Science Week 2020
Sustainable Development Goals

  • Science Week 2020 banner ©Goethe-Institut

Education, Activities and Films

The Goethe-Institut Namibia and local partners have united for Science Week 2020 under the theme ‘Sustainable Development Goals’ and in collaboration with the United Nations (UN) Environment Programme to highlight the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Due to social distancing and COVID-19 regulations, this project’s components of experiments for learners and a competition will be available online to reach a large audience. The series of activities and experiments were supported by Imani Scietechnology Investment and the Ministry of Mines and Energy.

Experiments

Learners will this year explore a selection of experiments that have been selected in consideration of the COVID-19 pandemic and due to their practicality, relevance to Namibia and the SDGs. The experiments were recorded in a professional laboratory and these videos will premiere on the Goethe-Institut Namibia YouTube channel from 12-16 October 2020.

Parents and teachers may rent a set of DVDs with corresponding experiment descriptions (Science Packs) to bring some scientific fun into the kitchen and class. The videos made in Namibia are part of the Science Pack. Science Packs are available at the Goethe-Institut Namibia Library in Windhoek until mid-December. Contact library.windhoek@goethe.de for more information.


Greenhouse in a jar ©Goethe-Institut Namibia The Greenhouse Effect in a Jar
Premiere on Mon 12 Oct 2020, 10h00
The greenhouse effect is the rise in temperature that the Earth experiences because certain gases in the atmosphere trap heat from the sun. Without these gases, heat would escape into space and the earth would be a lot colder but too much of them also makes the earth inhabitable. In this episode watch Whitney and Zappa experiment with the Greenhouse effect in a Jar.


Rock properties ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Rock Properties
Premiere on Tue 13 Oct 2020, 10h00
Rocks are made of minerals and there exist three types of rocks: igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic. Geologists use several methods to identify the rocks and minerals. Different rocks and minerals have different physical and chemical properties. For example, rocks that contain carbonate react with acid (substances with a pH less than 7). In this episode, we demonstrate some geological tools to investigate the properties of rocks.

Ocean acidifictaion ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Climate Change - Ocean Acidification
Premiere on Wed 14 Oct 2020, 10:00 
Since the Industrial Revolution, human activity such as the burning of fossil fuels and the use of coal power plants have affected the climate. For instance, the emission of greenhouse gases has increased Earth’s atmospheric temperature. The emissions from burning fossil fuels increase the greenhouse effect and make oceans more acidic when carbon dioxide dissolves in water. In this episode, we investigate how acidic water affects eggshells, representing oceanic organisms and limestone.

Soil properties ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Soil Properties and pH
Premiere on Thurs 15 Oct 2020, 10:00)
pH is the measurement of acidity or alkalinity. It is an important indicator of soil health and affects the types of plants that grow in the soil, the availability of nutrients and the activity of micro-organisms.  In warm areas with high rainfall, soil tends to be acidic due to leaching and in dry environments, the soil pH may be neutral or alkaline. There are three common types of soil – sand, silt and clay. Join us as we investigate the properties of soil.

UN SDG Banner ©UN Films - science film week 2020

The films of this project’s subcomponent, Science Film Week, were sourced from the Goethe-Institut’s Science Film Festival – an initiative that through short films promotes science education and aims to raise awareness of topics including sustainability, climate change and environmental issues. Click here for more information on the Goethe-Institut Science Film Festival.

The screening of films for Namibia will be open to the public at the Namibian Scientific Society in Windhoek and the Swakopmund Museum (Scientific Society Swakopmund). Click here for the schedule.

Poetry Competition

Namibia is invited to participate in the Science Week 2020 Poetry Competition and stand a chance to win an ABC Stationers voucher to the value of NAD250.
 
How to enter:

Write a poem about any of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.  The poems can be in any form: rhymed, free verse, epics etc Authors of the 5 (five) best poems will be awarded a prize after the ruling of an independent jury that examines the following:
 
  • Word count (minimum 50 words)
  • Creativity
  • Rhythm
  • Rhyme
  • Presentation of the poem
 
Complete the form below and submit your poem (maximum 2 per person) with "science" as the subject to library.windhoek@goethe.de before 21. October 2020, 12h00. 
Winners will be announced on our social media platforms before 25th October 2020.

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
 
Learn more about the SDG’s here https://www.goethe.de/prj/sff/en/udf/tdj.html 

UN SDG Poster ©UN

Discussion

14 October 2020 19h00
Local Innovations for Sustainable Development

Namibia in 2004 created Vision 2030 as an outline and set of goals for the government and the country’s development plans. Namibia plans to become a place of peace and prosperity. This ambition is built on the foundation of a healthy natural environment that supports systems such as improved health services, quality education, rewarding jobs and reduced inequalities.

Local innovators and developers will present their ideas and how their innovations are a contribution towards Namibia achieving the goals of Vision 2030.

Kombada Mhopenjeni from Namibia’s Ministry of Mines and Energy will moderate the discussion with the followings creators:
 
  1. AwehDoctor created a Smart phone application that logs and stores data relevant to tracing COVID-19 contact.
  2. Kaveto Tjatjara founded Flushh and created sanitation facilities that do not require water.
  3. Ndaudika Mulundileni and Andreas Leonard cofounded MindsInAction that promotes integrative STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) learning at school level.

The discussion will be streamed live on Facebook.

Seats are limited. Kindly RSVP a seat by sending your name and number to culture-windhoek@goethe.de with “science” as the subject by 13th October 2020, 12h00.


This year’s partners include: UN Environment Programme, Namibia’s Ministry of Mines and Energy, the Namibian Scientific Society (NSS) and the Scientific Society Swakopmund.

Science Week 2020
Sustainable Development Goals

  • Science Week 2020 banner ©Goethe-Institut

Wissen, Aktivitäten und Filme

Das Goethe-Institut Namibia und lokale Partner haben sich zur Wissenschaftswoche 2020 unter dem Thema "Nachhaltigkeit" und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UN) zusammengeschlossen, um die UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) hervorzuheben. Aufgrund der Abstandsregeln und der COVID-19-Bestimmungen werden die Komponenten dieses Projekts - Experimente für Lernende und ein Wettbewerb - online verfügbar sein, um ein großes Publikum zu erreichen. Die Reihe von Aktivitäten und Experimente wurde von Imani Scietechnology Investment und dem Ministerium für Bergbau und Energie unterstützt.

Experimente

Die Lernenden werden in diesem Jahr eine Auswahl von Experimenten untersuchen, die unter Berücksichtigung der COVID-19-Pandemie und aufgrund ihrer Praktikabilität, ihrer Relevanz für Namibia und die SDGs ausgewählt wurden. Die Experimente wurden in einem professionellen Labor aufgezeichnet und diese Videos werden vom 12. bis 16. Oktober 2020 auf dem YouTube-Kanal des Goethe-Instituts Namibia gezeigt.

Eltern und Lehrer können ein Set von DVDs mit entsprechenden Experimentbeschreibungen (Science Packs) ausleihen, um etwas wissenschaftlichen Spaß in Küche und Klasse zu bringen. Die in Namibia gedrehten Videos sind Teil des Science Packs. Die Science Packs sind bis Mitte Dezember in der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Namibia in Windhoek erhältlich. Kontaktieren Sie library.windhoek@goethe.de für weitere Informationen.


Greenhouse in a jar ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Der Treibhauseffekt im Glas
Premiere am Mon 12. Oktober 2020, 10h00
Der Treibhauseffekt ist der Temperaturanstieg, den die Erde erfährt, weil bestimmte Gase in der Atmosphäre Wärme von der Sonne einfangen. Ohne diese Gase würde Wärme ins Weltall entweichen und die Erde wäre viel kälter, aber zu viel davon macht die Erde auch bewohnbar. In dieser Episode sehen Sie Whitney und Zappa beim Experimentieren mit dem Treibhauseffekt in einem Glas.


Rock properties ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Gesteinseigenschaften
Premiere am Dienstag, 13. Oktober 2020, 10.00 Uhr
Gesteine bestehen aus Mineralien, und es gibt drei Arten von Gesteinen: magmatische, sedimentäre und metamorphe Gesteine. Geologen verwenden verschiedene Methoden, um die Gesteine und Mineralien zu identifizieren. Verschiedene Gesteine und Mineralien haben unterschiedliche physikalische und chemische Eigenschaften. In dieser Episode zeigen wir einige geologische Werkzeuge zur Untersuchung der Eigenschaften von Gesteinen.

Ocean acidifictaion ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Klimawandel - Versauerung der Ozeane
Premiere am Mittwoch, 14. Oktober 2020, 10:00 
Seit der industriellen Revolution haben menschliche Aktivitäten wie die Verbrennung fossiler Brennstoffe und der Einsatz von Kohlekraftwerken das Klima beeinflusst. Zum Beispiel hat die Emission von Treibhausgasen die Temperatur der Erdatmosphäre erhöht. Die Emissionen aus der Verbrennung fossiler Brennstoffe verstärken den Treibhauseffekt und machen die Ozeane saurer, wenn sich Kohlendioxid in Wasser auflöst.

Soil properties ©Goethe-Institut Namibia Bodeneigenschaften und pH-Wert
Premierminister am Donnerstag, 15. Oktober 2020, 10:00)
Der pH-Wert ist ein Maß für den Säuregrad oder die Alkalinität. Er ist ein wichtiger Indikator für die Bodengesundheit und beeinflusst die im Boden wachsenden Pflanzenarten, die Verfügbarkeit von Nährstoffen und die Aktivität von Mikroorganismen. In warmen Gebieten mit hohen Niederschlägen ist der Boden durch Auswaschung eher sauer und in trockenen Umgebungen kann der Boden-pH-Wert neutral oder alkalisch sein. Begleiten Sie uns, wenn wir die Eigenschaften des Bodens untersuchen.

UN SDG Banner ©UN Filme - Science film week 2020

Die Filme der Unterkomponente dieses Projekts, der Wissenschaftsfilmwoche, stammen vom Wissenschaftsfilmfestival des Goethe-Instituts - einer Initiative, die durch Kurzfilme die Wissenschaftsbildung fördert und das Bewusstsein für Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Klimawandel und Umweltfragen schärfen will. Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen über das Goethe-Institut Science Film Festival.

Die Vorführung von Filmen für Namibia wird der Öffentlichkeit in der Namibischen Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft in Windhoek und im Swakopmund Museum (Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Swakopmund) zugänglich sein. Klicken Sie hier für den Zeitplan.

Poesie-Wettbewerb

Namibia ist eingeladen, am Poesie-Wettbewerb der Wissenschaftswoche 2020 teilzunehmen und hat die Chance, einen ABC Stationers-Gutschein im Wert von NAD250 zu gewinnen.
 
Wie man teilnehmen kann:

Schreiben Sie ein Gedicht über eines der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Die Gedichte können in jeder Form vorliegen: gereimt, freie Verse, Epen usw. Die Autoren der 5 (fünf) besten Gedichte werden nach dem Urteil einer unabhängigen Jury, die Folgendes prüft, mit einem Preis ausgezeichnet:
 
  • Wortzahl (mindestens 50 Wörter)
  • Kreativität
  • Rhythmus
  • Reim
  • Präsentation des Gedichts
 
Füllen Sie das untenstehende Formular aus und senden Sie Ihr Gedicht (maximal 2 pro Person) mit dem Betreff "Wissenschaft" vor dem 30. Oktober 2020, 12.00 Uhr, an library.windhoek@goethe.de
  Die Gewinner werden vor dem 20. November 2020 auf unseren Social-Media-Plattformen bekannt gegeben.

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
 
Erfahren Sie hier mehr über die SDG's https://www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/sustainable-development-goals.html

UN SDG Poster ©UN

Diskussion

14. Oktober 2020 19h00
Lokale Innovationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Namibia schuf 2004 die Vision 2030 als Umriss und Zielvorgabe für die Regierung und die Entwicklungspläne des Landes. Namibia plant, ein Ort des Friedens und des Wohlstands zu werden. Diese Ambition baut auf dem Fundament einer gesunden natürlichen Umwelt auf, die Systeme wie verbesserte Gesundheitsdienste, hochwertige Bildung, lohnende Arbeitsplätze und den Abbau von Ungleichheiten unterstützt.

Lokale Innovatoren und Entwickler werden ihre Ideen vorstellen und zeigen, wie ihre Innovationen einen Beitrag dazu leisten, dass Namibia die Ziele der Vision 2030 erreicht.
 
Kombada Mhopenjeni vom namibischen Ministerium für Bergbau und Energie wird die Diskussion mit den folgenden Partner moderieren:
 
  1. AwehDoctor hat eine Smartphone-Anwendung entwickelt, die für die Rückverfolgung von COVID-19-Kontakten relevante Daten protokolliert und speichert.
  2. Kaveto Tjatjara gründete Flushh und schuf sanitäre Einrichtungen, die kein Wasser benötigen.
  3. Ndaudika Mulundileni und Andreas Leonard haben MindsInAction mitbegründet, das integratives STEM-Lernen (Naturwissenschaften, Technologie, Ingenieurwesen und Mathematik) auf Schulebene fördert.
Die Diskussion wird live auf Facebook.

Die Plätze sind begrenzt. Bitte senden Sie Ihren Namen und Ihre Nummer an culture-windhoek@goethe.de mit dem Betreff "science" bis zum 13. Oktober 2020, 12.00 Uhr.


Zu den diesjährigen Partnern gehören: UN-Umweltprogramm, Namibias Ministerium für Bergbau und Energie, die Namibische Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft (NSS) und die Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Swakopmund.