Literary Translations
Did a murder take place here or was only a corpse photographed?

Стенна рисунка на Джеймс Джойс с цитат от романа му „Одисей“, емблематичен пример за трудно преводим литературен текст.
Стенна рисунка на Джеймс Джойс с цитат от романа му „Одисей“, емблематичен пример за трудно преводим литературен текст. | © picture alliance/NurPhoto/Artur Widak

Translating literature is an art, as it is about much more than literally transferring a text into another language. Find out what makes literary translations so complex and why artificial intelligence cannot do the job.

Literary translation – and this is almost a truism – is far more than the mere literal translation of a text from one language to another. Translating requires context, sensitivity, research and also decisiveness. The writer and scholar, Alberto Manguel, once described translators as the ideal readers: “He or she can cut a text into pieces, remove its skin, cut it to the bone, follow every artery and vein, and then design a new living being.”
 
By contrast, supposedly flawed translations have repeatedly served as an occasion to celebrate the odd bon mot – as Kurt Tucholsky wrote on the occasion of the first German translation of James Joyce’s Ulysses in 1927, either a murder had taken place or a corpse had been photographed. At a time when the rigid concept of a national literature seems to be dissolving in favor of a fluid concept of identity, translators play an important role.

Literature goes beyond borders

According to the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association), 9,802 titles were translated into German as first editions in 2019. In return, German publishers sold 7,747 translation licenses abroad. The database of the Verband deutschsprachiger Übersetzer*innen/VdÜ (Association of German Language Translators) lists around 850 members who translate books from more than 100 languages.

With regard to the possibilities of promoting German-language literature abroad, Friederike Barakat, who heads the Rights and Licenses Department at the Carl Hanser Verlag publishing house, sees a clear development: “The prejudice that German-language literature is so ponderous and introspective is off the table.” Hanser Verlag and its affiliated publishers conclude around 250 foreign licences per year, not just for literature, but also for non-fiction and children’s books. These include successful titles such as Herta Müller’s Atemschaukel (The Hunger Angel) – a book for which around 60 foreign licenses were sold after she received the Nobel Prize for Literature – or Robert Seethaler’s Ein ganzes Leben (A Whole Life). Then there are also complex novels like Aus der Zuckerfabrik (Out of the Sugar Factory) by Dorothee Elmiger. In order to be able to sell a German-language title, according to Barakat, “you need a whole mosaic of components”, including reviews on the cultural pages of newspapers, but of course also good sales figures. It is also important for publishers to form networks in order to find the right publisher for a title abroad. And then, it goes without saying, there is also the need for translators who can do justice to the book. 

Invisible artists

The profession of translator is beset with an unusual external image – mainly because it does not really exist. “You basically don’t see or hear us when you read a book”, says Henning Ahrens. Ahrens is himself an author of novels and poems, but also translates books from English into German, including authors such as Colson Whitehead, Meg Wollitzer and Jonathan Safran Foer. Unlike actors or musicians, according to Ahrens, as a translator you remain in the background – in the shadow of the work. In addition, given the complexity of the work, payment is still below average: “You get paid per page for a translation. It makes no difference whether it takes you three months or six months to translate it.” That is why translation sponsoring and grants are particularly important.
 
Ursel Allenstein also speaks of the complexity of her job. Her translation of the Kopenhagen–Trilogie (The Copenhagen Trilogy) by Danish writer, Tove Ditlevsen, has just been published and has received much attention from experts and has also been highly praised. Without the corona pandemic, says the Scandinavian Studies expert, she would have travelled to Copenhagen several times to do research, delved into archives and taken a closer look at the locations of the novels. That is not always necessary, says Allenstein – sometimes there are books that leave no questions unanswered. In other cases, however, it is about “tiny details, about shifts in reality, about linguistic nuances.” In such cases Allenstein works hand in hand with the authors. Jonas Eika and his novel Nach der Sonne (After the Sun) were an example of this.

Identity and artificial intelligence

The question of who is entitled to translate which texts has recently become an explosive issue that was previously unknown. In March 2021, under pressure from activists, the Dutch translator, Marieke Lucas Rijnveld, backed out of translating a volume of poetry by the black US poet, Amanda Gorman. Patricia Klobusiczky, first chairwoman of the VdÜ and a translator herself, said in an interview that she just could not imagine not translating authors in the future who came from different worlds than herself – “if that were so, I could no longer pursue my profession.” Poet Amanda Gorman at the inauguration of US President Joe Biden in 2021. Under pressure from activists, the Dutch translator Marieke Lucas Rijnveld resigned from the translation assignment for Gorman’s new volume of poetry. Poet Amanda Gorman at the inauguration of US President Joe Biden in 2021. Under pressure from activists, the Dutch translator Marieke Lucas Rijnveld resigned from the translation assignment for Gorman’s new volume of poetry. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/ASSOCIATED PRESS/Carolyn Kaster Henning Ahrens and Ursel Allenstein also agree that the idea of artificial intelligence or translation programmes from the internet taking over the work of literary translators in the foreseeable future is just as unrealistic. “Machines just don’t have the ability to differentiate and empathise that is necessary to do the job”, says Ahrens, “and I don’t think we’ll ever see it happening.”

Literaturübersetzungen
Ist hier ein Mord geschehen, oder wurde nur eine Leiche fotografiert?

Wandbild von James Joyce mit einem Zitat aus seinem Roman „Ulysses“, ein Paradebeispiel für einen schwer übersetzbaren literarischen Text.
Wandbild von James Joyce mit einem Zitat aus seinem Roman „Ulysses“, ein Paradebeispiel für einen schwer übersetzbaren literarischen Text. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/NurPhoto/Artur Widak

Literatur zu übersetzen ist Kunst, geht es doch um weit mehr als einen Text wörtlich in eine andere Sprache zu übertragen: Was Literaturübersetzungen so aufwendig macht und weshalb künstliche Intelligenz sie nicht ersetzen kann.

Literarisches Übersetzen – das ist beinahe schon eine Binsenweisheit – ist weit mehr als das bloße wörtliche Übertragen eines Textes von einer in die andere Sprache. Übersetzen erfordert Kontext, Feingefühl, Recherche und auch Entschlussfreudigkeit. Der Schriftsteller und Gelehrte Alberto Manguel bezeichnete Übersetzer*innen einmal als die idealen Leser*innen: „Er oder sie kann einen Text in Stücke zerteilen, seine Haut entfernen, ihn bis auf die Knochen zerschneiden, jeder Arterie und Vene folgen und von da an ein neues Lebewesen gestalten.“
 
Im Gegenzug haben vermeintlich missglückte Übersetzungen auch immer wieder als Anlass zumindest für ein Bonmot gedient: Entweder, so schrieb es Kurt Tucholsky anlässlich der ersten deutschen Übersetzung von James Joyces Ulysses im Jahr 1927, sei hier ein Mord geschehen oder eine Leiche sei fotografiert worden. Gerade in einer Zeit, in der sich das starre Konzept einer Nationalliteratur zugunsten eines fluiden Begriffs von Identität aufzulösen scheint, kommt Übersetzer*innen eine bedeutende Rolle zu.

Literatur überschreitet Grenzen

Im Jahr 2019 wurden nach Angaben des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels 9.802 Titel als Erstauflagen ins Deutsche übersetzt. Im Gegenzug verkauften deutsche Verlage 7.747 Übersetzungslizenzen ins Ausland. Die Datenbank des Verbands deutschsprachiger Übersetzer*innen (VdÜ) listet rund 850 Mitglieder auf, die Bücher aus mehr als 100 Sprachen übersetzen.
 
Im Hinblick auf die Möglichkeiten, deutschsprachige Literatur ins Ausland zu vermitteln, sieht Friederike Barakat, die im Carl Hanser Verlag die Abteilung Rechte und Lizenzen leitet, eine klare Entwicklung: „Das Vorurteil, deutschsprachige Literatur sei nur schwerblütig und selbstbespiegeln, ist vom Tisch.“ Der Hanser Verlag und die ihm angeschlossenen Verlage schließen, inklusive der Sparten Literatur, Sach- und Kinderbuch, pro Jahr etwa 250 Auslandslizenzen ab. Dazu gehören Erfolgstitel wie Herta Müllers Atemschaukel – ein Buch, für das nach der Verleihung des Literaturnobelpreises rund 60 Auslandslizenzen verkauft wurden – oder Robert Seethalers Ein ganzes Leben. Aber eben auch ein komplexer Roman wie Aus der Zuckerfabrik von Dorothee Elmiger. Um einen deutschsprachigen Titel verkaufen zu können, so Barakat, „braucht es ein ganzes Mosaik von Bestandteilen“, darunter die Sichtbarkeit in den Feuilletons, aber selbstverständlich auch gute Verkaufszahlen. Wichtig sei es für die Verlage, Netzwerke zu bilden, um auch im Ausland den richtigen Verlag für einen Titel zu finden. Und dann brauche es, versteht sich, auch wieder Übersetzer*innen, die dem Buch gerecht werden können.

Unsichtbare Künstler*innen

Der Beruf der Übersetzenden ist verbunden mit einer ungewöhnlichen – weil kaum existenten – Außenwahrnehmung: „Man sieht und hört uns im Grunde nicht, wenn man ein Buch liest“, formuliert es Henning Ahrens. Ahrens ist selbst Autor von Romanen und Gedichten, übersetzt aber auch Bücher aus dem Englischen ins Deutsche, darunter Autor*innen wie Colson Whitehead, Meg Wollitzer und Jonathan Safran Foer. Anders als Schauspieler*innen oder Musiker*innen, so Ahrens, trete man als Übersetzer*in weit hinter das Werk zurück. Hinzu komme eine, gemessen an der Komplexität der Arbeit, noch immer eher unterdurchschnittliche Bezahlung: „Man wird bei einer Übersetzung pro Seite bezahlt. Ob Sie dafür ein Vierteljahr oder sechs Monate brauchen, macht keinen Unterschied.“ Gerade darum seien Übersetzungsförderungen und Stipendien von besonderer Bedeutung.
 
Auch Ursel Allenstein spricht von der Aufwendigkeit ihres Berufs. Soeben ist ihre in der Fachwelt viel beachtete und auch hochgelobte Übersetzung der Kopenhagen-Trilogie der Dänin Tove Ditlevsen erschienen. Ohne die Corona-Pandemie, so erzählt die Skandinavistin, wäre sie für die Recherchen mehrmals nach Kopenhagen gefahren, hätte in Archiven geforscht und Schauplätze der Romane in Augenschein genommen. Das sei nicht immer nötig, so Allenstein: Manchmal gebe es Bücher, bei denen keine Fragen offenblieben. In anderen Fällen wiederum gehe es „um winzige Details, um Wirklichkeitsverschiebungen, um Sprachfinessen.“ In solchen Fällen arbeitet Allenstein eng mit den Autor*innen zusammen. Jonas Eika und sein Roman Nach der Sonne sei ein Beispiel dafür gewesen. 

Identität und künstliche Intelligenz

Die Frage, wer überhaupt legitimiert dazu sei, welche Texte zu übersetzen, hat unlängst eine bis dahin nicht gekannte Brisanz gewonnen. Im März 2020 rückte die niederländische Übersetzerin Marieke Lucas Rijnveld auf Druck von Aktivist*innen davon ab, den Gedichtband der schwarzen US-Lyrikerin Amanda Gorman zu übersetzen. Patricia Klobusiczky, erste Vorsitzende des VdÜ und selbst Übersetzerin, sagte in einem Interview, sie halte es für unvorstellbar, künftig nicht mehr Autor*innen zu übersetzen, die anderen Lebenswelten entstammten als sie selbst – „da könnte ich diesen Beruf gar nicht mehr ausüben.“ Die Lyrikerin Amanda Gorman bei der Amtseinführung von US-Präsident Joe Biden 2021: Auf Druck von Aktivist*innen gab die niederländische Übersetzerin Marieke Lucas Rijnveld den Übersetzungsauftrag für Gormans neuen Gedichtband wieder ab. Die Lyrikerin Amanda Gorman bei der Amtseinführung von US-Präsident Joe Biden 2021: Auf Druck von Aktivist*innen gab die niederländische Übersetzerin Marieke Lucas Rijnveld den Übersetzungsauftrag für Gormans neuen Gedichtband wieder ab. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/ASSOCIATED PRESS/Carolyn Kaster Ebenso realitätsfern, da sind sich Henning Ahrens und Ursel Allenstein einig, sei der Gedanke, künstliche Intelligenzen oder Übersetzungsprogramme aus dem Internet könnten in absehbarer Zeit die Arbeit literarischer Übersetzer*innen übernehmen: „Das Differenzierungs- und Einfühlungsvermögen, das dafür nötig ist“, so Ahrens, „besitzen Maschinen nicht, und ich glaube auch nicht, dass wir das noch erleben werden.“