Creative Design Lab 2020
Interdisciplinary Performance Art Production

  • CDL Team Pano ©Willem Vrey
  • CDL Team 1 ©Willem Vrey
  • CDL Pano cropped ©Willem Vrey

Interdisciplinary Black Box Installation in Namibia

The Goethe-Institut Namibia and National Theatre of Namibia (NTN) have partnered to provide performance artists and technical creatives the opportunity to collaborate on a Black Box Installation for the creative scene in Namibia, while sharing skills and ideas in a Creative Design Lab (CDL). The immersive installation will provide the audience with a new and invigorating way of experiencing theatre through performance and digital arts.

Applications were open and have resulted in the selection of 10 creatives and audio-visual technicians to be part of the CDL that will result in the staging of Cycle Interrupted – their creation of a Black Box Installation booked for the NTN Backstage Theatre from 11-16 November 2020.

The CDL is a two-month process through which participants aim to bridge the gap between technical creatives or designers and experimental performance artists.

CDL Crew

CDL Desmond ©Opas Desmond Coetzee – Technical Director
Desmond has experience of over 15 years in the entertainment industry and earned it through working in theatre and live corporate events. He finds the turning ideas into unique experiences using technology.
















CDL Kate ©Opas Kate Metzopolous – Performance Curator
Kate is a drama teacher during the day and has a diverse background in delivering theatre and dance workshops in the UK. She has explored eclectic forms of dance theatre such as Butoh and is excited to engage with others in this inter-disciplinary performance installation.















CDL Fellemon ©Opas Fellemon Ndongo – Stage Manager
Fellemon has qualifications in media arts technology and communication. He is a well-known filmmaker and performer with interest in the live events industry. He has experience in writing and directing numerous stage productions.
















CDL Angelina ©Opas Angelina Akawa – Performer
Angelina is a multidisciplinary performance artist – poet, actress and musician. She is a drama student and keen on using arts to tell stories, sometimes in absurd ways to share her experiences with the audience.
















CDL Mel ©Opas Mel Mwevi – Performer
Mel is a creative storyteller who employs numerous mediums such as theatre, music and spoken word poetry to convey the message. She has an honours degree in live performance and is working on projects that combine film, craftsmanship and writing.
















CDL Gillroy ©Opas Gillroy Barmann – Light Designer and Technician
Gillroy is a systems technician with vast experience in a variety of live events including theatre, concerts and corporate works. He has specialised training in theatre and studio lighting, and is passionate about working with a team for effective results.
















CDL Jermaine ©Opas Jermaine Mbundu – Sound Designer and Technician
Jermaine has experience in event management and has a qualification in sound engineering. He has been contracted as the sound engineer for local and international projects, and frequent consults on sound engineering, live audio engineering and recording audio engineering.















CDL Martin ©Opas Martin Amushendje – Videographer and Media Content Creator
Martin is naturally a creative and has invested his time in photography and music. With international recognition for his photographs and with his fourth album waiting for its debut, Martin is and independent creative and has collaborated with others to be co-founder of more than one establishment on the creative scene.















CDL Manfred ©Opas Manfred Isaacks – Audio Visual Designer and Technician
Manfred is a freelance lighting and audio visual designer. He has extensive experience in the discipline and believe in unlocking the value of technicians in the arts and entertainment industry for everyone to become part of a creative collective.
















CDL West ©Opas WEST Uarije – Performer
WEST is a renowned Namibian dancer, choreographer and owner of the West Dance Centre in one of Windhoek’s informal settlements. Having studied the discipline and offered dance workshops to young Namibians in remote areas, WEST was chosen to choreograph some prestigious corporate and national events.















The global demand for innovation in Live Arts Performance is inviting the creative and cultural fraternity of Namibia towards a more collaborative and immersive exploration of the Live Art and Digital Design Space. It is against this background that the Goethe-Institut Namibia and NTN have decided to collaborate on a Creative Design Lab that aims to bridge the gap between technical creatives / designers and experimental performance artists- for them to work together to exhibit an immersive theatrical installation aiming to address critical conversations.

Creative Design Lab 2020
Interdisziplinäre Produktion von Performance-Kunst

  • CDL Team Pano ©Willem Vrey
  • CDL Team 1 ©Willem Vrey
  • CDL Pano cropped ©Willem Vrey

INTERDISZIPLINÄRE Black-Box-Installation in Namibia

Das Goethe-Institut Namibia und das National Theatre of Namibia (NTN) sind eine Partnerschaft eingegangen, um Performance-Künstlern und technischen Kreativen die Möglichkeit zu geben, gemeinsam an einen Black-Box-Installation für die Kreativszene in Namibia zu arbeiten und gleichzeitig in einem Creative Design Lab (CDL) Fähigkeiten und Ideen auszutauschen. Die immersive Installation wird dem Publikum eine neue und belebende Art und Weise bieten, Theater durch Performance und digitale Kunst zu erleben.

Die Bewerbungen waren offen und haben zur Auswahl von 10 Kreativen und audiovisuellen Technikern geführt, die Teil der CDL sein werden, die zu der Inszenierung von Cycle Interrupted führen wird - ihrer Schaffung einer Black-Box-Installation, die für das NTN Backstage Theatre vom 11. bis 16. November 2020 gebucht wurde.

Das CDL ist ein zweimonatlicher Prozess, durch den die Teilnehmer die Kluft zwischen technischen Kreativen oder Designern und experimentellen Performance-Künstlern überbrücken wollen.

CDL-Besatzung

CDL Desmond ©Opas Desmond Coetzee - Technischer Direktor
Desmond verfügt über mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung in der Unterhaltungsindustrie, die er sich durch seine Arbeit im Theater und bei Live-Firmenveranstaltungen erworben hat. Er findet die Umsetzung von Ideen in einzigartige Erlebnisse mit Hilfe von Technologie.















CDL Kate ©Opas Kate Metzopolous - Performance-Kuratorin
Kate ist tagsüber als Schauspiellehrerin tätig und hat einen vielfältigen Hintergrund in der Durchführung von Theater- und Tanzworkshops in Großbritannien. Sie hat eklektische Formen des Tanztheaters wie Butoh erforscht und freut sich darauf, sich mit anderen an dieser interdisziplinären Performance-Installation zu beteiligen.














CDL Fellemon ©Opas Fellemon Ndongo - Inspizient
Fellemon hat Qualifikationen in Medienkunst, Technologie und Kommunikation. Er ist ein bekannter Filmemacher und Performer mit Interesse an der Live-Event-Industrie. Er hat Erfahrung im Schreiben und Regieführen zahlreicher Bühnenproduktionen.
















CDL Angelina ©Opas Angelina Akawa - Darstellerin
Angelina ist eine multidisziplinäre Performance-Künstlerin - Dichterin, Schauspielerin und Musikerin. Sie studiert Theaterwissenschaften und setzt die Künste gerne ein, um Geschichten zu erzählen, manchmal auf absurde Weise, um ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Publikum zu teilen.















CDL Mel ©Opas Mel Mwevi - Darstellerin
Mel ist ein kreativer Geschichtenerzähler, der zahlreiche Medien wie Theater, Musik und gesprochene Wortpoesie einsetzt, um die Botschaft zu vermitteln. Sie hat einen Abschluss mit Auszeichnung in Live-Performance und arbeitet an Projekten, die Film, Handwerk und Schreiben kombinieren.















CDL Gillroy ©Opas Gillroy Barmann - Lichtdesigner und Techniker
Gillroy ist ein Systemtechniker mit weitreichender Erfahrung in einer Vielzahl von Live-Veranstaltungen, darunter Theater, Konzerte und Firmenarbeiten. Er hat eine Spezialausbildung in Theater- und Studiobeleuchtung und arbeitet leidenschaftlich gern mit einem Team, um effektive Ergebnisse zu erzielen.















CDL Jermaine ©Opas Jermaine Mbundu - Sounddesigner und Techniker
Jermaine hat Erfahrung im Veranstaltungsmanagement und verfügt über einen Abschluss in Tontechnik. Er wurde als Toningenieur für lokale und internationale Projekte unter Vertrag genommen und berät häufig in den Bereichen Tontechnik, Live-Audiotechnik und Tonaufnahmetechnik.















CDL Martin ©Opas Martin Amushendje - Videofilmer und Schöpfer von Medieninhalten
Martin ist von Natur aus ein Kreativer und hat seine Zeit in Fotografie und Musik investiert. Mit internationaler Anerkennung für seine Fotografien und mit seinem vierten Album, das auf sein Debüt wartet, ist Martin ein unabhängiger Kreativer und hat mit anderen zusammengearbeitet, um Mitbegründer von mehr als einer Einrichtung in der kreativen Szene zu sein.














CDL Manfred ©Opas Manfred Isaacks - Audiovisueller Designer und Techniker
Manfred ist freiberuflicher Licht- und audiovisueller Designer. Er verfügt über umfassende Erfahrung in dieser Disziplin und glaubt an die Erschließung des Wertes von Technikern in der Kunst- und Unterhaltungsindustrie, damit jeder Teil eines kreativen Kollektivs werden kann.















CDL West ©Opas WEST Uarije - Darsteller
WEST ist ein renommierter namibischer Tänzer, Choreograph und Besitzer des West Dance Centre in einer der informellen Siedlungen Windhoeks. Nachdem er die Disziplin studiert und jungen Namibiern in abgelegenen Gebieten Tanzworkshops angeboten hatte, wurde WEST ausgewählt, einige prestigeträchtige Firmen- und nationale Veranstaltungen zu choreographieren.














Die weltweite Nachfrage nach Innovationen in der Live-Kunst lädt die kreative und kulturelle Bruderschaft Namibias zu einer kooperativeren und immersiveren Erforschung der Live-Kunst und des digitalen Designraums ein. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben das Goethe-Institut Namibia und NTN beschlossen, gemeinsam ein Creative Design Lab einzurichten, das die Kluft zwischen technischen Kreativen/Designern und experimentellen Performance-Künstlern überbrücken soll - damit sie gemeinsam eine Theaterinstallation ausstellen können, die auf kritische Gespräche abzielt.