Film-maker, director and writer Close-Up Schott

Florian Shoot Katutura 2 slide
©Tulinane Entertainment

Most well-known in Namibia for his film 'Katutura', Schott is a passionate creative who's constantly contributing to the film industry. Often the man behind the scenes, The Weekender looks at the life of Schott with jump-cuts, flashbacks and of course the close-up.

Born and raised in Essen, Germany, Schott grew up with two older sisters. His parents were both pharmacists. “As the youngest child, I think I had the most freedom to explore what I wanted to do with my time, which eventually led to my love for stories and cinema,” the director says.

Schott has always been interested in entertaining and telling stories. As a young boy, becoming a magician was on his agenda. “I wanted to 'wow' the people around me,” he says. “When I was 11 years old, my father 'smuggled' me into a cinema screening of ‘Jurassic Park’, which was only for people 12 years and older. And with that, I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to tell stories. Create worlds and characters and situations for audiences that might not exist in real life,” the film enthusiast adds.

After meeting his wife Cherlien at a film shoot, the director made the switch from Germany to Namibia and has been living in the country for the past decade. Schott's been honing his craft and building his name in showbiz since 2002 and has worked as a first assistant director in Europe, South America, Antarctica and Africa, naturally.
The director's hard work has been paying off – his projects are often awarded and screened at various film festivals internationally.

  • Shooting Baxu 1 ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
  • Shooting Baxu 2 ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
  • Baxu Premiere ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
Schott wrote and directed the self-financed comedy 'Everything Happens For a Reason'. The short, starring Chops Tshoopara, Muhindua Kaura, Joel Haikali, Lize Ehlers, David Ndjavera, Lynn Strydom, Armas Shivute and Norman Job, was shot in a single take and won the Afrinolly Short Film Competition in Nigeria in 2014 as well as awards for best director and editor at the Namibian Theatre and Film Awards (NTFAs) in 2014.
YouTube viewer Rosy Henschel was 'wowed' by the film. She posted: "I'm speechless. [I] didn't know we have such products. Well done and keep up the good work. Thanks for sharing.” Benyamen Jesaya echoed her sentiments, saying: “This is a good thing. Talent in the Land of the Brave”.

Two years later, the film-maker co-wrote and directed his debut feature film, 'Katutura', also starring Tshoopara. The film, produced by Tulinane Entertainment, was shot on location in Windhoek's Katutura township and focused on various characters, and has become one of the country's most successful films.
This year, Schott took up a similar role while working on the short 'Baxu and the Giants'. The film won best production design by Tanya Stroh, best editor by Roberts Scott, and best female actor for the young Camilla Jo-Ann Daries at the NTFAs.

With various other projects in development and also directing for German television, just how does he juggle his demanding profession with his personal life? “Hardly. It’s not always easy. Luckily my wife knows that I am married to her and to film,” he says, adding that he tries to keep Sundays sacred for family time, spending the evenings with his spouse.
  • Shoot Katutura 1 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 2 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 3 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 4 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 5 ©Tulinane Entertainment
“It doesn’t always work, but Cherlien is very understanding and I couldn’t get the strength and energy for the work if I didn’t have family, friends and a private life to balance it.” Considering the history of Namibian cinema, 2019 has been a considerably good year with a flourish of local stories hitting the big screens, showing growth in the film fraternity. “I think the Namibian film community (I don’t think it’s quite an industry yet) is at a very interesting stage right now,” Schott says. “On the one hand, just in the last two months, Namibians could watch three brand new feature films – 'Hairareb', 'The White Line' and '#LANDoftheBRAVEfilm' – and a number of short films such as 'Baxu and the Giants', and the 'Invisibles', but at the same time, all of these films were done with very limited budgets that cannot sustain film-makers in the long run.”

Schott mentions that at the moment, film-makers pay the cast and crew under their worth, and brings up the question: How can we sustain writers and directors with budgets that aren't fit for a proper development process?
“The next step – in my opinion – is finding uniquely Namibian stories that can still sell internationally, so that in future, we have the chance to work with international partners and get funding for our films outside of the country as well.”
  • Florian Zanzibar ©Florian Schott
  • Everything Happens ©Florian Schott
  • Die Chefin 1 ©Network Movie
  • Die Chefin 2 ©Network Movie
Regarding his success, Schott acknowledges his good fortune by having been involved in industries in both in Europe and Africa and mentions that being someone who didn't grow up in Namibia, he has a western sensibility for the sort of stories he would like to see, accompanied with a local feel for issues that need exposure and exploration.

“But in the end it really – with any project I do – comes down to me asking myself if I would watch that film or television series if it didn’t come from me. Would I be excited about it, would I get up and pay money to go see this particular story at the cinema? If the answer is 'yes', because I haven’t seen a story like this or a story that has been told this way yet, then I can only hope that other people feel the same way about this story too and might connect with the stories I tell,” Schott says.

With a finger in countless creative pies, he says he tries to constantly explore new stories until one speaks to his inner creative as the one that he should do next, given opportunities for funding. “I'm very excited about three feature films I’m developing. One is a true-life, survival thriller set in the Sahara Desert that I’ve been developing since 2014. Now I’m working on an urban female-centric action film, and another one is a romance story that explores Namibian myths and fables, exploring the importance of storytelling.

"And I am very excited about a mini-series that is truly a Namibian story, set in the 1980s, that I am researching and plotting right now.”

Filmemacher, Regisseur und Schreiber
Close-Up Schott

Florian Shoot Katutura 2 slide
©Tulinane Entertainment

Bekannt in Namibia für seinen Film „Katutura“, hat Schott mit seiner Passion die hiesige Filmindustrie maßgeblich beeinflusst. The Weekender dreht den Spieß nun um und durchleuchtet Schotts Leben, als Mann hinter der Bühne mit Jump-Cuts, Flashbacks und selbstverständlich der Nahaufnahme.

Der ursprünglich aus Essen, Deutschland stammende Schott wuchs zusammen mit seinen beiden älteren Schwestern auf. Seine Eltern waren beide Apotheker. „Als jüngstes Kind, so glaube ich, hatte ich den meisten Freiraum raus zu gehen und die Welt zu erforschen und dabei meine Liebe für Geschichten und das Kino zu entdecken,“ so der Regisseur.

Schott war schon immer interessiert an der Unterhaltungsbranche und vor allem dem Erzählen von Geschichten. Als junges Kind liebäugelte er somit davon, einmal Magier zu werden. „Ich wollte Menschen diesen Wow-Effekt liefern“, sagt er. „Als ich 11 Jahre alt war, nahm mich mein Vater unerlaubterweise mit in die Vorführung von ‚Jurassic Park‘. Der Film war eigentlich erst ab 12, doch allein dieses Erlebnis zeigte mir, was ich später machen wollte – Geschichten erzählen, Welten erstellen, Charaktere prägen und Situationen zeigen, die für das Publikum vielleicht nicht unbedingt so existieren“, so der Filmenthusiast.

Nachdem er seine Frau Cherlien bei einem Filmdreh kennenlernte, wechselte Schott die Szene von Deutschland nach Namibia – er lebt hier nun seit gut einer Dekade. Schott hat sich seit 2002 einen Ruf in der hiesigen Unterhaltungsbranche gemacht und darüber hinaus in Europa, Südamerika, der Antarktis und anderen afrikanischen Ländern als Assistenzregisseur gearbeitet. Die harte Arbeit des Regisseurs hat sich ausgezahlt, sodass eine Vielzahl seiner Werke mit Preisen und Vorführungen international gewürdigt wurde.

  • Shooting Baxu 1 ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
  • Shooting Baxu 2 ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
  • Baxu Premiere ©MaMoKoBo Video & Research
Schott schrieb und leitete sein selbstfinanziertes Filmprojekt „Everything Happens For a Reason“. Der  Kurzfilm mit Chops Tshoopara, Muhindua Kaura, Joel Haikali, Lize Ehlers, David Ndjavera, Lynn Strydom, Armas Shivute und Norman Job, war in einem Take gedreht worden und gewann den  Afrinolly-Kurzfilmwettbewerb in Nigeria im Jahr 2014. Zudem wurde er im selben Jahr als bester Regisseur und bester Schnitt bei den Namibian Theatre and Film Awards (NTFAs) ausgezeichnet.

Die YouTube Zuschauerin Rosy Henschel schrieb zum Film: „Ich bin sprachlos. [Ich] wusste nicht, dass wir solche Produkte haben. Gut gemacht – bleib am Ball. Danke fürs Teilen.“  Benyamen Jesaya wiederholte die Worte, indem er schrieb: „Das ist wunderschön. Das Talent vom „Land of the Brave“.“

Zwei Jahre später schrieb der Filmemacher in Kooperation sein Regisseurdebüt „Katutura“ ein Feature-Film mit Tshoopara. Der Film wurde von Tulinane Entertainment produziert und spielte in Windhoeks Township Katutura. Er hatte unterschiedliche Charaktere im Fokus und wurde einer der erfolgreichsten Filme im Land.

Dieses Jahr begann Schott in einer ähnlichen Rolle mit seinem Kurzfilm „Baxu and the Giants“. Der Film gewann die Titel Bestes Produktionsdesign (Tanya Stroh), Bester Schnitt (Roberts Scott) und Beste weibliche Schauspielerin (Camilla Jo-Ann Daries) bei den NTFAs.

Mit einer Vielzahl anderer Projekte, wirkt er auch maßgeblich auf das deutsche Fernsehen ein. Doch wie jongliert er seinen anstrengenden Beruf mit seinem persönlichen Leben? „Schwierig. Es ist nicht immer einfach. Glücklicherweise weiß meine Frau, dass ich sowohl mit ihr als auch mit dem Film verheiratet bin“, sagt er. Er fügt hinzu, dass er versucht, seine Sonntage als Familienzeit zu verstehen und an Abenden versucht, mit seinen Liebsten zusammen zu sein.
  • Shoot Katutura 1 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 2 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 3 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 4 ©Tulinane Entertainment
  • Shoot Katutura 5 ©Tulinane Entertainment
"Es funktioniert nicht immer, aber Cherlien ist sehr verständnisvoll und ich könnte weder die Kraft noch die Energie für meine Arbeit aufbringen, wenn ich nicht meine Freunde und Familie als Ausgleich hätte.“
In Anbetracht der Geschichte des namibischen Kinos, ist 2019 ein besonders erfolgreiches Jahr mit einem Überfluss an lokalen Geschichten auf großer Leinwand. Dies verdeutlicht das langsame Wachstum der Industrie. „Ich glaube die Filmgemeinschaft Namibias (Es ist noch nicht ganz eine Industrie) ist an einem Knackpunkt“, so Schott. „Auf der einen Seite konnte Namibia in den letzten zwei Monaten, drei neue Filme betrachten; 'Hairareb', 'The White Line' und '#LANDoftheBRAVEfilm' – sowie eine Vielzahl an Kurzfilmen wie 'Baxu and the Giants', und die 'Invisibles'. Gleichzeitig wurden aber alle mit einem so eingeschränkten Budget gedreht, dass es sich auf Dauer kaum lohnt, Filme zu produzieren.“

Schott erwähnt des Öfteren, dass Filmemacher ihre Kollegen nicht in Anbetracht ihres Talentes entlohnen. Somit stellt sich die Frage: „Wie kann man sicher stellen, dass es weiterhin lokale Filmemacher gibt, auch wenn kein Geld da ist, um den Prozess tatsächlich zu begleiten?“

„Meiner Meinung nach ist der nächste Schritt, eine einzigartige namibische Geschichte zu produzieren, die sich international verkaufen lässt, sodass wir in Zukunft die Chance haben, mit internationalen Partnern zu arbeiten und unsere Filme außerhalb des Landes zeigen können.“
  • Florian Zanzibar ©Florian Schott
  • Everything Happens ©Florian Schott
  • Die Chefin 1 ©Network Movie
  • Die Chefin 2 ©Network Movie
In Anbetracht seines Erfolges sieht Schott ein, dass er Glück hatte, in sowohl der lokalen namibischen, wie auch der europäischen Industrie, Fuß gefasst zu haben. Besonders als jemand, der nicht in Namibia aufgewachsen ist, so sagt er selbst, besitzt er eine westliche Sensibilität für die Geschichten die er gerne sehen würde, begleitetet von einem lokalen Gefühl, Probleme aufzuzeigen und zu hinterfragen.

„Am Ende – und so ist es mit jedem meiner Projekte – kommt es darauf an, ob ich mir diesen Film oder diese Serien selber angucken würde. Würde ich mich freuen, würde ich Geld dafür bezahlen es im Kino zu sehen? Wenn die Antwort ‚ja‘ ist, dann ist dem so, weil ich eine solche Geschichte noch nicht gesehen habe oder weil die Art der Erzählung neu ist. Ich hoffe, dies auch in anderen Menschen finden zu können, sodass man in einer Geschichte vereint ist,“ so Schott.

Mit seinen Händen in unzähligen kreativen Projekten, kann er zu jeder Zeit neue Geschichten entdecken, bis eine heraussticht und seine eigene Neugier anstachelt. Die Folgefrage sind immer die Produktionskosten.
„Ich bin sehr erfreut über die Feature-Filme, die ich mache. Einer ist ein Überlebens-Thriller, welcher auf wahren Begebenheiten in der Sahara beruht. Ich sitze an dem Projekt seit 2014. Zusätzlich arbeite ich an einem urbanen, weiblichen Actionfilm und einem weiteren romantischen Film, der die Fabeln Namibias entdeckt und die Wichtigkeit des Erzählens von Geschichten in sich spiegelt.“

„Auch bin ich sehr begeistert über die Mini-Serie, eine wahrlich namibische Geschichte, die in den Achtzigern spielt und für die ich gerade Forschungen betreibe“