Goethe Stage
Funding Local Art Projects

Goethe Stage Banner 2021 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

Short Films

The Goethe-Institut Namibia is known for promoting cultural engagement by fostering dialogue through the arts and is through Goethe Stage seeking new and local art projects.
 

Goethe Film Award ©Schoettger This development and training programme has since 2017 funded over 20 projects that manifested various exhibitions, plays and workshops. The assistance of a dedicated and professional panel of judges makes Goethe Stage more than a grant; beneficiaries receive guidance throughout the process.




 

Goethe Stage 2021

From over 50 applications, the following filmmakers/screenwriters were chosen by an independent panel of judges:
 
Denzel Eiseb ©Photo Contributed Denzel Eiseb - Hard choice (narrative)





Othillia Mungoba ©Photo Contributed Othilia Mungoba - Currency of scrap (documentary)








Mark Mushiva ©Photo Contributed Mark Mushiva - Grootman (narrative)
 





Their short films will premiere later this year.
 

Application


The Goethe-Institut Namibia in partnership with Namibia Film Commission and Pegasus Entertainment Productions is following up on the success of the 3 short films produced in 2020 with this next round of script submissions.
 
We invite submissions of short film scripts (10 – 20 pages) from new as well as emerging writer/ directors (no more than 2 short films to their credit) Writers may submit with a separate director should they prefer not to direct themselves. Theatre writer/directors are encouraged to apply. Previous successful applicants are not eligible. Application closes 25 June 2021.
 
Stories should preferably be set in 1- 2 locations in/around Windhoek with a maximum of 6 characters (additional minor supporting roles might be allowed). Scripts should be in standard screenplay format with attention to spelling and grammar.
 
A jury of industry experts will select the 3 scripts to go into production overseen by theatre and film producer/director Senga Brockerhoff
 
We are interested in stories that explore bold reflections on the times we live in and the human condition, especially in the contemporary Namibian context.



Goethe Stage 2020



The Goethe Stage beneficiaries from late 2019 had the opportunity to premiere their short films in April 2020. In response to the genre’s popularity growth in Africa and potential in Namibia, short-film was chosen as the project’s focus.
Goethe Stage Premiere cropped
©Opas

After an in-depth analysis and review of project proposals, Jenny Kandenge, Lloyd Winini and Namafu Amutse were selected to produce their short films with a production team from Namibia. Production and the premiere were delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic. The event at the National Theatre of Namibia was only open to invited guests.

director's comments video with Namafu Amutse - Mukumo

Mukumo still
 


director's comments video with Jenny Kandenge - The Game

The Game still
 


director's comments Video with Lloyd Winini - Sacred Places

Sacred Places still


Dates for the next applications are to be announced.

Goethe Stage
Unterstützung von Kunstprojekten

Goethe Stage Banner 2021 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

Kurzfilme

​Das Goethe-Institut ist bekannt dafür, kulturelles Engagement zu fördern und einen Dialog zwischen den Künsten zu schaffen. Goethe Stage ist deshalb im Inbegriff, neue lokale Kunstprojekte zu fördern.

Goethe Film Award ©Schoettger Das Goethe-Institut ist bekannt dafür, kulturelles Engagement zu fördern und einen Dialog zwischen den Künsten zu schaffen. Goethe Stage ist deshalb im Inbegriff, neue lokale Kunstprojekte zu fördern. Dieses Trainingsprogramm läuft seit 2017 und förderte bereits 20 Projekte in den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen von Ausstellungen, über Theaterstücke bis hin zu Workshops.

Mit der Hilfe von hingebungsvollen und professionellen Juroren, unterstützt das Goethe-Institut die verschiedenen Projekte nicht nur finanziell sondern auch in der gesamten Projektgestaltung.

 

Goethe Stage 2021

Das Goethe-Institut Namibia in Zusammenarbeit mit der Namibia Film Commission und Pegasus Entertainment Productions knüpft mit dieser nächsten Runde von Drehbucheinreichungen an den Erfolg der 3 Kurzfilme an, die 2020 produziert wurden. Anwendung schließen am 25. Juni 2021.
 
Wir laden ein zur Einreichung von Kurzfilm-Drehbüchern (10 - 20 Seiten) von neuen und aufstrebenden Autoren/Regisseuren (nicht mehr als 2 Kurzfilme in der Vita). Autoren können mit einem separaten Regisseur einreichen, wenn sie es vorziehen, nicht selbst Regie zu führen. Theaterautoren/-regisseure werden ermutigt, sich zu bewerben. Frühere erfolgreiche Bewerber sind nicht teilnahmeberechtigt.
 
Die Geschichten sollten vorzugsweise an 1 bis 2 Schauplätzen in/um Windhoek spielen, mit maximal 6 Charakteren (zusätzliche kleine Nebenrollen können erlaubt sein). Die Drehbücher sollten im Standard-Drehbuchformat verfasst sein und auf Rechtschreibung und Grammatik achten.
 
Eine Jury aus Branchenexperten wählt die 3 Drehbücher aus, die unter der Aufsicht der Theater- und Filmproduzentin/Regisseurin Senga Brockerhoff in Produktion gehen.

 

Goethe Stage 2020


Die Begünstigten der Goethe-Bühne ab Ende 2019 hatten die Möglichkeit, ihre Kurzfilme im April 2020 uraufzuführen. Als Reaktion auf die wachsende Popularität des Genres in Afrika und das Potenzial in Namibia wurde der Kurzfilm als Schwerpunkt des Projekts  
Goethe Stage Premiere cropped
©Opas


Nach einer eingehenden Analyse und Prüfung der Projektvorschläge wurden Jenny Kandenge, Lloyd Winini und Namafu Amutse ausgewählt, ihre Kurzfilme mit einem Produktionsteam aus Namibia zu produzieren. Die Produktion und die Premiere wurden durch die COVID-19-Pandemie verzögert. Die Veranstaltung im National Theatre of Namibia war nur für geladene Gäste zugänglich.
 

Kommentare video mit regisseurin, Namafu Amutse - Mukumo

 
Mukumo still
 

kommentare video mit regisseurin, Jenny Kandenge - The Game

 
The Game still
 

kommentare video mit regisseur, Lloyd Winini - Sacred Places

 
Sacred Places still



Die Termine für die nächsten Bewerbungen sollen bekannt gegeben werden.