Projektionsbildschirmen. Die Bühne war umringt bei einer Ausstellung, die die Produktion und Researchphase dokumentierte.
 
Er sagt, die Bühne wurde zu einem hybriden raum an dem Archiv mit Theater kollidierte. „Dies zeigt die Kommunikation zwischen und als Theaterkünstlern. Wir stehen dem kommunikativen Prozess kritisch gegenüber und wenden uns dem Nutzen von organischen oder elektronischen Sounds als weg der Kommunikation zu,“ so Becker.
  • Rehearsing0062 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing0110 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9926 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9931 ©NTN
  • Rehearsing9942 ©NTN
Die Künstlerische Direktorin des National Theater of Namibia, Nelago Shilongoh, rühmt den Einsatz des Instituts in der Produktion dieser Vorführung. „Als eine nationale Institution fungieren wir oft als unterstützender Raum für darstellende Kunst in Namibia. Die Möglichkeit Mwange und Becker zusammenzubringen, sodass sie zusammen ihre interessanten Ideen in Bezug auf den theatralischen Raum und Namibias historische Wichtigkeit ergründen können, ist sehr bedeutende für da experimentelle Theater in diesem Land“ sagt sie.
 
Rehearsing Mwange|Becker ist für den 22-24 November 2019 in der Schaubühne Berlin angesetzt. Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen.