Otjomuise Live Arts Festival (OLAF)
Bridging life & arts in the city

  • OLAF Banner © GI Namibia

OLAF - Otjomuise Live Arts Festival

2021 marks the inauguration of OLAF (Otjomuise Live Arts Festival); an annual live arts festival that aims to bridge everyday life and the arts in Windhoek, by offering opportunities for live artistic forms to be showcased and/or exhibited within the city’s public spaces. Co-pro­duced by the National Theatre of Namibia and Goethe-Institut Namibia, OLAF is largely brought about by the inaccessibility of the majority of Windhoek’s inhabitants to various artistic expressions; often limited to indoor, and at times, inaccessible areas of the city. Thus, OLAF offers opportunities for immersive, experimental, and refreshing artistic forms to be showcased or installed in public sites where life and the arts can meet. This is to reflect not only the city’s environmental character, but also its rich heritage and artistic expressions that it holds, which its inhabitants need to be impacted by.

The name Otjomuise stems from the Otjiherero name for the city, which means ‘place of steam’.

The week-long programme features free small-scaled happenings, in­stallations, performances, and public engagements spread across the city. The themes covered include:

     - Leisure and scenery; access to collective pleasure.

     - Identity and collective-public memory.

     - Navigations of everyday socio-economic issues.

Set to take place on an annual basis, the festival ultimately aims to con­tribute towards a city that enables dynamic and accessible live artistic forms for cohesion, collective reflections and enlightenment.

The festival is proudly brought to you in partnership with City of Windhoek, Namibia Broadcasting Corporation, and ConSoAv.

OLAF is further supported by the Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Namibia, Equipped Dance Academy, College of the Arts, Eldorado Secondary School, and Tobias Hainyeko Primary School.

Download full festival program.
 

 

BRIDGING LIFE & THE ARTS IN THE CITY!


#olafnamibia

Otjomuise Live Arts Festival (OLAF)
Bridging life & arts in the city

  • OLAF Banner © GI Namibia

OLAF - Otjomuise Live Arts Festival

2021 startet OLAF (Otjomuise Live Arts Festival), ein jährlich stattfindendes Festival für Live-Kunst, das eine Brücke zwischen dem Alltagsleben und der Kunst in Windhoek schlagen soll, indem es die Möglichkeit bietet, Live-Kunstformen im öffentlichen Raum der Stadt zu präsentieren und/oder auszustellen. OLAF, das vom namibischen Nationaltheater und dem Goethe-Institut Namibia koproduziert wird, wurde vor allem deshalb ins Leben gerufen, weil die Mehrheit der Einwohner Windhoeks keinen Zugang zu verschiedenen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen hat. Diese sind oft auf Innenräume und auf manchmalunzugängliche Bereiche der Stadt beschränkt. Daher bietet OLAF Möglichkeiten für immersive, experimentelle und erfrischende künstlerische Formen, die an öffentlichen Orten gezeigt oder installiert werden können, an denen Leben und Kunst aufeinandertreffen. So soll nicht nur der Umweltcharakter der Stadt widergespiegelt werden, sondern auch das reiche Erbe und die künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen, die die Stadt beherbergt und von denen die Einwohner beeinflusst werden.

Der Name Otjomuise leitet sich vom Otjiherero-Namen für Windhoek ab, der "Ort des Dampfes" bedeutet.

Das einwöchige Programm umfasst kostenlose kleine Happenings, Installationen, Aufführungen und öffentliche Veranstaltungen in der ganzen Stadt. Zu den behandelten Themen gehören:

     - Freizeit und Landschaft; Zugang zum kollektiven Vergnügen.

     - Identität und kollektiv-öffentliches Gedächtnis.

     - Navigation zu alltäglichen sozioökonomischen Fragen.

Das jährlich stattfindende Festival soll einen Beitrag zu einer Stadt leisten, die dynamische und zugängliche künstlerische Formen des Zusammenhalts, der kollektiven Reflexion und der Erleuchtung ermöglicht.

Das Festival wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Windhoek, der Namibia Broadcasting Corporation und ConSoAv veranstaltet.

OLAF wird außerdem von der Delegation der Europäischen Union in der Republik Namibia, der Equipped Dance Academy, dem College of the Arts, der Eldorado Secondary School und der Tobias Hainyeko Primary School unterstützt.

Download des vollständigen Programms.
 

 

BRIDGING LIFE & THE ARTS IN THE CITY!


#olafnamibia