#libraryselfie2021
Call for Participation!

Library selfie banner ©LibraryAidAfrica

In 8 African countries!

#libraryselfie2021 – a project organized by Library Aid Africa in partnership with the Goethe-Institut – will kick start in June.

#libraryselfie an online initiative started in 2018, which uses social media to create awareness about the importance of libraries as spaces for reading and learning. #libraryselfie2019 & #libraryselfie2020 in partnership with Goethe-Institut saw the project extended to 8 African countries, leveraging digital technology & driving community-led awareness about the importance of libraries as spaces for reading and learning.
 
#libraryselfie2021 will have the same concept of the previous edition, with some more competitiveness. How do we plan to do this? Prizes will be based on position, and position will be determined by the number of likes. There will still only be 3 winners; 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions. With this approach, participants will drive organic publicity by themselves in order to get more likes, thereby promoting the project and increasing visibility.
 
#libraryselfie2021 will focus on three major thematic areas:

  • using social media to create awareness about the importance of libraries as spaces for reading and learning,
  • driving citizen-led initiatives through mini-library/literary project,
  • communicating project impact
Who can participate:
  • Participation in #libraryselfie2021 is exclusive to library users only.
  • Librarians are not eligible to participate in #libraryselfie2021.
  • Librarians are to guide library users on how to participate in #libraryselfie2021.
  • Past winners of the #libraryselfie series are not eligible to participate.

How to participate:
  1. Take a selfie while reading with your family or in your home library.
  2. Upload it on your Instagram or Facebook account with the hashtag #libraryselfie2021.
  3. Mention/ tag Library Aid Africa and your location (city & country) to facilitate tracking.

Please note: the Call for Entries is open from the 14 June- 17 July 2021.
 
Proposed Prizes for the #libraryselfie2021
The three participants with the highest likes in each country will be rewarded with reading tablets, books, goodie bags and access to the Goethe-Institut’s e-library. Additionally, the 1st Position gets a €200 grant to implement a mini-library project targeted at promoting reading culture, literary or arts in their country.
 
Expected Project Outcome: The project will lead to evolutionary social media awareness and sensitization about libraries and library usage. This is going to facilitate the recognition of libraries as an important institution that fosters a literate society and national development. It will also establish citizen-led library advocacy initiatives and developmental projects that will be geared towards improving reading culture.

Follow Library Aid Africa on soaicl media platforms:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/libraryaidafrica
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/libraryaidafrica

About Library Aid Africa:
Library Aid Africa: is a not-for-profit organization with the mission to revamp libraries in Africa to increase their societal impact. The organization focuses on access to information through pragmatic initiatives, which are designed to create awareness and resuscitate libraries in schools and communities. We operate from Nigeria, with partners and volunteer presence in 12 African countries: Ghana, Namibia, Uganda, South Africa, Tanzania, Kenya, Togo, Republic of Benin, Mali, Zimbabwe, Malawi, and Liberia.

#libraryselfie2021
Mitmachen und Gewinnen!

Library selfie banner ©LibraryAidAfrica

In 8 Afrikanischen Ländern!

#libraryselfie2021 – ein Projekt das von Library Aid Afrika in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut organisiert wird– startet im Juni!

#libraryselfie ist eine im Jahr 2018 gestartete Online-Initiative, die soziale Medien nutzt, um ein Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung von Bibliotheken als Orte des Lesens und Lernens zu schaffen. Mit #libraryselfie2019 und #libraryselfie2020 wurde das Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut auf acht afrikanische Länder ausgeweitet, wobei digitale Technologien genutzt wurden, um das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung von Bibliotheken als Orte des Lesens und Lernens zu schärfen.
 
#libraryselfie2021 wird das gleiche Konzept wie die vorherige Ausgabe haben, mit etwas mehr Wettbewerb. Wie wollen wir das bewerkstelligen? Die Preise werden auf der Position basieren, und die Position wird durch die Anzahl der Likes bestimmt. Es wird weiterhin nur 3 Gewinner geben; Platz 1, 2 und 3. Mit diesem Ansatz werden die Teilnehmer selbst für organische Werbung sorgen, um mehr Likes zu erhalten und so das Projekt zu fördern und die Sichtbarkeit zu erhöhen.

#libraryselfie2021 wird sich auf drei große Themenbereiche konzentrieren:

  • Nutzung sozialer Medien, um ein Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung von Bibliotheken als Orte des Lesens und Lernens zu schaffen,
  • das Vorantreiben von bürgergeführten Initiativen durch Mini-Bibliotheken/Literaturprojekte,
  • Kommunikation der Projektauswirkungen

Wer kann teilnehmen:

  • Die Teilnahme an # libraryselfie2021 ist ausschließlich Bibliotheksbenutzern vorbehalten.
  • Bibliothekare sind nicht berechtigt, an # libraryselfie2021 teilzunehmen.
  • Bibliothekare sollen Bibliotheksbenutzer anleiten, wie sie an # libraryselfie2021 teilnehmen können.
  • Vorherige Gewinner der #libraryselfie-Serie sind von der Teilnahem ausgeschloßen.

Anleitung zum Mitmachen:

  1. Mache ein Selfie, während du alleine oder mit Freunden und Familie zu Hause liest.
  2. Lade es auf deine Instagram oder Facebook Seite mit dem hashtag #libraryselfie2021 hoch.
  3. Erwähne, bzw. tagge,  Library Aid Africa und deinen Wohnort (Stadt & Land) in deinem Beitrag


Bitte beachten Sie: Der Call for Entries ist vom 14. Juni bis 17. Juli 2021 geöffnet.


Vorgeschlagene Preise für das #libraryselfie2021

Die drei Teilnehmer mit den meisten Likes pro Land werden mit Lese-Tablets, Büchern, Goodie Bags und Zugang zur E-Library des Goethe-Instituts belohnt. Zusätzlich erhält der 1. Platz einen Zuschuss in Höhe von 200 € für die Umsetzung eines Mini-Bibliotheksprojekts zur Förderung der Lesekultur, Literatur oder Kunst in ihrem Land.
 
Erwartetes Projektergebnis: Das Projekt wird zu einem evolutionären Bewusstsein in den sozialen Medien und einer Sensibilisierung für Bibliotheken und Bibliotheksnutzung führen. Dies wird die Anerkennung von Bibliotheken als eine wichtige Institution erleichtern, die eine gebildete Gesellschaft und die nationale Entwicklung fördert. Es wird auch bürgergeführte Bibliotheks-Lobby-Initiativen und Entwicklungsprojekte etablieren, die auf die Verbesserung der Lesekultur ausgerichtet sind.

Folge Library Aid Africa in den Sozialen Medien um die neuesten Updates zu erhalten:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/libraryaidafrica
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/libraryaidafrica

Über Library Aid Africa:
Library Aid Africa ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation mit der Mission Bibliotheken in Afrika in Orte für gesellschaftlichen und sozialen Wandel umzugestalten. Zugang zu Information durch pragmatische Initiativen zu kreieren, die zu dem auf Bibliotheken aufmerksam machen und deren Effizienz und Produktivität steigern, ist der Arbeitsschwerpunkt der Organisation, die ihren Sitz in Nigeria hat und durch freiwillige Helfer In zwölf Afrikanischen Ländern: Ghana, Namibia, Uganda, Südafrika, Tansania, Kenia, Togo, Benin, Mali, Simbabwe, Malawi, und Liberia.