Museum Conversations 2019

An approach to a new museology in Africa

Independence Memorial Museum Tim Brunauer ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Museums in Africa are undergoing a process of change. Directors of the new generation critically scrutinize existing collections and traditional forms of exhibition and presentation. With the series "Museum Conversations", the Goethe-Institut brings international academics, museum experts and curators together to discuss the future of African museums from a post-colonial perspective.
 

Following a series of events during 2018 in Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Namibia regarding approaches of decolonialization to the institution of museums, the Goethe-Institut Namibia and the University of Namibia (UNAM) are collaborating on this year’s edition of Museum Conversations in Windhoek.

The symposium will take place at the Habitat Research and Development Center from the 18-20 September 2019 and will connect researchers, practitioners and artists alike on a wide range of topics. It aims to pick up where last year’s events left off and discuss new museum projects, models of restitution and more innovative structures to connect audiences and institutions. Speakers from all around the continent and beyond, including Prof. George Abungu (Kenia), Prof. Ciraj Rassool (SA) and members of the International Council of Museums, the Übersee Museum and curators from over ten innovative museums in Africa have been invited.

The symposium’s cutting-edge setup of workshops, discussions as well as lectures allows for a fruitful baseline to further examine the current post-colonial museum landscape. This will allow the discourse around a new museology to flourish and marks a critical step in the process of innovation of museums today. 

See the program by clicking the link below.
 


Registration is closed. Contact museum-conversations@goethe.de for more information.

The "Museum Conversations" are a series of projects run by the Goethe-Institutes in Sub-Saharan Africa and take place at the participating locations in cooperation with local national museums, museums associations ministries and UNESCO. They offer space for the initiation of an inner African discourse.

Museumsgespräche 2019

Neue Ansätze in der afrikanischen Museologie

Independence Memorial Museum Tim Brunauer ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Museen in Afrika befinden sich in einem Wandlungsprozess. Direktorinnen und Kuratoren der neuen Generation hinterfragen kritisch bestehende Sammlungen und althergebrachte Ausstellungs- und Präsentationsformen. Mit der Reihe „Museumsgespräche“ bringt das Goethe-Institut internationale Akademiker, Museumsexpertinnen und Kuratoren zusammen, um aus postkolonialer Perspektive über die Zukunft afrikanischer Museen zu diskutieren.
 

Nach den letztjährigen Tagungen in Ghana, Kenia, Nigeria, Tansania, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo sowie Namibia zum Thema der neuen, dekolonisierten Institution Museum, schließen sich dieses Jahr das Goethe-Institut Namibia und die University of Namibia (UNAM) zusammen um gemeinsam die diesjährige Edition der Museum Conversations in Windhoek zu realisieren.
 
Das Symposium findet im Habitat Research and Development Center in Windhoek vom 18. bis zum 20. September statt und schafft durch die Vielzahl der fachrelevanten Themen, ein tiefgründiges Netzwerk zwischen lokalen und internationalen Forscher*innen, Expert*innen sowie Künstler*innen im Bereich der Museologie. Das Event setzt dort an wo die vergangenen Tagungen aufhörten und vertieft somit die Diskussion über innovative Museumsmodelle, die Rückgabe kultureller Güter und der Möglichkeit das Publikum tiefer in das Museum einzubetten.
 
Zu den geladenen regionalen sowie internationalen Gästen zählen unteranderem Prof. George Abungu (Kenia), Prof. Ciraj Rassool (SA), Mitglieder des International Council of Museums, des Übersee Museums (Deutschland), sowie zahlreiche Kuratoren aus innovativen Museumsprojekten aus ganz Afrika.
 
Der originelle Aufbau des Symposiums, bestehend aus Workshops, Diskussionen und Vorträgen bietet den Teilnehmern eine ertragreiche Basis um das Konzept eines Post-Kolonialen Museums weiter zu durchleuchten. Der daraus entstehende Diskurs rund um eine erneuerte Museologie, bildet einen kritischen Schritt für die Innovation heutiger Museen.
 
Das Programm finden Sie durch den unten stehenden Link.
 


 
Die Anmeldung ist geschlossen. Kontaktieren Sie: museum-conversations@goethe.de für weitere Informationen.


Die „Museumsgespräche“ sind eine Projektreihe der Goethe-Institute in Afrika südlich der Sahara und finden an den beteiligten Standorten in Zusammenarbeit mit dortigen Nationalmuseen, Museumsverbänden Ministerien und der UNESCO statt. Sie bieten Raum für die Initiierung eines innerafrikanischen Diskurses