The Power of Emotions (Die Macht der Gefühle)
Fear, Hope, Love & Rage

  • The Power of Emotions slider ©EVZ

Politics, Society and Emotions

An exhibition of photographs and texts relative to Germany’s past 100 years of society and politics toured Namibia in June 2019. Created by Ute and Bettina Frevert for the Remembrance, Responsibility and Future Foundation, the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany and under the auspices of Germany’s foreign affairs, the posters highlight the power of emotions to drive political and social affairs.

“The Power of Emotions was a great success. More than 600 students participated in guided tours through the exhibition and passionately discussed phenomena in Namibia’s and Germany’s societies,” said Goethe-Institut Namibia Head of Language Cooperation, Corinna Burth. She explained how politics is increasingly driven by emotions and it is important for Germany and Namibia to understand this relationship. The guided tours with their activities had this understanding as their main goal.”

The exhibition ran from 05-26 June and was available to the public at venues including the Goethe-Institut Namibia, two PASCH schools: Etosha Secondary School in Tsumeb and Otjiwarongo Secondary School; and finally, along the Namibian coast at the Museum Swakopmund.

  • Goethe web emotions 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  •  Goethe web emotions 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

“A selection of the 140 photographs was presented to learners and public with the intention of informing them about the relationship between Germany’s and Namibia’s past, and how the present-day manifestations of emotions have developed over time,” said Burth.
 
The 20 posters were created in the context of humanity living in the age of permanent agitation, while facts are called into question by perceived truths and how the political arena cannot deal with heated emotions. Each poster presents a photograph and texts that bring people’s reactions and coping mechanisms with the political state of affairs to the forefront.
  • Goethe web emotions 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 7 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 8 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

“Some historical events in Namibia and Germany were connected to each other. The exhibition highlights this connection and encourages viewers to think and reflect on how society dealt with the matters through emotions that lead to either a reaction or an unresponsive state,” said Burth.
The students highly appreciated the possibility to discuss their opinions with their peers and exchange their ideas, as they emphasized several times. Ms. Burth evaluates “The Power of Emotions” as a successful tool to educate students for them to become mature civilians and to extend their interest in politics and their society.
 
Contact Corinna.Burth@goethe.de for more information.

Die Macht der Gefühle
Angst, Hoffnung, Liebe und Wut

  • The Power of Emotions slider ©EVZ

Politik, Gesellschaft und Gefühle

Eine Ausstellung von Bildern und Texten, die sich mit der deutschen Gesellschaft und Politik der letzten 100 Jahre befasst, wurde in diesem Juni bei einer Tournee in Namibia gezeigt. Erstellt von den beiden Historikerinnen Ute und Bettina Frevert für die Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung, Zukunft, sowie die Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung, führen die Poster an, inwiefern die Macht von Gefühlen politisches und soziales Geschehen beeinflusst. „Die Macht der Gefühle“ findet unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesaußenministers Heiko Maas statt.

„‘Die Macht der Gefühle‘ war ein großer Erfolg. Mehr als 600 Schülerinnen und Schüler nahmen an Führungen durch die Ausstellung teil und diskutierten mit Begeisterung gesellschaftliche Phänomene in Namibia und Deutschland“, berichtet die Leiterin des Bereichs Bildungskooperation am Goethe Institut Namibia, Corinna Burth. Sie erklärt, dass Politik immer stärker von Emotionen geprägt ist und dass es für die deutsche ebenso wie für die namibische Gesellschaft wichtig ist, diese Beziehung zu verstehen. Die Führungen, die einige Aktivitäten für die Schülerinnen und Schüler beinhalteten, zielten auf dieses Verständnis ab.

  • Goethe web emotions 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  •  Goethe web emotions 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

Die Ausstellung wurde am 05. Juni 2019 eröffnet und war bei einer Tournee bis zum 26.06.2019 am Goethe-Instituts Namibia in Windhoek, den PASCH-Schulen Etosha Secondary School Tsumeb, und Otjiwarongo Secondary School und dem Museum Swakopmund zu sehen.

„Eine Auswahl von 140 Fotografien wurde Lernenden und der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert, um über die Gemeinsamkeiten der deutschen und namibischen Vergangenheit zu informieren, ebenso darüber, wie sich die Manifestierung von Gefühlen über die Jahre entwickelt hat“, so Burth.

Die 20 Poster, wurden im Zusammenhang mit einer Menschheit erstellt, die sich in permanenter Aufruhr befindet, während reale Fakten in Frage gestellt und erlebte Wahrheiten als unumstößliche Gegebenheiten anerkannt werden. Die Politik kann auf solche aufgeheizten Emotionen derzeit kaum reagieren. Jedes der Poster zeigt diverse Fotografien, die gestützt durch Informationstexte aufzeigen, wie Menschen auf gewisse politische Ereignisse reagierten und mit ihnen umgingen.
  • Goethe web emotions 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 7 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • Goethe web emotions 8 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

„Einige gesellschaftliche Phänomene in Namibia und Deutschland können miteinander in Verbindung gebracht werden. In der Ausstellung wurde dies besonders betont und ermutigte die Besucher dazu, darüber nachzudenken und zu reflektieren, wie die Gesellschaft in gewissen Situationen Emotionen zeigte, die entweder zu einer Reaktion führten oder von Seiten des Staates gänzlich unkommentiert blieben“, wie die PASCH-Initiativen-Koordinatorin erklärt.

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler schätzten die Möglichkeit, mit ihren Klassenkameraden und Kameradinnen in einen Austausch zu treten und ihre Meinung kundzutun, wie sie immer wieder betonten. Frau Burth bewertet „Die Macht der Gefühle“ darum als hilfreiches Instrument, um DaF-Lernende zu mündigen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern zu erziehen und ihr Interesse an Politik und der Gesellschaft zu vertiefen.

Für mehr Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte Corinna Burth unter Corinna.Burth@goethe.de.