German is a Plus
Career, Study and Travel

  • German is a Plus Bumper 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus Bumper 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus Bumper 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

German as a Foreign Langage

The Goethe-Institut Namibia is this year executing the German is a Plus project that aims to promote the German language in aspects of career, study and travel on numerous platforms – from schools to the local media in Namibia.

  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Phase One of the project runs during September 2018, during which more than 20 schools across Namibia that offer the DaF (Deutsch als Fremdsprache) subject are visited by a dynamic team. The German is a Plus team spend one week along the Namibian coast, another in Windhoek and a few days in Tsumeb to interact with more than 1300 learners in total.
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Learners from Grades 4 to 9 are every morning welcomed with a series of fun and educational activities in the German language. Each session kicks off with a song in German and as expected, is the favourite activity of almost every learner. German culture of music is great way of familiarising oneself with the language.
 
The classes are then split into groups and have the task to complete at least four of the more than 5 activities to earn stamps. At least four stamps entitle each member of the group to a well-earned prize that consists of a draw-string bag and pencil bag filled with environmentally friendly stationery.
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper sticker taxi sanlam ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper sticker blue ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper sticker green ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper sticker orange ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper sticker church ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
The series of activities were carefully selected and structured in a way that learners are exposed to the fun and interesting side of the German language that is very often seen as difficult to learn. Some are more challenging than others but the most important is to encourage the learning of the German language.
 
Phase Two of the project kicks off in December 2018 and runs until February 2019 on various platforms. Aiming for maximum visibility, local taxis are branded with a bumper sticker created in different colours that correspond to the three aspects of life than can benefit when proficient in the German language: Studies – Goethe green; Travel – Goethe Blue; and Career; Goethe orange. A total of 250 taxis in Windhoek are branded with a German is a Plus bumper sticker.
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper stickers taxi parking lot ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • bumper blue sticker ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Running concurrently with the bumper stickers is a radio campaign that promotes the learning of the German language through challenging non speakers to pronounce some of the easiest and hardest German phrases that are also part of a social media component of the campaign on Instgram and Facebook.
 
The radio campaign presents listeners with a word or phrase in German and whoever pronounces it best wins a course to learn German at the Goethe-Institut Namibia. The words and phrases are also used for the social media campaign. Firstly, the words and phrases used on the radio station are posted on social media platforms, after which videos of the general public attempting to do the same as the radio listeners are also posted online. Videos of German language teachers and students at the Goethe-Institut Namibia are also posted online for the public to familiarise themselves with the Goethe teaching staff and see first-hand testimonials of how much of a benefit it can be to learn the German language. The Goethe-Institut’s dynamic approach to teaching using the latest technology is also explained to the public.
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Last but not least is the printing aspect of the campaign that places adverts in local newspapers to introduce the German is a Plus campaign. The bumper stickers and language course adverts for the Goethe-Institut Namibia feature in a supplement that is included in at least three local newspapers. A series of posters featuring Namibians who have benefitted from their proficiency in the German language through positive developments in career, study or travel is also visible across Windhoek and at local schools offering the DaF subject.
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Altogether, the German is a Plus campaign is one that has the potential to become an annual project if funding is available. From middle-school learners to young adults and seniors in society, everyone has the opportunity to engage with the German language in various ways and have access to information on the benefit of proficiency in the German language when studying, traveling or investing the development of a career.

German is a Plus
Karriere, Studium und Reisen

  • German is a Plus Bumper 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus Bumper 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus Bumper 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia

Deutsch als Fremdsprache

Das Goethe-Institut Namibia führt dieses Jahr das Projekt „German is a Plus" durch, mit dem die deutsche Sprache in zahlreichen Aspekten der Karriere, des Studiums und des Reisens auf zahlreichen Plattformen gefördert werden soll - von Schulen bis zu den lokalen Medien in Namibia.

  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 1 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Die erste Phase des Projekts läuft im September 2018, während mehr als 20 Schulen in Namibia, die das DaF-Thema (Deutsch als Fremdsprache) anbieten, von einem dynamischen Team besucht werden. Das „German is a Plus“-Team, welches jeweils für eine Woche entlang der namibischen Küste, in Windhoek und in Tsumeb verbracht hat, um mit insgesamt über 1300 Schülern zusammenzuarbeiten.
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 2 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Lernende der Klassen 4 bis 9 werden jeden Morgen mit einer Reihe von unterhaltsamen und lehrreichen Aktivitäten in deutscher Sprache begrüßt. Jede Session beginnt mit einem Song auf Deutsch und ist, wie erwartet, die Lieblingsaktivität fast aller Lernenden. Deutsche Musikkultur ist eine gute Möglichkeit, sich mit der Sprache vertraut zu machen.

Die Klassen werden dann in Gruppen aufgeteilt und haben die Aufgabe, mindestens vier der mehr als fünf Aktivitäten zu absolvieren, um im Anschluss einen Stempel zu erhalten. Mindestens vier Briefmarken berechtigen jedes Mitglied der Gruppe zu einem wohlverdienten Preis, der aus einem Zugbeutel, der mit umweltfreundlichem Briefpapier und einem Federmäppchen gefüllt ist.
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 3 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Die Reihe der Aktivitäten wurde sorgfältig ausgewählt und so strukturiert, dass den Lernenden die lustigen und interessanten Seiten der deutschen Sprache aufgezeigt werden, die oft als schwer erlernbar angesehen wird. Einige sind schwieriger als andere, aber das Wichtigste ist, das Erlernen der deutschen Sprache zu fördern.
 
Die zweite Phase des Projekts beginnt im Dezember 2018 und läuft bis Februar 2019 auf verschiedenen Plattformen. Um eine hohe Sichtbarkeit zu gewährleisten, sind lokale Taxis mit einem in verschiedenfarbigen Autoaufkleber versehen, der den drei Aspekten des Lebens entspricht: Studies - Goethe grün; Reise - Goethe blau; und Karriere - Goethe orange. Insgesamt 250 Taxis in Windhoek sind mit einem deutschen Pluszeichen versehen.
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 4 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Parallel zu den Aufklebern läuft eine Radiokampagne, die das Erlernen der deutschen Sprache fördert, indem sie Nichtsprachige herausfordern, einige der einfachsten und schwierigsten deutschen Ausdrücke auszusprechen, die auch Bestandteil einer Social Media-Komponente der Kampagne auf Instagram und Facebook sind.

Die Radiokampagne bietet Hörern ein Wort oder einen Satz in deutscher Sprache, und wer es am besten spricht, gewinnt einen Kurs, um Deutsch am Goethe-Institut Namibia zu lernen. Die Wörter und Ausdrücke werden auch für die Social Media-Kampagne verwendet. Zunächst werden jene Wörter und Phrasen, die auf dem Radiosender verwendet werden, auf Social-Media-Plattformen gepostet. Danach werden jene Videos der allgemeinen Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt, die dasselbe Ziel haben wie auch die Radiohörer. Videos von Deutschlehrern und -schülern des Goethe-Instituts Namibia werden ebenfalls online gepostet, um sich mit den Goethe-Lehrern vertraut zu machen und durch die Erfahrungsberichte aus erster Hand zu erfahren, wie viel Nutzen es für das Erlernen der deutschen Sprache haben kann. Die dynamische Herangehensweise an modernste Technik wird ebenfalls der Öffentlichkeit erläutert.
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 5 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Zu guter Letzt ist der Druckaspekt der Kampagne, bei der Anzeigen in lokalen Zeitungen platziert werden, um die deutsche Kampagne "Plus" darzustellen. Die Autoaufkleber und Sprachkursanzeigen für das Goethe-Institut Namibia sind in einer Beilage enthalten, die in mindestens drei lokalen Zeitungen enthalten ist. Eine Reihe von Plakaten mit Namibiern, die durch positive Entwicklungen in Beruf, Studium oder auf Reisen von ihren Deutschkenntnissen profitiert haben, ist auch in Windhoek und an örtlichen Schulen, die das DaF-Thema anbieten, sichtbar.
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
  • German is a Plus 6 ©Goethe-Institut Namibia
Insgesamt ist die „German is a Plus“ eine Kampagne, die das Potenzial hat, ein jährliches Projekt zu werden, wenn Finanzmittel verfügbar sind. Von Mittelschülern bis zu jungen Erwachsenen und Senioren in der Gesellschaft hat jeder die Möglichkeit, sich auf verschiedene Weise mit der deutschen Sprache zu beschäftigen und Informationen über den Nutzen der deutschen Sprache zu erhalten, wenn Sie studieren, reisen oder in die Entwicklung einer Schule investieren Werdegang.