Literary Crossroads
Edition One

  • Literary Crossroads © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Writers get together

Literary Crossroads brings together writers and authors from across the African continent to deliberate current topics, trends and issues. As such, the first edition for 2019 will be held 12-15 June 2019 and will consist of 3 main sessions: a Panel Discussion, a Poetry Session and a Poetry Workshop. Visit our Events Calendar or subscribe to our weekly newsletter for more information.

Leading this first edition for 2019 will be a Namibian Poet, Prince Kamaazengi Marenga II, and his counterpart from Kenya, Tony Mochama.

More about the poets:

Prince Kamaazengi Marenga II

Goethe web Prince K ©Photo Contributed A Pan-Afrikan Poet, filmmaker and a full-time artist/writer, who is self-taught and motivated to work through his pen. Marenga co-authored a book of poems PERI NAWA URIRI (Chief Keharanjo II’s Poetry Factory). He is a regular participant at the bi-monthly poetry project by Township Productions and supported by the Goethe-Institut Namibia. Having attended many arts festivals around the world, Marenga featured at the gathering of Teachers and Scholars in USA, Washington DC, where his poem The Global Village-This Place Stink was read and received a standing ovation. Marenga is currently working on his poetry collection P.O.E.M.S.

TONY MOCHAMA

Goethe web Tony Mochama © PhotoContributed A journalist, poet, film script writer, novelist and popular columnist with The Standard Media Group in Kenya; poetry moderator of the monthly AMKA Creative Writing workshop hosted by the Goethe-Institut in Nairobi; and Secretary General of PEN International (Kenyan chapter). PEN Kenya has been responsible for establishing poetry clubs at secondary schools and the hosting of poetry workshops at universities across Kenya.

Having won awards including the Leap Frog Press Prize in 2012, the continental Miles Morland Writing Scholarship Award in 2014, the Sanaa Spoken Word Artist Prize in 2015, as well as being a three-time Burt Award for YA literature prize winner from 2013 to 2017, Mochama is one of the most awarded creatives in East Africa.

He is also an Emily Harvey Foundation literary recipient for 2019 and will be their writer-in-residence in Venice, Italy during August and September. Tony has published ten books, of which three focus on poetry: What If I'm a Literary Gangsta? (Kwani, 2007), In the City on Water (Ca Foscari University Press, 2013) and a poetry textbook Modern Poetry for Secondary Schools.

DATES TO REMEMBER:

12 June - Panel Discussion: Poetry in the times of political and social change.

Panellists look at the role that poetry can play in reflecting and commenting on the statuesque in their respective countries and globally. 

13 June - Poetry Session: When poetry matters – Evolving the Mind

Poets present their creations during Session 3 of the bi-monthly poetry project and look at the role of poetry in changing the mind-sets of individuals.

15 June Poetry Workshop with Tony Mochama

A workshop exploring the presence poetry on social media and how writers can contribute towards the development of Instapoetry for the younger generations to embrace the genre.
  Visit our Events Calendar or subscribe to our weekly newsletter for more information.

Literary Crossroads
Teil Eins

  • Literary Crossroads © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Get-together für Schriftsteller

Literary Crossroads führt Schriftsteller und Autoren des gesamten afrikanischen Kontinents zusammen, um aktuelle Thematiken, Trends und Diskurse zu erörtern. In dieser Form wird die erste Sitzung im Jahr 2019 vom 12. Bis zum 15. Juni 2019 abgehalten und besteht dabei aus drei Hauptteilen: Einer Podiumsdiskussion, einer Lesung und einem Gedicht-Workshop. Besuchen Sie unseren Veranstaltungskalender oder abonnieren Sie unseren wöchentlichen Newsletter, um Näheres zu erfahren.
 

Diese erste Sitzung für 2019 wird gemeinsam von dem namibischen Poeten Prince Kamaazengi Marenga II und seinem kenianischen Kollegen Tony Mochama  angeleitet.

Mehr zu den Poeten:

Prince Kamaazengi Marenga II

Goethe web Prince K ©Photo Contributed Ein pan-afrikanischer Poet, Filmemacher und Vollzeit-Künslter/Schriftsteller, der sich seine Kunst selbst beigebracht hat und durch die Arbeit mit dem Stift Motivation findet. Marenga war Co-Autor einer Gedichtsammlung namens PERI NAWA URIRI (Die Gedichtfabrik von Chief Keharanjo II.). Er nimmt regelmäßig am im Zweimonatsturnus stattfindenden Poesie-Projekt von Township Productions teil und wird durch das Goethe-Institut Namibia unterstützt. Marenga hat bereits diverse Kunstfestivals auf der ganzen Welt besucht und beispielsweise der Konferenz von Lehrern und Hochschullehrern der USA in Washington D.C. beigewohnt, bei der er sein Gedicht „The Global Village-This Place Stink“ vorlas und dafür stehende Ovationen bekam. Derzeit arbeitet er an seiner Gedichtsammlung P.O.E.M.S.

Tony Mochama

Goethe web Tony Mochama © PhotoContributed Ein Journalist, Poet, Drehbuch- und Romanautor und beliebter Kolumnist der Standard Media Group in Kenia. Zudem moderiert er den Poesie-Teil des monatlich stattfindenden AMKA Workshops zum Kreativen Schreiben, den das Goethe-Institut Kenia abhält und ist Generalsekretär von PEN International, zuständig für den kenianischen Zweig. PEN Kenia hat Poesie-AGs in Sekundarschulen etabliert und bietet außerdem Poesie-Workshops an Universitäten in ganz Kenia an.

Seine zahlreichen Auszeichnungen wie der Leap Frog Press Prize 2012, der kontinental vergebene Miles Morland Writing Scholarship Award 2014, der Sanaa Spoken Word Artist Prize 2015 und der dreifache Erhalt des Burt Award für Literatur für junge Erwachsene von 2013 bis 2017 machen Mochama zu einem der am meisten anerkannten Kreativen in Ostafrika.

Neben diesen Auszeichnungen wurde er als Stipendiat der Emily Harvey Stiftung für das Jahr 2019 ausgewählt und wird sich darum im August und September als Gastdozent in Venedig in Italien aufhalten. Tony hat bisher zehn Bücher veröffentlicht, von denen drei hauptsächlich Gedichte enthalten: What If I’m a Literary Gangsta? (Kwani, 2007), In the City on Water (Ca Foscari University Press, 2013) und das Schulbuch zum Thema Poesie Modern Poetry for Secondary Schools.

Die wichtigsten Daten im Überblick:


12. Juni – Podiumsdiskussion: Poesie in Zeiten politischer und sozialer Veränderung
 
Die Diskussionsteilnehmer werfen hier einen Blick darauf, welche Rolle Gedichte dabei spielen können, die Schönheit ihrer jeweiligen Herkunftsländer und der gesamten Welt zu kommentieren und zu reflektieren.

13. Juni – Gedichtlesung: Wenn Poesie etwas zählt – Die Entwicklung des Geistes

Die Künstler präsentieren ihre Werke während der dritten Sitzung des zweimonatlich stattfindenden Projekts und betrachten die Rolle von Poesie in der Veränderung der Einstellungen von Individuen.

15. Juni – Gedicht-Workshop mit Tony Mochama

Ein Workshop, bei dem die Gegenwart von Poesie in den Sozialen Medien erforscht wird und Überlegungen angebracht werden, wie Schriftsteller zu der Entwicklung von Instapoetry für jüngere Generationen beitragen können, damit auch jene Gefallen an diesem Genre findet.
  Besuchen Sie unseren Veranstaltungskalender oder abonnieren Sie unseren wöchentlichen Newsletter, um Näheres zu erfahren.