Creative Writing Workshops
Writing your own novel in three months

Woman smile books slide ©GettyImages

weekend workshops

The Namibian writing industry has been underdeveloped for quite some time, while a good number of first-time writers are venturing into various disciplines of writing. Understanding that the market is complex and guidance is not always available for the aspiring few, a new concept has been created to assist the aspiring writer in their quest of drafting a manuscript and seeing it through to completion.

A set of three weekend workshops by the Goethe-Institut Namibia will be facilitated though which writers will brainstorm and be taught different techniques that include reviewing their writing.
 
The end goal is to develop content and assist the writer until it is completed – while introducing them to self-publishing and/or traditional publishing routes.
 
Weekend workshops on the last Fridays (14h00-17h00) and Saturdays (09h00-12h00) from April to June:

  • 23rd & 24th April
  • 28th & 29th May
  • 25th & 26th June

How to Register:

 
Send a short biography and 200-word sample of your original writing in a Word Document format to library.windhoek@goethe.de with ‘Creative Writing” as the subject before 21st April 2021. Space is limited to 15 participants. An independent jury will select participants.
 
The workshops will be facilitated by Martha Khoeses, a graduate from Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) with a Bachelor of English Honours currently pursuing her Masters in Creative Writing through Manchester Metropolitan University. She has self-published 10 books in different genres including poetry, folktale, fantasy, inspirational, and children's series. Martha is a seasoned administrative assistant, currently working at NUST as the Acting Assistant to the Registrar. She is also a part-time English teacher.

Workshops zum kreativen Schreiben
Den eigenen Roman in drei Monaten schreiben

Woman smile books slide ©GettyImages

Wochenend-Workshops

Die namibische Schreibindustrie ist seit geraumer Zeit unterentwickelt, während sich eine große Anzahl von Erstautoren in die verschiedenen Disziplinen des Schreibens vorwagt. In dem Bewusstsein, dass der Markt komplex ist und dass es nicht immer eine Anleitung für die wenigen Aufstrebenden gibt, wurde ein neues Konzept entwickelt, das aufstrebenden Schriftstellern dabei helfen soll, ein Manuskript zu verfassen und es bis zur Fertigstellung zu begleiten.

Das Goethe-Institut Namibia bietet drei Wochenend-Workshops an, in denen die Autoren ein Brainstorming durchführen und in verschiedenen Techniken unterrichtet werden, die auch die Überprüfung ihrer Texte beinhalten.
 
Das Ziel ist es, Inhalte zu entwickeln und die Autoren bis zur Fertigstellung zu begleiten - und sie gleichzeitig in die Möglichkeiten des Self-Publishing und/oder des traditionellen Verlagswesens einzuführen.
 
Wochenend-Workshops an den letzten Freitagen (14.00-17.00 Uhr) und Samstagen (09.00-12.00 Uhr) von April bis Juni:

  • 23. und 24. April
  • 28. und 29. Mai
  • 25. und 26. Juni

Wie man sich anmeldet:

Schicken Sie eine kurze Biografie und eine 200-Wort-Probe Ihres originellen Schreibens in einem Word-Dokument-Format an library.windhoek@goethe.de mit dem Betreff "Kreatives Schreiben" vor dem 21. April 2021. Die Anzahl der Teilnehmer ist auf 15 begrenzt. Eine unabhängige Jury wird die Teilnehmer auswählen.
 
Die Workshops werden von Martha Khoeses geleitet, einer Absolventin der Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) mit einem Bachelor of English Honours, die derzeit ihren Master in Creative Writing an der Manchester Metropolitan University absolviert. Sie hat im Selbstverlag 10 Bücher in verschiedenen Genres veröffentlicht, darunter Lyrik, Folktales, Fantasy, Inspirierendes und Kinderserien. Martha ist eine erfahrene Verwaltungsassistentin und arbeitet derzeit an der NUST als stellvertretende Assistentin des Registrars. Sie ist außerdem Teilzeit-Englischlehrerin.